It’s behind a pay platform and people pay for it so they are more than entitled to give an opinion on it.
He also has sponsors for the other podcast so I don’t think, if it wasn’t worth his time, he wouldn’t be doing it and launching it in other counties.
Yes for Arva.
Quote I enjoy some of the Cavan Lives but I was a bit surprised by the one with the Gowna lad that lived in America - John White I think. Not sure why exactly a lad that was from America but lived a few years in Gowna warranted a podcast. He hadn't lived any type of extraordinary life. The interviews with the likes of Finn Keenan and Benny Lewis have been excellent though. I also enjoyed the one with Hugh Hourican hugely - he had some great stories to tell.
I haven't listened to the podcast but I know John White, he'd have been a nephew of the original gunner Brady as far as I remember so maybe that explains it
Is there any chance of Ciaran Brady being back for the Championship?
ah here...I forgot you were Damien spokesman.
I think Damien Donahoe should probaly have took a break from Podcast while the U20s are involved, and then return in the summer. They could have gotten someone else to fill in alongside Paul Fitz for a few months.
It's an awkard position to be presenting a Podcast, and talk about the team your managing. He has done good work with the Podcast since he started it, it has probaly lost its spark a bit though.
The Cavan lives naturally are a bit hit and miss and depending on the interviewee and their ability to tell a story, but also whether it is a topic that is of interest. Strangely enough, I really like the John White one but that is because I am interested in how people view their identity and sense of place, especially diaspora.
I wonder how easy it is to have a full time job, manage an intercounty u20 team and fill enough content for 4 /5 podcasts a week? Fair play to him for doing it, I can barely hold down a full time job, listen to a few podcasts and moan about it on an internet message board :)
Do we know who is on the panel? Were you not speculating above that Paul Smith could be the other player gone from the panel? A few weeks back people on here weren't sure if TED was on the panel or not. Donohoe also had plenty to say a couple of years ago that players should be allowed the prestige of being named on the county panel like it used to be years ago in The Celt. All that is forgotten now though that the county board handed him a job.
I think he realises he is in above his head and I honestly think he had dreams that he might eventually get the Cavan job in years to come but that is gone now. I think he knows himself he will be seeing out the year and will be ushered out the door. I know that's harsh because he's a sound fella but sometimes you need to know your limitations and he didn't know his taking on that job.
I enjoy some of the Cavan Lives but I was a bit surprised by the one with the Gowna lad that lived in America - John White I think. Not sure why exactly a lad that was from America but lived a few years in Gowna warranted a podcast. He hadn't lived any type of extraordinary life. The interviews with the likes of Finn Keenan and Benny Lewis have been excellent though. I also enjoyed the one with Hugh Hourican hugely - he had some great stories to tell.
Hannon and Brennan weren't there enough anyway to make much difference. It's surprising they don't get Mark Farrelly involved on the We Are Cavan side of things but I think he's still playing so he may not want to.
I agree with your sentiment re the low price and stay subscribed all year as its only 60 euro a year but it is badly in need of a few new voices to freshen it up.
For me, I actually would prefer that they didn't cover the u20s. I mean, how can they even pretend to be objective? If Damien Donohoe wasn't involved that Westmeath performance would have been getting some serious analysis (and critique).
What was the point in having Paul Fitz on this week? "I was away skiing for two weeks and didn't see the games but sure I'll waffle on anyways". I'm not having a go at him- he's a very good writer and good value on the podcast and is as entitled to a break as any of us, but surely they could have gotten someone who was at the game to provide some analysis with Donohoe. Was great having Mickey Brennan on last week for a bit of variety.
Good point on the panel- something that they were (rightly) banging on about for years now "isn't an issue" and most people know who is on the panel. Sure we aren't even given the courtesy of a starting 15 when we get to the ground these days- why expect to know who is actually on the panel? Can someone explain to me why that is such as secret?
Lynch was very good against Leitrim. He hasn't been as effective since, but some good frees. Or might be that he players better as focal point of attack.
In all fairness they went to carrick on Shannon with out him against a very fired up Leitrim and paddy Lynch stepped up.
I never said don't play him, did I? He is obviously still a very good player but Cavan have been very reliant on him in Division 4. Not enough have stepped up against lower opposition
If McKiernan was missing like Ciaran Brady for the whole League, was there enough fire power to get promoted?
Disappointed with the latest podcast. Somebody, not sure if it was you previously, stated Donohoe getting the U20 job had not affected the podcast. Well, was it not the start of last year and other years that he was complaining re the seniors not releasing a panel list but suddenly its not an issue this year!? I suppose its just a coincidence he got that job since it was last an issue.
