Fine. I probably deserved that part, and Ballybunion is lovely, but what about the substance of the post? No reserve currency lasts forever. What makes you so absolutist about it? Absolutism is for fools, Dem/GOP hacks and people that like the sound of their own voice.
And why on earth should anyone defer to you over a Credit Suisse analyst?
According to Russian sources .
Likely no deal anytime soon
Where are you getting all this from? “Peace talks going well? “ etc
It's not the first account to make the claim but neither have backed up their claim ,
reason I bring it up is the possibility that we are seeing the beginnings of exactly that sort of massive change. I don't think it's something we will have to worry about tomorrow or next year. But if this war expands and the world indeed splits into two main power blocs with limited trade between them, won't this force India, Russia, China et al to work faster and harder on those programs, thereby accelerating the change?
US journalist confirmed shot dead
https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-10608037/New-York-Times-journalist-51-shot-dead-Russian-troops-Ukraine.html
I'm talking more so of an adaptation of the technology, it probably wouldn't look like the loose version we see today. It would be centralised and managed by the state with checking etc. Nobody would want to rob your wallet because they'd be caught as soon as they tried to spend it.
The idea has pros and cons, and I'm no expert but i've just heard that the move toward that kind of system hands a lot of power to the state. They are implementing it too, it's not a matter of will it or won't it happen. It's a question of what it might look like.
The Moscow Times have articles to that effect:
minsk heavily involving itself in the aerial war
Which makes it bullshit
On lasts nights attack near Poland, cowards shooting from the blacksea
There certainly is some getting laughed at here.
The most recent actions of French special forces that engaged recent terrorists in France performed spectaculary, so much so I'd say they are easily the best in the world right now. Macron has been ahead of the curve in trying to get the EU to become self sufficient militarily, in energy generation and supplies and econimically, in vital industries such as micro processors. He and France have been running rings around the lazy, inept, self-congratulatory and borderline quisling EU superpower, Germany, who have finally been jolted awake by a massive electrical shock to their nuts.
Macron is pretty much alone in Europe in hinting at and urging a much stronger response. I suspect he realises boots on the ground are an inevitability if a human catastrophee is to be averted.
Now is a weird time to be knocking the French who are far and away the best Europe have and the most likely to spearhead real and meningful intervention, with Poland possibly a close second.
It's the brexiteers who are cowering in the corner under a huge pile of guilt.
The French media are being realistic. Large scale phosphorous barrages on Kyiv will be quite terrible.
Effing liars, that's all I can say. Ukraine was not going to be allowed join NATO before the invasion, it was out of the question. The idea that Ukraine was going to invade Russia (a country more than three times bigger and with a far bigger military per capita) is beyond laughable.
The Moscow Times is extremely critical of the Gremlin
Makes no difference ,
Wouldn't believe anything coming out of anything with Moscow in the name
Shhh.. everything russian is bad.
Preach
Because the Russians and Russian media are entirely trustworthy...
The only people who are likely to be trustworthy w.r.t any negotiations are the Ukrainian negotiators who are actually taking part and then posting updates. The latest update from them was something to the effect of "Russia are no longer simply making ultimatums, but are actively listening to Ukraine's demands." Considering they still haven't been able to agree on effective humanitarian corridors I can't imagine anything substantive happening anytime soon.
Why are those twitter threads full of people saying stop posting pictures? Surely it's beneficial for the invaders to be pointed out and identified
Sounds like you took the blue ones instead of the pink ones this morning!
Yeah,
Where that picture was taken a few anti tank weapons could have trapped that convoy pretty quick.
The more thats shared the more intelligence they can gather
This sounds entirely logical and reasonable.
Are these posters that you are responding to on day-release today? Surely it must be winding us up?
There's no real reason why anyone might want to change what's in place. It would suit those three but their main aim is to undermine US power and influence; Russia and China want to shift the balance of power to Asia. The idea of a change has really not gained a lot of traction, even economists argue over the benefits and the most recent proposals come from 2009 or so.
What we will probably see is countries looking hard at who they are relying on for resources and maybe some goods. In that context Russia is likely to lose out on things like energy and anything else countries can replace themselves. The EU, in particular, is done with their energy dependence.
What Biden should have said in response.
Now that we are 900 pages or whatever on this topic just a reminder to all the Russian and Putin supporters on here. Ye are a cowardly shower of downtrodden arse holes. While it was always known that ye were downtrodden ye are now displaying to the world how utterly cowardly and stupid ye are. Glory and victory to Ukraine 🇺🇦.
Depends what side you ask. Both Ukraine and Russia have used misinformation as a weapon, but I tend to have less sympathy for the invader when it's at their disposal.
It's clear that this invasion is inexcusable and we should side with the people of Ukraine. We also shouldn't ignore the issues with Ukraine's governance and the extremist groups within either, they're a cancer that might thrive during times of instability that will follow this.
Burgerface tagged out, these lads tagged in with a different tack. I think it's worth remembering that as the situation in Ukraine stagnates a bit and it all gets a bit normalised (unfortunately), discussion can turn from outrage at the Russian invasion to bickering over finer points. To reiterate, the main thing should be Russia get the hell out of Ukraine. It is fundamentally wrong what they are trying to do to that country and its people, and there is no amount of deflection or distraction that should be allowed to take away from this main point. Anyone trying to make it about something else is either acting in bad faith or their moral compass is out the window.