He had a certain fan base here and some weren't gone on him.
He disappeared very fast last year and now he's about to sue Twitter.
The presenter, who studied Politics and Irish in UCD, revealed he even had a short stint as a teacher after he moved back to Ireland after spending time in New York, to where he had moved in the hope of achieving success as a dancer.
https://www.independent.ie/regionals/herald/entertainment/tv-radio/if-things-go-wrong-with-tv-career-ill-be-a-teacher-says-tvs-eoghan-mcdermott-31139425.html
I have an issue with a man having sex with a child especially as he was 10 years older than her.
Why is he suing twitter anyway? That would be like suing a notice board.
Grand. So it's the age of consent you have an issue with.
What do you think would be a more acceptable age for people to be allowed have sex?
If she was a 18/19 year old school child would it make a difference?
Then there is an issue with the law then? The law exists for a reason and has deemed the girl over the age of consent at 17...
Not for his career anyway. Woke men, self confessed feminists, a fella who played and active role in cancelling other people for their views can't really afford to be having sexual relations with a school child when he is 27.
He'd have slaughtered anyone else for this. He hopped on the cancel George Hook bandwagon as quick as he could. Couldn't disagree with him on that though.
How he lasted as long as he did with the inappropriate behaveour toward Paris Hilton and Katherine Thomas is also questionable. I mean the Paris Hilton hilton video isn't just inappropriate it's bordering on sexual harassment. Sure look that'll be explained away here as Eoghan having the craic etc.
He shouldn't have faced allegations of underage sex. If I were accused or orally raping someone I'd certainly want that retracted. FFS.
She maybe of the age of consent but surely the fact he was 27 and she was 17 is not creepy?
You haven't retracted your statement that he was a teacher when having this relationship.
If I were accused or orally raping someone I'd certainly want that retracted. FFS
How would you succeed in doing that?
Not in the least. The law deems them fit to do so...Ive banged everything from 19 year olds to 70 year olds, its just consenting adults having fun...no one hurt anyone and everyone can consent, its no big deal
The age of consent is the age at which someone can consent to having sex with anyone other person over the age of consent.
Again, what is the maximum age someone of 17 should be allowed have sex with, without it being creepy?
How would you succeed in proving she was in fact at the legal age of consent 17?
Because a date of birth is a fact.
So if you can answer my question when you are ready.
birth cert?
Yeh exactly. I presume this is what they had to do and from this they know what age she was at the time of the incident. Whether it be 25 or 17.
Having sexual relations with a 17yo school child isn't illegal. I like many on here think it's a serious breach of morals and creepy to do so. If your image relies on you being a whiter than white, self confessed feminist it might cause you an issue or two.
We agree more than we disagree on this. But I have no idea why you keep saying school child, as if that is somehow important.
Again, I ask, if you don't agree with a 17 year old having sex with a 27 year old, at what age do you think it is ok to have sex with a 17 year old?
Should 17 year olds not be able to consent to sex with whoever they like? If not, what should the age of consent be (in your opinion)?
A simple statement in that letter from her solicitors stating that all sexual encounters between the two were fully consensual and that allegations of non-consensual sexual behaviour were falsehoods.
I think Dunne my issue is with the total hypocrisy shown by McDermott. Not a crime. It's wrong that he was accused like this.
I just think his position as a broadcaster would be untenable going forward given the platform and image he portrayed. This is where I think the school child part should be emphasized. I think it was reprehensible for a person with the status of him to be a relationship with a school child. They are impressionable and will want to be showing off to their school mates etc. To me it he really doesn't come off well in the whole thing. She would have been a lot less mature than him and probably had zero experience of relationships with adult males. That's why I think if his legal team know she was xx years of age and not in school he sholud clarify it. That of course is dependent on whether he wants to make a comeback to broadcasting and expressing his view for all things woke and metoo to the public.
He didn't deny the non consensual allegations because then he would be admitting to having had a sexual relationship with the girl. Again another fairly carefully worded and thought out statements from his legal team and PR people.
I mean to not even deny them........
And I am onboard with that. I can't stand the man and as many will tell you here, I have no time for his type of feminist bullshit.
But that aside, it's still not right to expect him to need to answer **** allegations, especially when some have already been proven as demonstrably false.
I also don't really buy the status thing. There are a lot of presumptions in your post and to be honest, by throwing all those presumptions of his moral guilt and her alleged innocence, you are doing exactly what McDermott used to do with his moralising grandstanding. There are no credible reasons to believe that there was anything illegal or improper.
You either believe a 17 year old can consent to a relationship with any other consenting person of their choosing over that age or you dont.
By giving the choice of making a statement stating unequivocally that this did not happen, or I will see you in court.
The amount of dodgy claims made on here about this guy, I would be surprised if boards.ie doesn't get a solicitors letter too!
What dodgy claims?
Legally a 17yo can consent.
The fact remains for me and many others she was a school child. It doesn't sit right with me.
Sure look that'll be explained away here as Eoghan having the craic etc.
I don't think anyone on this thread has explained away any of his actions as having the craic etc.
Most posters on this thread seem to agree that a 27 year old man with a 17 year old girl is creepy.
Are you not getting that from your reading of the thread ?
I most certainly am.
Did you watch the Paris Hilton video?
If she was a 17 year old that had done her leaving, are you ok with it?
Well a few posters have stated as fact that he was a teacher while in this relationship, others have posted that he committed oral rape, some others posted that he basically placed undue pressure on a female and coerced her into a relationship. Not to mention the claim over and over that he had sex with a child.
They're all fairly dodgy claims.
Really?
And when they get to court how does he prove he was defamed?