Let's hope so, even if it's a messy comprise.
Meeting Putin half way in the short term may be the only way to defeat him in the long term. It's unpalatable, but if he can't be defeated in the short term it's obviously the only option. And it might just save Kiev as a city and Zelensky before he too is killed
OK, grand. Well, we'll all just sit back and watch on as people get their homes smashed to bits, innocent people blown up, and a country's sovereignty get trampled, comforted by the warm fuzzy knowledge that Ukraine ain't so hot itself. Shame on you.
Does she have anything apart from big bold headlines? Was she really a Democratic candidate?
Do not get me started on this shíte. NWO/Great Reset/World economic forum/5G/Antivax/chemtrails/Bill Gates wants my babies and now pro putin propeller heads. Gobbling up and sharing their bullshít the "mainstream media" won't report and how we're just as censored in the West. While their utterly ridiculous ballsology is hard enough to avoid out there. Clearly we're not so great at censorship folks, but these types are too fúcking stupid to cop this. If I rolled my eyes any harder I could look at the back of my head.
Crap, I got started.... 😁
Agree, here is Putins pre war speech
some quotes:
At the same time, technology, including in the defence sector, is changing rapidly. One day there is one leader, and tomorrow another, but a military presence in territories bordering on Russia, if we permit it to go ahead, will stay for decades to come or maybe forever, creating an ever mounting and totally unacceptable threat for Russia.
The problem is that in territories adjacent to Russia, which I have to note is our historical land, a hostile “anti-Russia” is taking shape. Fully controlled from the outside, it is doing everything to attract NATO armed forces and obtain cutting-edge weapons.
For the United States and its allies, it is a policy of containing Russia, with obvious geopolitical dividends. For our country, it is a matter of life and death, a matter of our historical future as a nation. This is not an exaggeration; this is a fact. It is not only a very real threat to our interests but to the very existence of our state and to its sovereignty. It is the red line which we have spoken about on numerous occasions. They have crossed it.
I added bold. He really thought he could walk right into Ukraine and it would be like Crimea. His next step would likely be Moldova.
If he got away with all that without much unity in the West then he would have tested NATO next. It would have been something creative, something he could distance from. Little green men again maybe, Russians living in some neighboring country needing help again..........
Everything possible should be done to help Russia lose this. If they can be sent packing hopefully Putin is overthrown. The West should be hardline and not drop any sanctions without talk of nuclear disarmament. Russia has basically acted as a terrorist state threatening nuclear war and destruction of the planet every second day. Feck that. They can go live like N Korea if they want to play those games.
Oh FFS what stuff are you smoking that makes you have these thoughts? Seriously, what sort of 'non-mainstream' sites are you following actually has the 'correct scoop'?
Gandalf, I expressed sympathy for the family. You are being overly sensitive and ridiculous. Take your break and then maybe reread the responses.
All I'm doing is responding to you and from my perspective you can't seem to handle it.
I suggest you take a few hours rest from the internet. Have a good Sunday afternoon 😉
Gold Star for you. How would you like to be a Colonel in the Russian Army?
They really are facist scum. The unholy irony of that prick claiming to be "denazifying" Ukraine, when he's one of the biggest fúcking facists on the planet leading a facist nation in a facist war.
Volodymyr Zelensky is more Putinesque than Putin himself
As I said, I would try to assemble a non-NATO force if possible, to deprive Putin of that trigger. It's either do something to assist or sit back and allow a bare minimum of 3-4 million europeans exterminated by Putin, and if there were a resistance, then he'd be exterminating the families of insurgents and perhaps whole villages - the Nazi playbook from WW2, so the final total would be anyone's nightmarish guess.
Apparently genocide is a word currently out of favour here, so call it what you will.
Delegates from both sides of peace talks have sounded positive, ahead of more negotiations in the next few days.
Ukrainian negotiator and presidential advisor Mykhailo Podolyak said talks had become more constructive.
“We will not concede in principle on any positions. Russia now understands this. Russia is already beginning to talk constructively. I think that we will achieve some results literally in a matter of days,” he said in a video posted online.
Leonid Slutsky, a Russian delegate said there had been significant progress and they hoped to soon arrive at a “joint position”, Reuters reports.
The state-owned RIA news agency said he was comparing the state of talks now with those when they first started, saying there had been “substantial progress”.
This comes a day after the French and German presidents, Emmanuel Macron and Olaf Scholz said Vladimir Putin did not show a willingness to end the war during a call on Saturday.
https://www.theguardian.com/world/live/2022/mar/13/ukraine-news-russia-war-ceasefire-broken-humanitarian-corridors-kyiv-russian-invasion-live-vladimir-putin-volodymyr-zelenskiy-latest-updates-live
The first positive sounding news in days. Hopefully something comes of it.
I honestly don't understand what your issue is, Gandalf.
You posted a twitter link about the journalists death. I thanked your post and responded by saying how difficult it will be for the family to wake up to see those pictures of their dead loved one on Social media.
Please explain what your issue is here?
From the horses mouth.
Interesting.
Yeah but if it's coming from Russian sources then probably best to ignore it. I wouldn't believe a thing that comes out of there given their 'version' of events in Ukraine so far
Unless Zelenskyy (or any other actual Ukrainians) is completely left out of negotiations I don't think he's going to sign any deal that would be acceptable to the Russians. He knows it would mean the end of Ukraine.
The default position with any report from RuSSian sources is it's a lie. I highly doubt the Ukrainians will cede to the RuSSians given they are holding them ATM.
Russia reporting significant progress in talks with Ukraine.
Getting a bad feeling that Ukraine is going to be bullied into signing up to a really bad deal, just to end the war and suffering for their people.
The mayor, the journalist - just the beginning of the intended and planned purge of the civil society 2 million on the hit-list.
I'd love to see NATO forces move in like you describe and send the Russians packing, in the situation that Putin refuses to negotiate, because I think that would be just, but feck me would it be some knife edge. You could make it plenty clear to Russia that you have no intention to strike military infrastructure within Russia's borders, but if Putin isn't willing to say, 'fair enough', I don't know what happens.
" And unfortunately for the Ukrainian people, their physical destruction is the price he's willing to pay to save face."
Unfortunately, he doesn't care about the destruction of the Ukrainian people. They will suffer.
We will sit here and watch.
I'm not defensive at all. You seemed "concerned", I just wanted to alleviate your concern.
Another red line the Russians are crossing. There is no dept to how low they will go.
I know it is. I was just expressing sympathy for the family having to see those pictures of their dead son.
Why so defensive?
Didn't zelinsky basically call that out earlier; effectively putting a death sentence on collaborators?
I am relaxed I was just pointing out that it is all over the place already.
Relax, I wasn't faulting you. I said they will see the pictures on social media.
I doubt very much that his family have accounts on boards.ie.
It is extensively on twitter and I'm sure other platforms as well. I feel for his family but I also think we shouldn't shy away from exposure of the crimes the RuSSians are perpetrating in Ukraine.