He had a certain fan base here and some weren't gone on him.
He disappeared very fast last year and now he's about to sue Twitter.
Exactly. People aren't really defending this man, more defending actions they may have done in the past or things they'd like to do. Leave the schoolgirls alone fellas. You can fantasise all you like but don't cross the line into creepy and disgusting behaviour.
And this is why situations like this will continue, people like yourself don’t understand the implications of false allegations. You think posters are excusing the acts of a 27 yr old man dating a 17 yr old, they/we aren’t, but false allegations online by an anonymous poster can devastate a subject of the allegations.
What he did, if he did it, was creepy, but people like you should not think it is ok for falsehoods to be posted, would you like it if someone falsely posted that you were having sexual relations with a 16yr old? Of course you wouldn’t. Unfortunately you are more a part of the disease than the cure.
The collateral losers in this are the real victims of sexual crimes, now their allegations will be looked on with heightened scepticism, people with think they are also making false allegations like this girl has admitted doing. And you will help that scepticism by implying the people who want the truth are themselves interested in kids. Bravo to you.
That is a moral issue, numerous posters, including myself think it is unacceptable behaviour. But if you read back through the thread, there is more at steak than the morality of the relationship, most importantly the use of anonymous online accounts to make false accusations of criminal wrongdoing.
You, unfortunately are part of the problem with our culture by implying that those who have an issue with false online accusations must be in some way interested in kids themselves or support his behaviour.
I'm not a man.
The scenario may be 'made up' in your case but there are people out there who found themselves in this very situation.
Gender war post if ever.
Firstly why don't you say it is not OK for people to behave like this. Secondly nearly every poster has said they think it is morally wrong for a 27 yo to have a relationship with a 17 yo. Who has said they thought it was OK and how do you know their gender?
You can't infer because somebody says it is not right to have false allegations printed in the media that they think it is morally OK for a 27 and 17 yo to have a relationship.
"... 17 year old daughter to have a 27 year old teacher who has a 17 year old girlfriend?"
A situation that has nothing to do with Eoghan McDermott
Like that rugby player Jackson, he behaved like an absolute scumbag but numerous men were defending him. Similar situation here, some men are very keen to defend this kind of behaviour while attacking the victim in the case.
The woman in the Jackson case was the real victim and the girl in this case is the real victim.
The massive difference you seem to be ignoring is the girl in this case fabricated a story and put it on social media.
The other girl made a complaint of rape that went to trial.
Can you not understand the difference?
She made up that a 27 year old man preyed on her when she was a 17 year schoolgirl?
Unfortunately helto is an example of why this type of online behaviour is endemic, he/she has no issue with stating that people on here are defending McDermotts behaviour, or worse, behave like that with women and kids themselves. What is the proof to support his/her allegation? None, not one poster on here has said what McDermott did was okay, but neither was making false allegations. I’m not sure if it’s ignorance, or just that the bar is now set so low that people think it is okay to post whatever accusations they want online, regardless of truth or it’s affect.
Fair play to him.
That is a moral issue rather than a legal one. Quote one post where a poster has supported or defended his behaviour. You will find lots to say there is nothing LEGALLY wrong with a 27 yr old man having a sexual relationship with someone above the age of consent, but that in no way supports or defends his behaviour.
And yes, she has admitted that she made false allegations against McDermott, most notably that she was 16 when they had sexual relations. I’d suggest you go back and read the thread before you yourself make any more unfounded accusations against other posters.
As we see in these cases, a common theme is men trying to vilify the woman. They may try to hide it but it's clear that these men have a sneaking regard for the mans behaviour and maybe even have behaved similarly themselves. I'm not saying this is you dav010, only you know what angle you're coming at this from.
See below.
I was referring to him sueing Twitter not about his case/ allegations.
If McDermott is going after people who disadvantaged him, because of a moral call, rather than a legal call on their part, he is going to be a very, very rich man indeed.
No, I believe she made allegations that she was under age when they had a relationship. Which was a lie.
She was of age.
Completely unrelated to an allegation of rape in northern Ireland. You are downplaying rape.
So she was a woman then?
Maybe she thought 17 was under the legal age? You're downplaying McDermott's scummy behaviour by vilifying the girl.
My “angle” has been consistent throughout and isn’t hard to read. He was wrong to have a relationship with a 17yr old, it’s creepy and undoubtedly bad behaviour for anyone, not just a media personality. But provided it was consensual, there is nothing LEGALLY wrong with that, that is not my opinion, it is the law. She was wrong to make false allegations, which she has admitted to, and if she feels he forced himself on her/she did not consent, then she should make a complaint to the Gardai.
My concern is not for Eoghan McDermott, his career is gone, rightly so. What I am more concerned about is that it makes it more difficult for victims to be believed, and that it is easy to wreck peoples lives by posting false allegations anonymously online. You seem to have no problem making unfounded accusations yourself that posters support his behaviour/having a sneaking regard for him, or that they may be behaving like he did. As I said, you are part of the problem, not part of the cure.
She thought 17 was under age?
Ten years later when she went on social media?
Doesn't matter what your moral code says. It was perfectly legal and the decision of both parties involved.
In these rape and abuse cases, a lot of men target the woman or girl while showing a sneaking regard for the man.
What has what to do with this? You claimed he targeted a child, then you called her a woman.
Which is it?
Maybe she thought she was 16 at the time. Again, stop vilifying the girl. She has done nothing wrong. McDermott is the scumbag in this case.
No I didn't.
She has admitted making false allegations online, that is wrong.
So she is a woman then. And was a woman when she was in the relationship
Due to the length of time since this all took place, she misremembered what age she was. This is not a crime and she shouldn't be vilified for it. And McDermott shouldn't be excused because of it.
She was a girl when McDermott took advantage of her and acted in a creepy and disgusting manner. She's a woman now. Simple.