That is not quite true. I regularly shop online with Russian sellers and all I can say is feck AnPost.
Me bride was supposed to arrive last week but got stuck in a sorting centre somewhere.
Let's hope she's not punctured when she arrives.
3.5trillion GDP. means at over 2% of GDP a sum of €70 billion per year on defence spending and you are calling it a "gesture".
I provide the figures above just to fact-check you for the benefit of others on thread and they can draw their own conclusions as to your credibility.
All can see it is mean-spirited xenophobic comment but some might actually assign some credibility to it in absence of a data source.
On a GDP per capita basis it makes the U.K. spending which you take as an example look miserly.
https://de.statista.com/themen/26/bip/#topicHeader__wrapper
Gigantic protest against the Ukraine invasion in Berlin right now.
Sometimes it's a kind of semi-conscious propaganda. In Vietnam, where the "body count" was often the primary success metric, a squad leader might report two dead NVA after a firefight. The platoon commander might reason that there were probably more and make it four. The company commander adds a bit more so he looks good to the battalion commander. By the time the total reached MACV in Saigon it could be an entire NVA company that had been wiped out.
With UK out of the EU the only military force is the French. The EU is weak and Putin knows it but you can't attack the EU without attacking NATO.
Even in Soviet times the Russians despised Ukraine and treated it as a region that would dutifully deliver resources to the USSR. They don't care as they maintain the belief that the sheer might of the Soviet and now Russian army could crush anything. They still actively despise many of their neighbours and would welcome opportunities to meddle.
I see that as the most likely outcome that is if Putin is stable, many indications that he may not be and if so anything could happen yet.
Actually it doesn't. It some ways it was easier to buy Russian made stuff in the 70's and 80's. My dad bought a Russian radio, Lada were a thing for a while and even Sekonda watches were popular. It's the largest country on earth, with 145 milllion people and quite a history of technological innovation, but has a smaller economy than Italy. It was hijacked by bully boys after communism fell, Putin took over and reduced things down to his bully boys, but they continued to milk the Russian people to line their own pockets while telling them they'd cleaned things up. If history had been different and they'd got a good leader instead of a drunk like Yeltsin, someone who brought them closer to Europe, they could have had a fair go at rivaling a local China for manufacturing. Instead they've got a broken down dirt poor outside the Moscuvite rich and one of the lowest life expectancies for men on the planet. There's a reason why some look back with some misplaced fondness at the Soviet era.
There is also the point that they can't really do that to the same extent when they are attacking civilians and telling their own people they aren't. It would be a good look for them to exaggerate and say they'd killed 100 kids in a cancer hospital rather than one
(Serious point. Some of my posts are tongue-in-cheek but I'm not joking here)
It was a pun. Well I’ve handed back my starlink cause the box kept losing the link constantly and it was very frustrating having to snyc the devices ten times a day. Satellite signal was fine it’s the box tween you and satellite is the problem.
lol, this is gonna go down as the everyone is a nazi war.
Governor of Kharkiv claims they have repelled the Russians.
Ukrainians apparently regained control of Kharkov - the second biggest city in Ukraine.
Danish store chain Netto is removing Russian and Belorussian products from the shops. It will also affect Føtex and Bilka (same owner). Similar boycott is well underway in Estonia
The Russians certainly have cruise missiles and have been using them - called the Kalibr:
You can edit a post by clicking on the 3 dots to the right of the post number.
That info from an Oligarch meeting in a secret Fuhrerbunker in the Urals which is leaked to an Ukrainian officer doesn't exactly sound realistic. So I wouldn't jump to any conclusions about Russian arms supplies based on that.
I said it in another post here. These people are Useful Idiots who would be first up against the wall in Putin's Russia when they realised how truly fucked that country is, and they started complaining about it.
This is interesting if true
Huge numbers protesting in Tiergarten Park - great to see.
Fair play to the polish lads just on sky news.
One thing is for sure is that it has exposed the 'soviet' bootlickers for what they are.
It is running from Victory column all the way to the Brandenburg gate.
the attack on Kiev is just a sideshow, Moscow does not intend to occupy Kiev but just to take the attention off the land grab to the East until such a time where they take all of the south and east and divide the country along the Dnieper river
I believe that was an unguided Multiple Launch Rocket , with at least one family killed in their beds and children with their legs torn open. Russia only has an economy about the size of Italy in GDP terms, precision munitions are expensive so they like unguided crude weapons because they literally don't care about civillians, only their ultimate aims.
Yep, Germans
...simultaneously castigated for not doing enough as regards European defence or supporting Ukraine...yet can't ever be trusted to spend more improving their military (in light of onging changes in Europe/the wider world) in case the inner "Nazi" suddenly comes surging out. What a load of horse-****.
I don't fully understant the language, but the guy says something like "Powerful Russian Army... [Vulgar, counterpart of fcuk you, but involves "your mother"]... they got stuct in mud"
It took a few days but are we finally seeing the battle lines drawn on which team up north supports who?
(Most built on the element that the other crowd are cheering for X)
I think it will probably be decided on what match attending Scottish football fans will choose and they'll go along with that 😆
If true. Putin is still bullshiting the Russian people as to the true nature of what’s happening in Ukraine and where it is there.