If they have been preparing for this since 2013 then whhy are they doing so poorly? If they have so much money why is their army equipped with such out of date technology? Their comms gear is relying on analogue radio tech which is woefully out of date for a modern war environment and reports are many units are relying on maps and compasses to find where they are going.
Something about that picture just doesn’t look right. Can’t put my finger in it. Maybe the trees in too good condition given the damage to the armour. That’s one that I don’t buy
It’s from Twitter, wouldn’t be relying now on that.
Apparently we have not seen their A-Game/A-Team yet…
The buildings all along that street are levelled mate.
"Before Russian tanks began rolling into Ukraine, alarms went off inside Microsoft’s Threat Intelligence Center, warning of a never-before-seen piece of “wiper” malware that appeared aimed at the country’s government ministries and financial institutions"
https://www.nytimes.com/2022/02/28/us/politics/ukraine-russia-microsoft.html
LOL you mean like the spetsnaz who got captured on day 1/2 wearing Ukrainian uniforms? Are the rest stuck at the back of the convoy or something?
Correct. Russian people won't depose Putin because they think what he is doing is morally wrong. They will depose him as soon as he appears weak.
Notwithstanding the 24h wall to wall propaganda, most Russian citizens have at least an inkling of what's going on in Ukraine or that they're being fed a crock of sh1t. They've lived there all their lives. They know how things work.
The social contract there, is that Putin provides jobs, a strong economy and restores respect for Russia, (MRGA if you will) the people don't get involved in politics or criticise the ruling hierarchy. But if Putin cannot deliver his side of the contract, he will be finished.
It happened yesterday (right?) and there’s no smoke. At all. Im pretty sceptical of this particular story
(oh yeh….and it’s Twitter). If it’s fact checked and appears on the guardian live feed, or similar, it’ll be great news)
We've had these threads for years, stuffed with pro-Putin supporters and anti-Western contrarians, I doubt they've all just magically disappeared..
Your spiel is to get hung up that we don't have perfect and perfectly objective information on the situation, and that global media is generally siding with defender sourced information (which may be exaggerated) vs the invader's information which we know is false by design.
If that's your thing okay, but it comes across as an infantile stamping of the feet. Russia, an anti democratic, anti free-speech, anti-free press autocracy is invading a European country in the 21st century, it's not surprising that e.g. European media is reporting more Ukraine-centric sources.
None of the articles you post contain any evidence of collusion though, do they?
'Collusion', under scrutiny, changes to 'links', and under further scrutiny, changes to nebulous claims that Trump was 'the candidate Russia would have wanted to win'.
Just as 'election tampering' is used to insinuate the successful hacking of voting machines, rather than spamming Facebook.
Or the Chechen "Hard Bastards" and their Fearless Leader incinerated by MLAW/Javelins at the weekend. They were part of this "A-Team" apparently.
My "spiel" is to point out that a lot of the information you and others rely on and parrot as truth is often not. And it seems to greatly offend people to point out that they've been hoodwinked by misinfo. I guess it's easier to believe that there are Putinbots out to get you than you might be being lied to sometimes by the media and twitter.
Wait till mark McCabe gets a hold of it........ Coppers will be lit when this belts out 😁
Photo is legit, but could have been abandoned by Russians/out of fuel and the Ukrainians put them out of commission by lighting them up. There's no denying that Russia is losing a lot of gear. The amount of photos are overwhelming now.
They've been preparing the economic resilience of the country, not the actual war/battle.
They've been expecting these sanctions and they will be fine due to oil and gas exports.
You hear of ATM queues and interest rate doubling to 20% in Russia, but what's the real impact? nothing...
I'm wondering this as well. The fact that Russian troops are running out of fuel, getting stuck in the mud, abandoning vehicles points in one direction - poor planning. Usually Putin is very shrewd, everything is part of a carefully calculated plan, he has constantly out-maneuvered his opponents, but maybe that's what he is best at, small-scale conflicts, subterfuge, misdirection, targeted attacks, murders. He's a KGB man after all.
But in terms of a grand military action? Unless this is some extraordinary ruse or smokescreen, then it's plain Russia is struggling
Did that son of a bitch even make it out of the airport? LOL. The Chechens made propaganda videos of them 'marching in' to Ukraine, then got lit up as soon as they landed.
Same. Are we sure it's Russian armor? I'd need to see other angles/video of it
It could come down to just general incompetence amongst the Military leadership. That and maybe money that was allocated to the military budget has been siphoned off through corruption.
Could it be a ruse or feint? Possibly. Maybe Putin is willing to sacrifice thousands of men and hundreds of pieces of equipment to gauge the resistance and fighting capabilities of the Ukrainians.
But surely they know that by now and should be adjusting their strategy.
No they tipp into the local Hilton every evening for steaks and cocktails followed by an executive suite.
They have the genius on bookings now
Russia have been conducting cyber attacks on Ukraine for years. Every analysis I have read of those past attacks suggested that they were holding back. They would gain a foothold on a system, probe it, then cause some damage and step back. Although they brought down the power grid in a number of cities, multiples times, there was a sense that they could wreaked more damage if they wanted. I should note it took some time before we had an accurate understanding of those attacks, for articles etc to be written by people with first-hand knowledge.
There is not enough reliable information coming out of Ukraine to know - yet - exactly what has occurred in terms of cyber attacks. However most expert analysts are surprised how little the Russians have done.
If I was a Ukrainian, I would surrender now.
Live to fight another day.
They toppled the Pro Russian government once 8 years ago, they can do it again.
The more resistance that's put up, the more they'll bomb. The country will just be in rubble.
Reports of Ukrainians launching anti-ship cruise missile at Russian war ship. If they got a hit, this would be pretty big.
Yeah, that would get their attention all right....I remember seeing a version of the AK47, ( not sure what it was called) longer barrel and square magazine. It had different colored bullets loaded, and it's owner ( APC commander ) explained that the different colors indicated which were armor piercing. These ones could pierce an APC, and then bounce around inside causing many injury's.
Russia didn't even want Ukraine to take part in the Minsk agreements they want france and America to make a deal with Russia ,
Russia broke all the Minsk 1 agreements and did the exact same in Minsk 2 ,one of the parts of the agreements ,was before any political discussions would take place Russian forces and foreign mercenaries would leave eastern Ukraine ,and ukraine would take control of their whole border , Russian forces increased in Ukraine as did heavy artillery and other Russian weapons which Russia agreed to withdraw , Russia regularly launched attacks against ukraine from inside Russia yet there was never Any evidence ukraine hit Russia.
Your posting utter nonsense
Yeh 100 percent agree. There is an awful lot of shite going around at the moment. The amount of lads on boards who were experts in covid are now experts in military strategy and weaponry.
You know when you hear someone saying " I was talking to a mate of mine in the estonian army" they are talking to bollix.
There's one thing very clear from your posts, you are NOT Ukranian !