He had a certain fan base here and some weren't gone on him.
He disappeared very fast last year and now he's about to sue Twitter.
I agree, "man in position of power uses that power to manipulate a barely legal girl 10 years his junior into sex" is outrageous, glad we're angry at the right thing.
And that makes false rape allegations okay does it? Cop on. It's an insult to real victims. Get a grip.
It appears his accuser only cleared up the fact she wasnt underage. At no point in that letter does it refer to any of the other alleagations being false. Lets be clear on that. I assume his accuser was sued?
What false rape allegations? Since I see neither party denying it I'll abstain from comment.
The problem with this type of allegations is you can never really be fully cleared, people will always have their doubts. They'll assume that he out-spent his accuser with lawyers fees til they had no option but to retract. They'll say "ah sure that's why he was silent til now, because that's how long it took him to out-spend her."
I think it's best you abstain as you plainly have no idea of the details.
I mean, hypothetically, if it was me, the first thing I'd want is an admission the claims were false. I'd also be shouting from the rooftops that I denied said allegations.
I'd imagine that's what any innocent man would do.
what act makes defamation a criminal offence? The Defamation Act of 2009 abolished the old common law offences of defamatory libel, seditious libel and obscene libel are abolished and didn't replace them. That Act did include an offence of Blasphemous Libel but that was subsequently repealed.
Show me where the claims are denied or admitted to be false, shouldn't be that hard.
He always reminds me of a Jedward super fan with the big hair.
If she has no assets (which is probably the case), then there's no point sueing her. McDermott would only be throwing money away.
She could afford a solicitor.
A few hundred quid is probably all it would cost to get a solicitor to make a statement? She'd need substantial assets to defend a case and pay damages and costs if they were awarded against her. If she lost and had no assets, she wouldn't be able to pay any of the award and wouldn't be able to pay his costs. He'd end up with not getting anything awarded to him and he'd have to pay his own legal costs.
How was she identified if this was posted anonymously?
If the original post from her was to be republished but with the part she has admitted to be false redacted would that be allowable? I read it months ago and wont re-post it obviously. It contained a lot of info and detail regarding disturbing behavior during the incidents. I think with all of the woke comments and virtue signaling he did that there is more to answer too. He came down pretty hard on lads for pretty much this sort of thing.
I imagine enough of the story was true that he was able to figure it out quite quickly. I mean how many 16 year olds was he messaging? Pretty easy to filter out.
Think it's interesting that she said she was 'above the age of consent' rather than over 18.
I think it's a bit weird for a 26/27 year old person to engage in a physical relationship with a minor even if there is nothing legally wrong with it.
Continuation at the request of mods (It makes no sense that the thread needed moving to me either)
Another example which highlights why the right to anonymity should apply to both accuser and accused. Let’s hope he gets the compensation he deserves though this is doubtful.
Separately, McDermott has filed legal proceedings against Twitter. Solicitor Phelim O’Neill, who is representing McDermott in these proceedings, declined to comment on the action. Twitter also declined to comment.
Is there a gag-order on the Twitter action?
I actually think that girl should be jailed. She harmed him, harmed countless genuine victims of exploitation
https://www.reddit.com/r/TwoXChromosomes/comments/ounl0a/to_whichever_young_girl_needs_to_see_this_today/
The statement still doesn’t say he didn’t assault her. It says she was over the age of consent (he was 27 at the time) and that other accusations she made were false.
The whole thing is terrible, either way. I can’t fathom how he moves on or what he’ll look to do next.
The only allegation the girl took back in terms of their relationship was that she wasn't above the age of consent.
Also, it's very curious that the letter to his solicitor isn't dated, that the solicitor the letter is sent to is different to the one who is representing him in the Twitter case (despite Paul Tweed being one of the biggest defamation solicitors around) and the fact the solicitor representing the girl in this case wouldn't even verify it to the Irish Times.
He's also allowed her to keep her anonymity instead of reporting it to the guards.
27 years old and having a physical relationship with a 17 year old schoolgirl? It's the height of weird. What would you even talk about? How long were they in a relationship before this?
This isn't the 'win' he thinks it is, from my book. If this raises more questions than it answers then you've done something wrong.
Has the late late appearance with tubs been penciled in yet?
Could be scheduled in the misery slot, such was the expectations of the boy.
Commencement of the comeback tour and reinitiation to the rte woke machine
She was messaged at 16 by a 27 year old, by any definition that's exploitation.
I hate the twat but it's telling that some here are twisting themselves in knots to defend the lying bitch who essentially ruined this man's career.
Maybe he got brain damaged from when he got attacked on a night out in Clondalkin.
Can't stand him & thought that show with garrithy was brutal but none of that matters....... the guy was set up & FRAMED, HE GOT Slaughtered on social media........in fairness to the guy that was a tough hand of cards. I hope the scheming bitch gets her cummuppance & Mc Dermot gets back on his feet & compensation/ if possible
Since there was no trial, he hasn't denied messaging a 16 year old, hasn't denied sleeping with a 17 year old and neither party has denied sexual abuse, what is he innocent of?
The allegations that he slept with someone under the age of consent.