He had a certain fan base here and some weren't gone on him.
He disappeared very fast last year and now he's about to sue Twitter.
She specifically named members of his family claiming they were guards and who conspired with other guards to prevent her from seeking justice.
A complete fabrication.
Seriously lads, given what we now know it's not very hard to work out what happened here.
It's not a false claim, he has guards in his extended family, the people she claimed and named as guards conspiring with other guards to prevent her seeking justice is the lie she admitted to.
Maybe so, but the letter states:
"Suggestions by their client that members of his family were in An Garda Síochána were also “inaccurate and unfounded”."
Nothing about collusion or conspiracies. He's denying members of his family are in the Guards. Which contradicts his interview in 2015.
That's not what the letter states, that's a half wit journalist badly interrupting it.
You are quoting from the journalist not the letter.
Her actual claims are still available, I certainly won't be linking them though.
No she didn't fully fabricate it. McDermott had a relationship with a school. That hasn't been denied or retracted. A lot of things in the statement weren't retracted and Eoghan hasn't denied them either. That's really odd if the woman was making up everything. Why would he not push for everything to be retracted?
The man was king of woke and a #metoo crusader. He's finished as a "broadcaster" anyway.
Why are you banging on about him retracting it? Like it or not, this was a relationship between two people who are both above the age of consent. Creepy? No doubt, but not something he needs to expand on as there is no longer a question of assaulting someone underage.
He doesn’t need a full retraction from the now nearly 30 yr old woman, the fact that she told such a blatant lie means only those with an agenda now believe she is being completely honest.
She / They did yeah, read the post I responded to.
Also he hasn't denied anything, he doesn't need to, why would he, to please you?
To clear up the rest of the allegations that weren't retracted.
If there is no longer a charge of underage sexual activity, and the accusers credibility is shot, what is the point?
Why does he need to "clear up" anonymous allegations?
To please you?
I imagine he has had enough of the dribbling internet mob doling out justice and probably doesn't feel like he needs to clear up anything stemming from malicious fiction.
I imagine if this happened to you, you'd feel similar. Correct?
She's not being completely honest and should 100 per cent face the consequences of that.
Given that McDermott painted himself into the king of woke, metoo spokesman in Ireland it was 100 percent inappropriate that he had a sexual relationship with a school kid.
We are all entitled to an opinion on this and most people seem to think it's seriously inappropriate what he did.
I have an issue with the hypocrisy here. He did nothing illegal and should never have faced that allegation.
If i had nothing to hide i would want everything cleared up. Especially the part about having sexual relations with a school kid. I would have asked for all inaccurate allegations that were made be retracted.
That would be just me looking to clear my good name though. Fair enough if Eoghan doesnt feel the need too. Thats his choice.
There is no doubt what he did was inappropriate by social norms, but that does not mean he needs to do what you want him to do.
Unless you have been accused of horrendous allegations which have the potential to limit your actual freedom for numerous years, you don't know how you would react.
None of us do.
Scarily none of what they did is actually a criminal act, but he ends up ruined anyway.
Something to ponder.
If Eoghan was your average TV/radio presenter I'd say a lot would leave it go.
However he portrayed himself in a certain way over the years and people will question his credibility now.
If he wants to get involved in the Irish media or teaching again he probably has more questions to answers.
If he wants to dissappear into the night then he'll be fine.
Id say he has feck all choice, hes done anyway.
Has it occurred to you at all that it may be the reason he was targeted by this group of people?
His credibility would have been ruined anyway if it got out that he was in a relationship with a 17 year old school girl. Nothing to do with it being illegal or anything like that but it gives of the impression that he is a creepy dirtbag going out with younger more impressionable people. I know growing up most lads would not be caught going out with someone still in school after they left because of the slagging and names they would be called and this was were the people were 19/20. I know later on after she left school no one would probably bat an eyelid but the way if the person is still in school then it is not exactly right.
No where has her age been confirmed, I think it's quite dangerous and rather naïve to keep assuming things about this story given what we know already.
But lets stick to what we do know, this was a concerted effort to ruin a person anonymously and anonymously only using a fabricated story to inflict maximum damage to him financially, personally, professionally and mentally by a group of people who remain anonymous.
He wasn't just accused of being a "creepy dirtbag", he was accused of being a criminal dirtbag. There is a stark difference.
Again faced with that type of false allegation, for me do I worry about my credibility or my potential years lost of liberty?
Hiw did Eoghan track this woman did? The posting was annonymous. Its notoriously hard to find the source of allegations when posted on the internet.
I wouldn't imagine it would be all that hard tbh, all Twitter accounts are linked to an email and a post that's been shared can be back-tracked to the original poster.
What other allegations were there?
Because he was in a relationship with her and she was very specific with when this was and where he worked during the time they dated. I’m sure it wouldn’t be hard for him to figure out who she was.
Maybe he had a few 17 year olds on the go at the time? Might have been difficult to know which one was involved.
But seriously, was it anonymous at the time? I’ve a vague memory of the allegations coming from a Twitter account of a named person.
Allegedly, oral rape.
Which has not been denied.
Is this story anywhere online? Or was it only on the deleted Twitter account?
Deleted Twitter and on Reddit
If she was 16 as initially claimed, it would be statutory rape even if she consented at the time. At 17 though, it is no longer rape if it was consensual. Given that her solicitor made no mention that she still claimed he raped her now that it is established she was 17, where does that allegation stand?
It is still online if you use search engines
She had an anonymous Twitter account under the name Eleanor Bingley. It is there where she detailed what happened, what age she was when he started texting her, where he was working at the time etc.
She also re-tweeted claims of alleged misconduct by him from other third parties which she has redacted in the solicitors letter.
The account is still active and she has sexual abuse survivor in her bio. All her tweets are deleted however.