Sounds divine! I can just imagine old Ditrry and his wife Anya looking out on the beautiful landscape on a lovely spring evening. " I wonder whatever became of young Ivan next door who used be very interested in politics and was forever giving out about the system, asks Anya, " . Nobody's seen him in years whispers Dmitry. Anyway I'm off to bed, I've a 14 hour day tomorrow!
You need to disarm everybody if you want to even start contemplating disarming one of the arsenals. Never going to happen. Welcome to what J. Robert Oppenheimer himself quoted from the Bhagavad Gita - “Now I am become Death, the destroyer of worlds”
Agreed, but that's the future.
We're stuck in a bind now with the present horrible situation and no easy answers.
Welfare migrants if it makes it clearer
He walked away and left the truck parked at the entrance lol.
Poor ambassador won't be able to get his dumplings from Donnybrook fair tonight.
Poland isn't going to allow Ukrainians planes take off from their territory in defence of Ukraine. Nor are they going to supply them with any fighter planes. Disappointing but I imagine they are scared stiff of Russia.
Enforcing a no fly zone means bombing Russian soil in order to take our their air defenses. Good way to get nuclear war there.
The point was to illustrate that this particular conflict is quite brutal in comparison to other 21st century conflicts fought by major powers where you'd have to go a number of years before seeing similar numbers to what Russia has suffered in less than two weeks, making their situation a dire one vs. where they would have wanted to be with this thing. At that rate, it cannot be sustainable to continue waging. That's not to mention the weight of sanctions on the Russian economy may make it impossible to continue with anyway. So, that's inner pressure from mounting casualties and exterior pressure from mounting sanctions. If there's any sanity left in the Russian leadership, and that's not a given at this point, they must come to the negotiating table quite soon with a more reasonable set of proposals.
Wonder how the doomsday clock scientists will adjust things. They already had the clock closer then it ever was at the turn of the year!
Regardless, am I the only person wondering (from an existential crisis perspective) whether things are as bad as they look (madman threatening the world) , worse then they look (he may be stupid enough to follow through with threat) or maybe not as bad cause I don’t really understand Putins strategy and limitations. I really don’t fully have a grounded sense of what’s going on.
Like is everybody else thinking “worse for us is inflation and maybe slight food shortage!”?
A change.org petition isn't worth the paper its written on
as opposed to the keyboards warriors that turn a blind eye to atrocities, or proclaim the advantages of " world peace" or try and justify Russias atrocities. Blood gets shed all the time throughout history because tyrants seek to be tyrants . The west economic strength will grind Russia into the dust and deservedly so , Russia has the GDP of Italy, in a year it will be the equivalent of Bangladesh , its will never be able to attempt this again . When you attach the King you need to kill the King ! and Putin cant
The term you're looking for is chickenhawk and this thread is full of them. There's been about 50 posts out of over 22000 of them that have made any real sense so far, in that have been in an effort to actually discuss the issue. The rest has been hysterical bullshit, laced with some of the most batshit crazy gibberish that I've read in many a year of time wasting on the web.
But the absolute worst "contributions" have been from little big talking shits that have never and will never see a front line in their lives and who think this is all solvable with force because they have a few hundred hours of Call of Duty under their belt. Posters saying that they'd be willing to see the world go to a nuclear exchange over this? That level of feeble mindedness really is something to behold.
And whether people want to acknowledge it or not, the fact of the matter is that even if Russia swallowed up the entirety of the Ukraine, it'll still be a MUCH better outcome than a new European war on a massive scale, which is the possible alternative if other actors get involved in a direct way. Plus with nuclear weapons in the mix, there is a disaster of a truly staggering magnitude on offer if the escalation goes too far and that really will be the game changer that there's no coming back from.
Never mind all the big Billy Bollocks talk from the posters here who've never even opened a book about a war and are in no danger of ever having to put on a tin hat and go fight.
No it doesn't
The no fly zone is to protect Ukraine airspace.
You really should read up on these things before posting:
not at all , NATO has enormously superior air power that the mere use of it over Ukraine would keep the Russian jets on the ground . The UKrainian airforce is still flying by the way and russia is only flying ta night because of the treat of shoulder launched stingers
Ahhh Russia - values life so highly
Russia has been trying to recruit Syrians to fight in Ukraine
Moscow was seeking volunteers to act as guards on six-month contracts, for between $200 and $300 a month
Deas already being done as the Ukrainians are trained in MIG-29s, Poland gets nice shiny F-15s in return , Poland isnt one bit scared of Russia it has NATO behind it
The UKrainains will beat russia wait and see
@Tony EH Chickenhawk was a pretty good read. Followed a chopper pilot in Vietnam. What that has to do with anything I don't know, but you reminded me it exists.
Sounds desperate… Quite different climates as well
For those currency nerds out there, that's between 55 and 75 swimming pools full of Rubles.
If Putin is as much of a creation of the KGB as people say he is, then I think the nuclear threat is exactly that... a threat (that is really a reminder of the MAD principle).
TBH, I give less of a feck about rising costs here in Ireland (not saying you are otherwise) than I do about the impact on the developing world with rising food and fertilizer prices and diminishing food supply. Absolute disaster waiting to happen with millions more people plunged into food poverty.
The news you would have gotten before you started work at 7.30am would be more up to date than any news you get as you pass a newsstand!
Robert Mason's book is very good.
But a "Chickenhawk" means someone who prattles on about going to war, so long as it's someone else who does the fighting.
doesn't he know he is competing with european social welfare rates
Well, for my own two pennies worth, Oppenheimer wasn't wrong when he said those words, he knew what he had become part of, he knew what he had ultimately helped to introduce to the world. If he had read the likes of the 'Bhagavad Gita' he was obviously a very well read and wide scoping intellectual. Everyone assumes there will be some sort of "check and balance", just like there is supposedly to be some make of "check and balance" to every other facet of existence, but there isn't. And when it comes to a nuclear arsenal, those "checks and balances" go out of the window because any sort of maniac lowlife can set the trains in motion to kick it off, let alone Vladimir Putin. This is the legitimate scare what Putin is playing off. And everybody has been falling for it, not so much the Yanks, but then again if they told me tomorrow was Tuesday, I wouldn't trust them either.
The Russian s400s have serious range and are in Russian territory. How do you prevent them shooting down your planes without taking them out? Enforcing a no fly zone means a war between NATO and Russia, and we all lose there. MAD only works when both sides have things to lose. Backing Russia into that corner means they don't.
Would it not have been an idea to get him to move the truck before arresting him?! It’s a bit silly for him, he’ll likely have a criminal record which could effect his travel and future employment plans. I understand and empathise with completely but I’m not sure vandalism is the answer
Is there any truth that the Russian offensive will collapse due to a lack of supplies after a certain amount of days ?
It's a very ugly thing that chickenhawkery.
We have people on this thread cheerleading the resistance, but who don't want to deal with the inevitable refugee wave... which adds another layer of ugly.
I know it's off topic, i have to ask what is the easy solution to the housing crisis?