According to some, they will fix it and come back better
Surreal
Slowly but surely Russia will take out Ukraine's AD systems (They took out an S-300 yesterday) and then with almost free skies, they'll be able to make gains.
I have to ask. What is a "Putinbot"?
Are they (a) Irish people that support Putin or (b) Russian people using Boards to spread misinformation? (unlikely in my eyes) or (c) Irish WUMs?
I was wondering how long that one would take. Continuing to pay the Russian staff seems a smart move too.
Ah yes the US defined bogeymen, the Iranians funding terror groups.
What about the US funded Saudis funding the spread of Sunni Wahhabist fundamentalism throughout the world, invading their neighbours or the US friendly Qataris funding terror groups like ISIS?
You do know all those 911 hijackers, all the suicide bombers in Europe, all those Charlie Hebdo and Bataclan attackers, all those "mentally ill" lone wolf attacks hacking the heads off people or running people over with trucks were all to a man Sunni muslims and not Shia muslims ?
I keep seeing this whole state of mind business. I don't think he's crazy or lost it. He's just surrounded himself with sycophants who are either vying for more power or just **** scared of telling him bad news.
The FSB would have done some research and modelling into what a full scale invasion would have involved and the repercussions, and I'd imagine that it wouldn't be good as we're seeing now but of course Putin couldn't hear about that so someone up the chain polishes the turd and tells him it'll all be grand and when it's a success then some sort of promotion for them. This always happens when an egotistical despot is running the show. Sure he's clever and played the game to get to where he is now but his downfall is not having someone who is willing to tell him how bad an idea something is.
There a mix of useful idiots who are happy to post any and everything Russia does is good and everything American or ukraine does is bad ,while repeating all of the Kremlin propaganda verbatim,I doubt any of them are actually official bots ,more trolls looking for a little attention
McDonalds "pausing" in Russia...
I would say..I am loving it...but McDonalds is muck...but still fair play!
If they pay them in rubbles it will cost them fook all in dollars.
Also aren't they mostly franchises?
I suppose you were one of those people who gave the lowly paid bank clerks awful hassle when they went bust for decisions made a long long way up the chain. I worked in AIB at the time and the stories were horrific. Hate this type of shite.
How the **** is the lady supposed to know?? Also what does nationality have to do with it. Could you not just leave it at "lady at the counter".
Ukraine is in a very serious situation, but it doesn't mean that Russia is in any good position itself. Two weeks in and they only hold one city, progress is slowing by the day, losses are mounting rapidly, all that while their currency is plummeting and sanctions are starting to bite (and will continue to grind their economy down). They appear to be in a quagmire already, slow progress forward, no exit strategy. Perhaps their military will pull off something spectacular or something dramatic will happen, but barring that, this is not the situation they wanted to be in and they haven't met any of their goals. They are feeling the burn pretty bad and a peace deal might start to look awfully tempting.
Chinese state media embedded with the invading Russians
I really hope you are right. I'm just worried that instead they'll plough on and their logistics will slowly improve.
If that happens or is even threatened then the USA and UK will both be obliged to become directly involved in defending Ukraine in line with their 1994 agreement. I don't think that is something Russia will want to happen.
You're right G, I should have added 'at times'. It's a Russian loyalist enclave within Ukraine. After the Maidan revolution and years of simmering tensions the Russian backed loyalists kicked off a local civil war. The Ukrainians responded with their own support for their nationalist paramilitary and sent in their military and back and forth it went, with thousands left dead or displaced and ceasefire after ceasefire broken. One Russian I knew a couple of years ago had relatives who lived through that and the village they came from that had consisted of 80 odd households, mostly ethnic Russians was down to 20, mostly ethnic Ukrainians. The rest having been forced out and a few were 'disappeared'. That kinda thing was happening in reverse in other areas. Like I was saying earlier it's like The Troubles in Northern Ireland turned up to eleven with both sides looking like dicks, but I'd give the overall winner of dick competion to Mother Russia. Overall a really shítty and seemingly intractable situation.
In my humble Ukraine would be better off without that festering wound in her side and should ask for international support to rehome those people who want to be Ukrainian and leave the 'republics' to it. Roll on a decade or so and a rebuilt and vibrant Ukraine in or close to being in the EU and those who stayed in the republics may well wish they left when the had the chance to.
They are indeed franchises, but it would be illegal for them to remain open and sell something resembling a MacDonalds hamburger or anything else McD related on the menu.
Is this a wind up?
Or 'Russian forces conducting military operations to rescue Ukraine from Nazi oppressors,' as I'd imagine they're describing the situation...
The question really is if he used nukes in Ukraine. If he targets a NATO country I think it's akin to a target on the US. If hypothetically he hit Kiev the fallout wouldn't be political it would be geographic, Poland would also suffer from it.
Do I think it will there be Nuclear weapons used at any point no, but I'm not entirely confident either. But frankly, any use of Nuclear weapons, and the west simply can't sit on their hands.
There are smarter people on both sides of this that arent on boards, that will have and are currently be analysing the what ifs, and I'd probably suspect the decision on how to react is already understood. But - all roads don't lead to a Nuclear war, there's many routes this could take
Clearly is imo, but a lot of people seem to be taking it seriously!
Israeli media saying that the offer was "the last" Putin was willing to make and that if rejected, may accelerate the invasion.
While Iran has more than its share of issues, the main issue they have internationally is that they thumbed their noses to big oil and western, especially American interests that their Shah(a total moron) was facilitating and threw him and them out. Not unlike a Middle Eastern Cuba.
It's intriguing that one of the main reasons Russia is losing the propaganda war is that they have no international media to cover what they are doing or to 'give their side'. Virtually the only people reporting on them is their own state media, which is seen by nobody outside Russia - means they are taking an absolute hammering in the PR battle.
They say it doesn't work most of the time but like the concrete and logs put onto sherman tanks in WWII it makes the crew feel better.
That could happen. I suspect they will indeed adapt, but no matter how the Russians adapt, they are going to have to overcome some serious hurdles, e.g. morale in their military, it's going to become increasingly obvious to even the most indoctrinated that this is less an "operation" and more like something they learned in school (the German invasion of Russia in 1941), the Ukrainians aren't welcoming them, and they aren't protecting the people, they are slaughtering them.
Once they are making progress they will keep going. If/when the southern line reaches the North there will only be one frontline and Russia will have an overwhelming advantage.
Putin only needs to have a hold on the domestic PR. International PR is long lost.
I'd say the Ukrainians told them to get fucked. They're dug in now, the time for making these offers was before invading.