He had a certain fan base here and some weren't gone on him.
He disappeared very fast last year and now he's about to sue Twitter.
The easy solution would be not to make public accusations if you aren’t sure of the facts, particularly if they are the basis for your campaign. But I guess that ship has sailed for the forgetful and traumatised lady.
So she was a woman when she made up lies and posted them in social media?
Again, the woman is getting vilified for the actions of a creepy male. My point has been proven.
McDermott should not be excused for any criminal activity, or indeed for having a relationship with a 17yr old. But he most certainly should be excused from any false allegations made against him.
If you are going to make allegations of this type, you need to be damn sure that they are truthful and accurate. At the moment McDermott is not guilty of any crime beyond reprehensible behaviour, but within the law. Again, if this girl believes he acted illegally, she should go to the Gardai, by embarking on “trial my media” she has undermined her allegations by admitting to falsehoods.
What lies?
She was a girl when this took place. She is the victim here. McDermott is the scumbag. Reading this thread you'd assume it was the other way around. Crazy stuff.
True. Nothing to see here. A 27 year old man in a position where he would be well known and popular amongst school children insitigating a relationship with a 17 year old school kid when she was 16.
She was above the legal age for consent but she was a school child.
Have you actually read the letter posted earlier? She literally admits to posting false allegations.
The girl has done other women a service. She has exposed McDermott for being a scumbag. We should be applauding her bravery in coming forward, not lambasting her for misremembering her age. She is the victim, McDermott is the culprit.
That he moved abroad because of this issue? Oh quick, hang the girl, crime of the century.
While I will give you that, she has brought media attention to his reprehensible behaviour, but she undermined herself, and others by embellishing her story with allegations she has now admitted were at least in part, false.
She is being criticised for having lied. End of.
It's absolutely crazy that the girl is being vilified here. But it isn't surprising.
I'm not sure what your point is?
she was above the age of consent when she had a relationship with this man. she has admitted to spreading lies about this man.
How is she a victim exactly?
Read above.
The one thing i will say Dav is that sometimes sexual abise victims dont go to the authorities for a long time amd sometimes ever. Im not saying that is the case here but it has been like that always. Its not as easy to say go to the guards and we all know that.
Really? You don't get that a 27 year old man preying on a schoolgirl is completely wrong and makes her a victim? That says it all.
I haven't seen any evidence of a man preying on a schoolgirl?
do you have evidence of that?
I know many 16/17 year old girls that had relationships with older men, there was no suggestion of anything improper. Do you have evident there was in this case?
I agree with you, and it is that very point that I think is being lost here. The victims of sexual abuse should be able to make a complaint to Gardai, and be believed in a non judgemental way. But when people lie about events that they claim occurred, it makes it more difficult for the next person to be believed. Trial by media is not the way to deal with an offender, particularly if the accuser posts false allegations which they later have to admit are false. You and I are on the same page when it comes to our opinion of McDermott having a relationship with a 17 yr old, it’s wrong, his career as it was is over, rightly so.
Whatever turns you on I suppose.
Well there is nothing wrong with it.
so you think there is?
Agree with everything you have said. Im not sure about malicious intent of the woman in question but that doesnt matter when the damage has been done.
Exactly, and people going to social media first, just makes actual criminal complaints impossible
Yeh. I have a massive problem with a media / celeb personality having a relationship with a school child who was one of his target audience. Of course her head was going to be turned when he contacted her. He hasnt been found guilty of anything illegal. If thats all that matters to him then fair enough.
I think the important part of this whole incident is, if you think someone did something wrong, report it to the relevant authorities.
Don't make up lies and post them in social media.
Ok i wont make up lies. 27yo men shouldnt be running after 17yo school children.
This woman shouldnt have said she believed she was under the age of consent.
the woman should not have lied. That's what you mean obviously.
you do realise rubbish like this makes it so much harder to investigate actual real cases?
How does it make it harder to investigate cases?
I mean 27yo men shouldnt be going after imperessionable school children.
because having social media involved, makes it more difficult to get cases to court.