He seemed to be making veiled excuses about pitches not being available and a pitch being frozen. I thought the 3G was there for county teams when no pitch was available? Pretty much every ground in the county was waterlogged last week after all the heavy rain. He would have known that early in the week.
There was also very little discussion about the game on the pod because Fitzpatrick wasn't there. I've said it before and will say it again, what's the issue with getting some other contributors? I know Meath has a bigger population so the margins mightn't be as tight with more sales but We Are Meath regularly have 4 lads on their podcast regularly and get other contributors such as PROs. I'm not saying get rid of Fitzpatrick but it would be nice to hear some other voices from within the county. What about a Cian Mackey? Or a Mark McKeever? There are plenty of former players could shed some light.
The hope would be that we win this weekend, which pretty much guarantees promotion, and then there can be more rotation in your final two games against London & Waterford, if warranted.
In fairness to Mickey, he has mixed it up a bit but I do think he could be more open with information and it wouldn’t lead to as much conjecture from supporters.
Haven’t listened to We Are Cavan yet. Will have a listen in the morning on my stroll!
Jack McKenna pulled up when he came on as a sub against Armagh i think. He was named on the panel for the Sligo game, so he's definitely still in there. Paul Smith hasn't been named in any panel since the McKenna cup so i was wondering if he was the other player Damien Donohoe was alluding to.
Mickey Graham specifically referenced Conor Brady and despite HS nonsense rumours that he had left the panel, he said he hoped he would be back before the league ends.
Yep, the keeper is the only player who has the luxury of watching play and being able to spot gaps all over the field. Doesn't have to track or mark and is free to spot where gaps are. I think he's pretty good at it.
We have the best player in division four, and you're suggesting don't play him? How realistic is that- if we struggled to get out of (or worse still, didn't get promoted) because we "rested" Gearoid, Clarke, the Gunner, Faulkner and so on, Mickey Graham would be slaughtered.
He was damned for not taking the league seriously enough. Now he's damned for taking it too seriously.
Thomas Smith and Paul Smith barely got a chance to impress. The sub keeper Liam Brady well likely be there until the end of championship without featuring all year.
Mickey Graham should have mixed the team up against Tyrone in McKenna cup ,and looked at some of these players .
It's the old reliable like Gearoid McKiernan getting Cavan through the Division 4 gamesm
You want a yappy keeper. Nature of the position.
I heard pretty much what was said, Galligan was a bit frustrated the Finnegan didnt follow/understand the instruction he was giving him and he said something like come on you have to listen to me or something like that. It wasn't anything that I would be worried about. I do think Galligan does a bit too much yapping and telling every player where to go and what to do is a bit like he's playing his xbox. Fellas have to be allowed to play too. Sligo keeper was even worse, screeching for the whole match.
I was on the terrace that side in the first half. Galligan acts (or is given i would imagine as captain) a role almost like a coach with licence to direct his defenders. He's been doing it for years. I heard him screaming at Finnegan at twice to drop back to provide cover if Sligo broke but nothing I haven't heard him do before. The bench did the same and also for other players (notably Conroy, who was sweeper) to do the same. There was one time in the first half where Cavan were potentially going to be exposed with Finnegan following the attack and the bench and Galligan spotted the danger and started screaming at Finnegan to drop back and cover the wing, which he did. There wasn't any hostility that i could see either from Galligan and certainly not from Finnegan, who was obviously keen to show he could be disciplined and follow instructions.
Could someone on HS be talking utter nonsense? Perish the thought.
It was very hard on him. He had a breakout year in 2019 and then at the start of 2020 he gets badly injured on the Thursday night before the Armagh league game. He had come on against Armagh when we were getting hammered in the McKenna Cup a few weeks previously and really made a difference.
No matter what esle I'm sure he's a good lad to have around the panel. I remember a few weeks after the bad injury he was in Breffni at the Westmeath game showing the mascots around.
Pretty much echo what others have said. Sligo were disappointing and I nearly think we had talked them up as the actual rankings on here had them in the bottom teams in the country.
The first half was disappointing as I have seen free taking cost Cavan on too many occasions over the years. We need to be knocking over frees when the pressure is on. If nothing else, it keeps you either in touching distance or keeps the opposition at bay generally. I often saw Mickey Newman, for example, get Meath out of trouble in games over the years.
Great that Stephen Smith and Benjamin Kelly got a good half hour or so in the legs. Fantastic to be able to spring players of the calibre of Gerry Smith & Killian Clarke from the bench to settle things for the last 15 minutes.
No sign of Cormac O'Reilly, Conor Madden, Luke Fortune, Martin Reilly and where the hell is Conor Brady? It would be nice if Mickey Graham actually kept supporters somewhat informed. We were posing questions re Fortune on here last week but We Are Cavan reckoned in their match preview he hadn't been fit for the Carlow game.
