He had a certain fan base here and some weren't gone on him.
He disappeared very fast last year and now he's about to sue Twitter.
She lied about being underage, why would you, or indeed the Gardai believe any other allegations? We are not talking about a child here, my understanding is that she is 27 now, if she wanted the allegations to be taken seriously, the minimum should have been that she tell the truth. That ship has now sailed.
What is he disputing? I would assume if that were the issue he would have pushed to have everything retracted.
For me he had sexual relations with a 17yo girl. I dont think he assaulted her. I dont think he did anything illegal. But thats weird imo. 17 and in school. He was 27. He hasnt disputed this for a reason.
To be honest, I’d never heard of this guy before the stuff started to appear about the allegations. He could be getting the woke pasting he deserves, but it is clear now that he did not deserved to be accused of assaulting a minor. Given the enormity of that lie, any other allegation by this girl must be questioned at best, or completely discounted as more lies.
But if theres an allegation of sexual assault thats something that will be still under investigation by the authorities.
As far as im aware there isnt and never has been any investigation. I could be wrong on that point but it seems literally trial by social media with nothing behind it.
I cant stand the prick, think hes a creep but i hope he sues the arse off twitter, social media is a cesspit
I don't know what my agenda is, but I would say that in my opinion the alleged act is worse than the age of the person it's being performed against.
I agree with your second part, the Aziz Ansari defense.
Clearly there are some things she is still maintaining happened which he disputes. Yet she hasn't gone to the gardai about them and is an admitted liar.
But she did clear up the inaccuracies and they are clearly listed in the letter. The fact that she said some of his family members were members of the Guards and the fact she was at the age of consent.
If I were Eoghan McDermott I would have insisted that all inaccuracies were clearly referred to and withdrawn. I think they were and that a lot of the stuff in the original post by the woman including the fact they had a sexual relationship was not withdrawn.
Look the issue for Eoghan here is that he back himself into the woke corner. He was signing from the airwaves that lads should be calling out sleazy behaviour toward women. He was part of the me too band wagon. Whilst the girl was at the legal age of consent it doesn't look good for him because of the narrative he created for himself.
I suspect you are only saying that to push on with your agenda, there is some chance of recovering your reputation if there is unproved suspicion of a sexual assault, there is none for pedophilia or sexual assault of a minor.
The most serious allegation was that she was underage
I'd say the allegation of sexual assault was more serious.
Being morally wrong is not the same as being legally wrong. The most serious allegation was that she was underage, we now know she lied. The law says she was old enough to consent to a sexual inter course, so while I agree with you that it is creepy, in relation to the age of the girl, he has done nothing wrong.
In the letter she said they were in a “relationship” and that her allegations contained a “number of inaccuracies”, so I’m not sure how any allegation she made for any wrongdoing could be credible.
No, she claimed the sexual assault was an actual physical forcing of himself onto her, a calendar doesn't change the action.
But does she explicitly retract it?
Ok, I've seen that, but she accuses him of a few different things, ranging from getting her drunk underage to comments about being a teacher? How much of it is he disputing?
(Also dispute does not mean deny)
if she claimed the "sexual assault" was down to the fact she was a minor, but then accepts the fact she was not a minor, then in effect she is accepting there was no sexual assault.
unless you have some wording to differ?
In the third last paragraph of the legal letter it states McDermott fundamentally disputes their clients version of what happened in their relationship.
I literally just googled the legal definition of inaccurate :) :)
The more I read the wording the worse he looks, hope he loses his bollix sueing Twitter.
I have, and I will once again ask, show me the exact wording where either party denies the allegation of sexual assault? If it's there in black and white someone I've asked should have been able to?
The wording in the statement is a cause for concern for me. It says that "the allegations contain a number of inaccuracies".
That is very different from "the allegations are entirely without basis and are completely false".
There's a lot more I'd like to say on this matter but can't for the obvious legal reasons.
Retracted.
'Our client made false allegations' Read the solicitors letter.
Al Porter was cancelled for grabbing men. Why didnt the same happen here you have to wonder? I remember the Paris Hiltpn clip. Weird considering he was all pver the me too movement.
Now he has had a sexual relationship with a 17 year old school going girl which he hasnt denied he wont be back. It would be sick if he was.
Its a civil matter. Im sure there is more to her not being than meets the eye. Is he trying to save some face?
Why would he deny a claim that has been retracted? It would sound stupid.
Again I'll ask, she made an allegation of a serious sexual assault, and he hasn't denied it, you'll be able to produce a statement if he did?
Your posts in this thread are mad. Have you read the solicitors letter? Anything she claimed or retweeted is retracted on her side. Trying to hold onto some of it is mad.
He’s a weirdo and maybe a hypocrite; but he’s not a rapist.
I remember a video on twitter doing the rounds. It showed I think 3 short clips of him on the television.
Some here will have seen it I'm sure. Let's just say those clips did him no favour. One was grabbing the co presenter and kissing her without permission, she looked shocked. That done by any presenter now would be p45 in click of finger.
These were all broadcast on national TV.
Absolutely. Caroline Flack was rightly slaughtered for her relationship with Harry Styles long after it ended.
What would anybody of that age have in common with a schoolchild? Would you be ok with your son or daughter having a relationship with someone 10 years older than them if they were still in school?
I love the way people’s moral compass thinks it’s ok for a 27 year old person in a high position in the entertainment industry to have a physical relationship with someone who can’t even legally vote just because there’s nothing legally wrong with it.
There should absolutely be questions as to why he deemed this to be appropriate.
He’s the one giving her anonymity. Why would he do this if he wants to protect his squeaky clean image?
Because there is absolutely more to this story, that’s why.
I really wish some people were capable of reading between the lines. They’re more than happy to when it comes to a woman making a claim, but when a man doesn’t even refute claims and instead focuses in on whether she was 16 or 17 and he was 27 then they’re not capable of seeing that.
It’s confirmation bias at its finest.
It is in the public interest that this woman is named to protect more male victims and to encourage any other male victims that there may be to come forward.
Not twitters fault.
If I spray painted some defamatory comment on a wall, should the owner of the wall be sued?
Sue or prosucute the person who made the comment.
Change the laws if necessary.
"Getting back to the thread title, can you actually sue Twitter? It wasn't Twitter who defamed him, but users on it. Surely he'd have to sue whoever posted the message, not the host? I'm sure Twitter are above getting sued for every random comment put on their platform?"
I'm sure his solicitors have assured him that (for the right money) they can get a win from this case.
No idea what's going on, I vaguely remember the accusations, and then him disappearing fairly quickly, but not much else. IIRC he had been involved in accusations and finger pointing at others not long before it happened. ..? I could well be wrong on that.