In what way?Gas can be replaced and taken from others?
He's not going to stop unless he's put down
Another thing from the last few days is that there's been a good reminder of how nutty much of the left is. Usually they just seem like harmless eejits but we're seeing how useless they would be in any kind of a crisis and how they can't change their mind on something no matter how the evidence is stacked up. Bit like
We do need a european army that is very clear. But we as a people do not know war and until europe gets deeper into this and its at our door it will be resisted
I lost count of the eye rolls.
You just can't help yourself. All posters are idiots, except yourself of course.
No doubt but the reality is if you push Russia too far you risk potentially massive escalating way beyond Ukraine. It's a balance. Hit them just hard enough to get them to stop the invasion and go home.
In all fairness, there is tremendous pressure on him to toe the party line. He may have family in Russia and they could be imprisoned if he says the wrong thing. I feel sorry for him.
Not sure I'd posted before...
Ukrainian soldier blows himself up, in order to destroy a bridge before it was captured.
(Aftermath)
Doesnt matter russians have no right to be doing what they are doing. It wont stop in Ukraine either. Europe has proven to be toothless.
Lash out? They've violated the sovereignty of another country. Putin has no regard for his citizens or anyone else's. The sanctions are a lesser evil than war but Putin was the one who elicited both.
The Russian state is an authoritarian abomination that's bent on annexing land because some sad old man can't get over the breakup of the Soviet Union. The West should absolutely be standing up for freedom and democracy.
Pathetic post. Not a time for point scoring.
Some lad from the Political Institute in Moscow on BBC News Channel reckons the Ukrainians are mostly delighted to be liberated from the Nazis.
I'm waiting for a journalist to tell them to go and **** themselves at some point tbh.
Out of the OECD now too seemingly
Well Nordstream 2 is future gas. There's heavy links between Germany and Russia still, cutting off Swift would likely cause far bigger damage to Germany than anyone else in Europe.
They may be worried about pushing the Russians too far as well as obviously economic impact on them.
The rest of the world are entitled to sanction Russia, and should, but when do sanctions actually be seen as aggression in itself and a real threat to the Russian state?
They may lash out if the west goes too far.
Interesting interview on channel 4 with Kira Rudyk (Ukranian MP) a lot of discussion about her being given a gun.
She said 20k guns with the resistance in Kiev.
Extremely brave, they will not give up their country without a fight.
Also people can laugh about sport but I can guarantee you Putin (and his mates) are more concerned about the Grand Prix and Champions League final than they are about an extra few thousand dead Russian soldiers or any number of dead Ukrainian civilians.
I certainly think we should end our official neutrality. Lets face it we are not really neutral anyway. I can see this Russian invasion pushing onto the agenda the idea of some form of an EU defense force and I could certainly see us joining that. Maybe in more of a niche role as obviously its not like we can offer anything large military wise. But maybe as an island we focus on significantly upgraded naval capabilities for example.
What's weird is that the Germans sacrificed NordStream 2 but then dithered over Johnson's plan to kick the Russians out of the Swift system. Merkel dithered over Russia but Scholz looks more steadfast thankfully.
Personally I think it's very good that Russia is being stripped of so many sporting and other events. Putin can control the narrative in the media, but they won't be able to hide the fact that Russia has been ousted from big worldwide sporting and cultural events, it will be impossible for normal Russians not to pick up on the subtext of all that, yes I am sure the Kremlin will try to spin it, but I don't think they'll be able to hide the obvious
That got spicy
And Trudeau hiding from a few truckers
A rabid Brexiteer, that is the answer. Would be ironic if he/she lives in exile among the benighted natives here.
Was just Ireland's turn for it, usually it is the French and Germans who get it in the neck from @brickster69, and of course the EU.
He/she seems to think if things go badly across the channel Britain will be just fine in its Splendid Isolation even though it is not the 19th C any more. For some reason he/she seems to hope for this outcome with several posts talking up the disunity in the West and NATO collapsing into chaos very soon on this thread.
Unless they plan on full biological warfare,it seems like they are short on staff for bullet wounds and trauma
There is another video from the opposite angle showing a truck being ambushed by Ukrainian forces right before that crash too,supposedly russians in disguise
I'd imagine Poland is full of advisors right now.
Bunch of carmakers have just suspended car shipments to Russia.
In all honesty aside from Hungary (obviously) and a couple of other pissants the response has been pretty much as strong as it could be. Italy are **** pathetic (I'm sure someone will be along to explain that cutting off multiple thousand euro handbags and suits would decimate their economy but w/e) and Germany need to accept that sometimes treating a scumbag like a friend just doesn't work. They'd been integrating as much as possible with Russia to try and get them a bit subdued but it hasn't worked. Just hope they can see that for future plans and policies.
Ukrainian leadership staying in Kiev, come what may. To think this man was a comedian a few short years ago.