It's become very obvious - to me anyway that Abrahmovich was given a heads up and a few days to get his affairs in order.
Hence the percieved good grace change of ownership and sale of Chelsea of which benefits will go to victims of the war.
This was a deflection as he moved his other assets and Chelsea is a drop in the ocean in comparison with his overall wealth.
The British are pretty much sidelined now. They've proven they're a haven for filthy money, they've lost any leverage with the EU because of shooting themselves in the head with Brexit(much of which was to do with keeping the filthy money happy) and their "Oh look we're sending weapons" while handing out a pathetic 50 visas for Ukrainian refugees(to add to their existing xenophobia headed by an immigrant herself) and giving time for their Russian mafia to get their filthy money out of harms way, while their poor become poorer and their middle more squeezed.
@All_in_Flynn
The West cannot get into a direct conflict with Russia for very obvious reasons.
Yes, although I was surprised to see Biden be so blunt about it in his latest press conference, saying a direct confrontation with Russia was WW3. I suppose the euphemism of 'further escalation' wasn't really working.
Why won't US generals use their hotline to their Russian counterparts to persuade them to let Mariupol residents go west? A similar arrangement between the British and German regular armies regarding Belsen concentration camp was successful, wasn't it?! Surely, the Russian Army has its own equivalents of Rommel and Manstein, doesn't it?!
And yet the Ukrainians keep telling the world they're greatful to the Brits...weird. Must have been all that modern military kit and training the Brits provided, while Merkel and Macron spent their time posturing. One thing I know is if I was Ukrainian I'd want the Brits on my side in a fight over a EU that is hamstrung yet again by the bad idea factory that is modern Germany
Thread here from someone inside Russia describing what is currently happening
Very little Russian is spoken in the cities in the West of the country.Lviv actually would have more russian speaking than Ivano Frankivsk or Ternopil historically.
This is good too, former BBC worked for Rain the Russian TV station that shut itself down rather than broadcast Kremlin propaganda, viiew of how official Russia is seeing all this
https://faridaily.substack.com/p/theyre-carefully-enunciating-the?s=r
Oh god not again
They are a help, but not if there is no one left alive to wield them. I think the Ukrainians need just a little help in the south to free up forces that can then go and attack the Russian encirclement of Kiev from behind and rout them.
Russian TV pundits [2 of them] are publicly sounding out against the war
If I was those lads I wouldn't be drinking any cups of tea I hadn't made myself from scratch for the next while...
Ukraine might be led by a comedian who has stepped up and into the pages of history, Britain has proven herself over the last few years to be led by a corrupted clown as they step back into the pages of history.
Now they’re threatening her for that excellent interview
in her shoes, i’d take precautions even in the US. See Sergei Skrypal.
I wonder what exactly “Putin winning the war” might look like or entail? Most seem to agree he can’t occupy Ukraine for long.
I hope the only “win” Putin can have will be one of the many nonsense fantasy’s that russia has been peddling. The allies may actually help him draft it , think it’s called “pave a road of gold for your enemy” in below discussion. Basically make it easy for Putin to do the right thing and f**k off back to the box he came from.
Kherson is the place that had thousands of people on the streets recently waving Ukrainian flags and telling the invaders to go home. These (Russian nationalist) guys are nuts.
..and that no strange chemicals have been applied to your underwear!
@html6 - Normal Russians should be allowed to protest freely. They also should be allowed to vote in fair elections.
Yes but fear is the reality, with ignorance giving it a good race.
If a referendum is held, the result will of course be fixed, Russia will "recognise" the result, then all that will be used as international legalese to validate to the Russian people that Russian forces control ("protect") the city.
Apparently Roman Abrahmovich has Irraeli, Portuguese and Russian passports. The Portuguese one was obtained by passing himself off as a Sephardic Jew and thus entitled to citizenship as "compensation" for the sins of Ferdinand and Isabella 550 years ago (😄). The Portuguese authorities have detained a prominent Porto rabbi who is apparently suspected of making a fraudulent application for R AB. Russian Jews are mostly Ashkenazim not Sephardim and do not qualify.
https://guardian.ng/news/portugal-detains-rabbi-over-abramovich-naturalisation/
And I thought Sturgeon's apology for a 16 century low on burning witches was going back a bitt far!
An EU that has never been more united and agreed sanctions near overnight and is providing real world humanitarian help and military help too? That EU? And a Germany that has thrown out 80 years of 'oops sorry about that business' and is rearming? The Ukrainians are quite naturally telling everyone they're grateful for help, but Britain's help was a cheap smokescreen to cover up their Russian cronyism and their pathetic response to the unfolding humanitarian crisis. And when Ukraine is being rebulit and invested in it'll be far more an EU affair.
To be fair though Wibbs, Germany's help was a little lastminute.com and really only after international pressure had been exerted.
Dmytro Kuebla (Ukrainian foreign affairs minister) called it a week ago, that's exactly what he said would happen
https://twitter.com/DmytroKuleba/status/1499506552109158402
You gotta wonder what sort of first impression Boris makes with people who are not familiar with him - a Prime Minister who looks like he's just crawled out of bed and can't even brush his hair. That said, if he thought he was gonna have an easy time of it as PM, he's had a very rude awakening. As much as he likes to champion Brexit, in reality its mostly been a mess, then along came COVID, investigations into misleading parliament over Downing Street parties (still to be concluded), and now Ukraine and dirty Russian money in London. I seem to remember that he complained at one point that he could earn more money for less work if he wasn't PM. Be careful what you wish for n'all that....
https://liveuamap.com/
Even most of the Russian speaking cities identify as Ukrainian. It's only in certain parts of the Donbass that you have fanatical pro-Putin types who want to be ruled by him. Less than 100k people have left Ukraine and fled into Russia since the war started - which gives you an indication of just how few people identify with the Russian regime.
Wow
In Stalingrad they were able to get supplies in from one side of the Volga river. This won't be possible in Kyiv.
Those **** have some **** cheek.
Getting back to that lying prick of a Russian ambassador in Dublin. Fair enough if the powers that be reckon its best to have an ambassador here but surely it doesn't have to be that lying prick. After lying to our nation and then bad mouthing us on Russian zombie TV surely he should be replaced with some other Russian stooge.
Glory to Ukraine 🇺🇦