Funny sort of a performance
1st half was sloppy and some bad misses from frees but I was in the terrace on that side and there was a swirling wind so it might explain it a little, 2 points in the first half wasn't a great return but I wasn't really worried about a 4 point deficit with that wind in the 2nd half
I was surprised that sligo actually pretty much matched us physically in a lot of positions
Backs pretty much solid throughout
Michael Argue with the exception of a couple of early balls offered very little
James Smith not very dominant in the middle
Gearoid rolls Royce in the 2nd half
Sligo keeper made a costly mistake as usual but it came at a great time for us
Our subs made a great impact in last quarter and we controlled the game to the end which was satisfactory
We need a result against Tipp next week as I'd much prefer to play Sligo again in croke Park than Tipp
Anyway 4 from 4
Much done more to do
We played into a stiff breeze In the first half and Sligo flooded players into the scoring zone and we didn't seem too interested in trying to punch through them. That being said i thought our full back line was excellent stopping sligo getting early ball clean but then we just lost the plot in the last 10 minutes, our kick out malfunctioned and isolated men bringing ball into contact allowing sligo to turn it over and get 4 pts up. We also missed 3 frees we just cannot be missing in that 1st half.
2nd half we started on front foot and I was confident we'd pull Sligo in. The red and black cards they got really effected their efforts to contain us even though the Ref let them away with a lot of lying down feigning injury during their black card time which killed momentum.
Eventually we started knocking over some great scores and bringing on Killian and Gerry settled us down and we were helped by a big blunder by their keeper giving us a goal. For me Gunner was mom, faulkner excellent. Gearoid 6 pts what can you say. The worry is some lads got a start today but didn't do an awful lot with their chance. Smith did OK, was badly turned over once but also set up a nice counter attack at one point. A good win on the road considering the players we didn't start so you have to be happy with it.
He replaced Niall Murray, who I am a huge fan of but who was completely ineffective today. Smith ran into traffic twice and was turned over early on but did okay. Definitely looks “sturdier” this year.
That win seriously flatters Tipp. They kicked 8 scores against Wexford- sounds like the keeper had a bad day at the office.
we should be beating them- again like today it might not be straightforward but if Podge, the Gunner & Jason play like today, we’re not conceding 4 goals.
I didn’t think it was too bad- we missed 3 frees in the first half I think? The wind was deceptively strong in the first half.
Sligo kicked 6 points with a strong wind behind them in the first half. I think only 2/3 from play. Our pressure in their kickers was very good it has to be said.
i was in the card carrying “let it into f*ck” section of the stand. Some “fans” going absolutely ballistic that we weren’t kicking it long against the wind! If we hadn’t have coughed up cheap frees and went asleep at our kick outs we could have limited Sligo to a handful of scores in the first half. It wasn’t pretty but it was fairly composed in spells.
We rode our luck today, but we were the better team. There was a tight wind in the first half and Sligo bizarrely set out to contain us. They weren’t 4 points better than us and I wasn’t that alarmed by having to over turn that score line. Carrabine aside I thought Sligo were poor.
We got some luck (goal and red card) and we weren’t great but a win is a win.
Gunner was man of the match for me. He’s not going to get headlines but he turned over the ball again and again and one of his shoulders may have caused a shockwave picked up on the Richter scale. Podge wasn’t far behind & great to see Jason back and play well (first half especially).
I think that was Oisin Kiernan’s best game since 2020. Kicked two brilliant scores, ran the ball well and also kicked some great passes inside.
Paddy Lynch looked lively in the second half and won lots of his ball. Nice point from Caoimhin too. I thought Finnegan did well apart from one time he ran into traffic and got turned over. Kelly did well coming on- didn’t look out of place and good sign for the depth of the panel. I thought Argue did okay but that black card was completely senseless.
Nice to see Gerry Smith come on and show no major concerns after the Carlow game. Kicked a fine score. And big Gearoid, what can you say?
Barring the Gunner & Faulkner our tackling was awful again. And we went to sleep at the end of the first half at our own kick outs which led to two Sligo scores. If we had have been 4-2 down at half time we would have walked all over them.
Followed it on twitter,as I had other commitments,6-2 then 8-5 down, I think we were all a bit worried,but fair play, outscored Sligo 1-8 to 0-2 in last 15 minutes.
You do feel we are going to absolutely annihilate someone before this league campaign is over... I expected us to be winning each game by 8-10 points,but it hasn't turned out that way...
Another 6 points from Gearoid today, is there another player in the country whom is more important to his county team,than he is to us right now??