Tell that to the women having babies over there Mick, gobshite.
In relation to Thread Question , they are and an absolute and continuing embarrassment.
I'll now bite my lip now as my Blood Boiling at this latest stunt 😡
I caught the end of Mick. He's some gowl.
We should extend "solidarity and inspiration" to the people of Ukraine, but not weapons, definitely not weapons.
Mick Barry on Drivetime now with the same Anti-Nato (i.e. pro Russian) bullsh1t. Just like Rich Boy-Barrett he airbrushed the Soviet Union out of genocidal history and blamed it all on the Czar.
These PBP traitors will have us all in Russian workcamps before the end of the decade if we don't do something about them.
There's definitely an air of the University debating society about the two of them (in terms of their rhetoric). It's like they're taking a preposterous position just so they can show how clever they are by trying to credibly argue in favour of it. It's not about what is right, it's about not backing down regardless of how the situation changes. In other words, it's a load of guff that's being fueled by their own sense of superiority.
Years ago, I knew someone who worked alongside her in the trade union movement ( just to be clear, this someone was in the union, I don't know if C.D. was). They said she was a loose cannon maverick. And this was before she went for TD. Apparently she was the type that would scupper progress just to get the last word. My person was pretty left-leaning anti establishment herself, so this was quite interesting.
Its the common trope of using 'Whataboutery' - You say the war is evil. The mention Donas. You say Putin is a monster. They say 'NAZI's in the Donbas' - Your say UKRAINE - they respond Iraq. I used to think the DUP were the masters of this art, but talented people are popping up everywhere
False Equivalencies are everywhere during this period - All we can do is remain firm in our stance
They do represent a certain body of opinion in Ireland who if you talk to them will say 'it's complicated', 'There's two sides to everything ' or 'what about the Donbas '.
I await a live interview at this stage - preferably on RTE or Newstalk - where she is asked direct questions - and if given what has happened - she blames NATO, the EU, etc etc - then we are done
I predict that in any interview she will trot out a generic sentence condemning Russia before quickly pivoting to talk about the people that she really wants to blame: NATO and the EU.
Just over 12 months ago she went on the Irish Times politics podcast. It's worth a listen. They really grilled her on her support of Russia and she just deflected and engaged in whataboutism in response.
Yes its effectively the case - she has always been spiritually independent, and never tends to align with parties, beyond momentary alliances of convenience - She is anti establishment first and foremost - its almost as if the establishment being on side with the Ukraine 100% (morally ethically politically this is correct in my view) - but she is therefore against or at least, fence sitting -
Hasn't Daly resigned from and formed, then quit multiple parties? She was originally elected for Socialist Party(2011), then quit to form United Left(2013), then quit to become an Independent 4 Change (2016)
Her approach appears to be that if everyone was just nice nothing bad would ever happen.
its a very difficult question - Brief Segway; I'm a Leftie, Pro European Union, Anti Brexit etc etc - I have voted for Labour, SocDem, PbP, Indo and SF - my stance is that i never vote for FF/FG or independents associated with these - so i freely admit: I have voted for Clare and had a lot of respect for her
All IMHO of course -
Let’s be thankful they are unlikely ever to reproduce.
She seems to have lost the plot entirely when she got into bed with Wallace, literally.
My memory of her as a TD was that she was diligent and thorough and fought for fairness and the poorest in society. In particular I admired her support of Maurice McCabe against the Gardai. Was there any record of her being a Putin appeaser in the Dail? I presume there's plenty of EU-bashing evidence but that was 10-a-penny after the Troika/Bond holders era of Irish politics.
I guess what I'm asking is - as a former constituent could you see her turning into what she currently is (an appeaser of autocrats) - or was she always like that but maybe didn't speak about those issues as much in the past?
The worst politicians we have are the ones that are voted in under the guise of one particular party but then switch party/go independent WITHOUT resigning their seat.
At least with Wallace & Daly you know what you're getting.
Effectively they're advocating a policy of appeasement.
No I amn't ashamed as I have never voted for either.
I should also state - i live in North Co Dublin, in Clare's constituency. If she does remain entrenched in her position: (below tweet less than 3 hours old)
I will never vote for her again. I am a political 'anorak' and take every opportunity to discuss topical issues and current events - particularly come election time - and i will not vote for her, and will actively highlight her nonsense at every available opportunity. While some might say that the above tweet is conciliatory to Ukraine, i do not view it as enough. Crying no to war and 'EU Militarism' - at a time like this - disgusts me. The EU have astounded me in their move to supply weapons and military aid to Ukraine. And i salute them wholeheartedly
Thread Title: Are Mick Wallace and Clare Daly Irelands greatest shame?
To a certain extent ; yes (not gonna get into them being the 'Greatest of all time' - another discussion)
The fact is i would give the above an opportunity to come around over the coming days. If you had told me a week ago that
had you predicted the above, i would have assumed a degree of war mongering and nonsensical prediction; We are where we are, its happened, its a dark new day. Wallace and Daly should certainly be given the chance to respond. Granted they remained in their current position opinion-wise, far too long. But a chance is open for them to realize whats happening, and change their position. Fight Bad ideas with Good Ideas, and change minds
However, up to now - yes. They are in my view, a disgrace
sure wasn't Wallace looking for the early release of the Omagh bomber on 'humanitarian grounds' 🙄
Absolutely nuts. Any left leaning politicians who think Putin or Russia are on the same side really need to get their head out of the 1920s and learn about actual politics
Is it possible to do a recall election? We need these two dragged out of office before they bring the country into any more disrepute.
Pair of absolute ****s
Cyrus wrote: » They are a reflection of those who voted them in as tds in the first place
breezy1985 wrote: » All the Healy Raes, Willie O Dea, Michael Lowry, Bertie Ahern and Lucinda Creighton all spring to mind as top division Shame TDs
godtabh wrote: » Hasn’t these allegations be investigated by others and disproved?
sparksfly wrote: » I'm certainly no fan of these two but I do believe the whistleblowers from the OPCW should be given a hearing. One of them is Dr Brendan Whealan, an Irish senior inspector, who along with Ian Henderson have had long unblemished and distinguished careers with the organisation. I also do not claim to know if their concerns are credible or not but they put their careers on the line when they voiced their concerns. They both allege that senior OPCW officials had radically altered their finished investigation results and rushed out a doctored report which green lighted a missile attack on Syria. Their claims deserve an impartial and transparent investigation.