One of these was related to a rigged election (including jailing a political opponent) and the other was related to a "rigged election". Funny how the same names show up in the background of both of these events.
Eh, what was the point of that? I was expecting him to go back to the supermarkets on the 8th of March also... Or did he, and they were the exact same?!
Dirty 🤬🤬🤬
For that one act alone of deliberately targeting civilians, Putin who is responsible for the invasion of Ukraine should be hung by his bollics from a lampost with rabid dogs for company.
Would've been better not banning them from airspace, they would have run out of jet fuel last Friday. 🤣
An elderly couple in their 60's. A **** disgrace.
It doubly admirable because the Poles and the Ukrainians have their own historical and ethic "disagreements" themselves.
Yes I would say those numbers are probably closer to reality. Still extraordinary numbers. For perspective, around 2,500 US soldiers died in two decades in Afghanistan
Trading suspended on Nickel on the London Metal Exchange. Crazy scenes, nightmare if you make solar panels or electric cars.
Was watching a panel show about the invasion. One of the experts believed that Putin will authorise the use of tactical nuclear weapons when (as it looks like it will) Russia is hopelessly bogged down in Ukraine or worse is losing.
Good. Hopefully it's followed by a super-long thaw, keep the fuckers in the mud as long as possible
In Riga on the Museum of Medicine opposite the Russian embassy
UK to phase out all Russian oil imports to UK this year, US announcement likely coming soon
I think he has over time, with hubris and some level of decline, made progressively less sensible decisions. It was seen in how he never got behind plans by Mevdevev for an innovation park ten years ago. He couldn't grasp the benefit of long-term, slow release, science and intellectual investment, so instead Russian minds continued to emigrate.
In armchair general mode now that Covid is off the radar, would it not make sense for a European coalition to engage now with Moldova and arm it if necessary, and publicly, to put pressure on Russia to withdraw? I reckon if the path is minimal military involvement from the West, Russia will aim to retain most, if not all, of the coastal strip. They will put pressure on Kyiv then until a deal is 'struck' to take the country to the knacker yard in April or May. There has to be a real threat of Euro nations (not NATO) moving in if the situation does not improve, or if they plan to fully sandwich Kyiv and destroy the Ukranian leadership while annexing more of its coast. Furthermore, the politics of grain supply are now coming to the fore....
I really don't see what they gain from doing this. I know the ultimate goal is most likely to just take control and take all their gas/oil so leaving a nuclear wasteland doesn't really matter as long as supply lines can continue to be built. Launching a nuke would certainly draw some sort of a response, and there's a risk China would distance themselves too, possibly with sanctions. At the end of the day, a complete collapse of the Russian Federation would suit the Chinese down to the ground.
Yeah and I have been saying that I think we will see a ceasefire by end of this week. Cause and effect. He must be under massive pressure already.
I think Putin has to take Kyiv and possibly Odessa to save face. Then he will sue for peace and a negotiated withdrawal.
The UK government has announced a plan to phase out Russian oil and oil products by the end of 2022. EU and US plans too, even if US announcement is largely symbolic.
Ukrainians capturing A LOT of equipment, their biggest arms supplier now seems to be Russia
Must be harder to keep them paid with the worthless Rouble now in shite !
No chance of a ceasefire.
Just checked on the Nickel price. In a day it adds 2000 Dollars to the price of an electric car.
There is every chance. Give it a week. A week is a long time in this 12 day old war.
Obviously there will still be skirmishes in Russian held territory until they actually withdraw but I think he will sue for a quick negotiated peace and get the hell out.
Yeah but it's like how you cheer for your club against the club up the road, your county (with players you'd usually be against) against the next county etc. Less glibly though, there's history, a lot of it. Trying to distil it into "positive" and "negative" would likely be a fool's errand, even if someone much smarter and educated than me was able to gather that much information.
What we're seeing is a reaction to their shared history, similar with how Finland and the Baltic states are reacting (though less so for obvious reasons). Remember what Germany did to Poland in the 2nd world war? Now consider that pretty much as quickly as they could they did everything they could to as quickly as possible join a group with Germany as a driving force (EU) and couldn't wait to join NATO. The people in all those countries know what it's like to live under the Russian yoke. The memories may have faded but culturally they know what's coming and what follows.
There is it, US ban on oil, gas and coal from Russia
We're (EU) fighting a war against Russia and yet we continue to pay them $750m+ per day for gas. Plus there's the $300m of oil they sell daily.
I understand that Germany have gotten themselves into a bit of a bind with their short-sighted/stupid/dummkopf decommissioning of their nuclear reactors.
But we're paying the Russians so that they can continue killing Ukrainians, at the same time as we give Ukrainians the means to kill Russians. It's a total paradox.
They won't gain by it but Putin's state of mind is the key. He won't want to be seen losing no matter the cost.
America gets hardly any oil from Russia. And yet this is receiving lots of attention.
I am surprised they get any to be honest.
You can't just shut it all down immediately. It will take time to source alternatives and to implement plans, especially for the EU.
Only 11% of global nickel production comes from Russia.
A corresponding increase in the price would not have been unexpected in a common sense world.
But it seems that the naked short sellers have been caught out by the decrease in supply.