Shao Kahn threadbanned
Totally irresponsible response from the French Minister.
Putin's comments are extreme; there's no need to escalate that by mirroring words of extremism.
That or down a hole like Saddam with a mars bar would love to see it
Exactly why he couldn't give a toss.
No. What people don't want to confront is the fact that right and wrong are found in all of us, and by extension in all our armies, all our societies, etc. Much easier to devolve into some over-excited absolutism in which one group is entirely good and the other entirely bad. World isn't like that. Language like 'friends' and 'enemies' doesn't help either. But even at that, in any given situation a party can still be more wrong than right, and vice versa.
I think a lot of the discourse that people produce depends on how people view themselves and what role they might have in an actual conflict, so we have armchair generals, armchair grunts, armchair propagandists, armchair peacemakers, armchair mopper-uppers. I'm a mopper-upper (paramedic experience), so I view it from that level. And at that level, there is less right and wrong and more just broken bodies and ruined lives, no matter what uniform they wear.
At the end of the day, for all the excited prose issuing forth from the boreens of Ireland, unless you're out there fighting or providing humanitarian relief it's all grandiose moral gesturing that actually means f*ck all, including this post.
Didn’t think it was sincere ? Ah here. So is Ming Flanagan is the tonight show ?
Just out of curiosity. Does your fiddle play any other tune?
That Ming one is a feckin clown...who looks at him and thinks yeah he gets my vote. He is calling for them to be cut off from SWIFT among other things....he voted against a motion that called to do it about 4 months ago....ffs...
He's reminding Putins a key fact Nato has nuclear weapons.
Can't keep backing down he has to know he faces total annihilation too
The people and companies that have Putin in power will give a toss. They are the target of the sanctions.
Perhaps, but I'd like to think Putin knows about these matters already.
What's needed is words of de-escalation of this wave of the conflict.
Well, it looks as if the attack force at Hostomel Airfield was almost competely eliminated. The battles around Kharkiv and Sumy seem like something out of WW2 with their intensity, so the casualty figures there will likely be equally eyewatering. If the Ukrainian forces concentrate on APCs and other transports and avoid open field battles, then I can easily see them inflicting some stunning casualties, especially if Russia went in expecting a walkover...
in fairness to him he says he was wrong and they should be taken out of it now. There are plenty in Europe who still don’t want them taken out of swift.
❗️Reports from Ukrainian defence officials that a Russian bombing raid will hit Kyiv at 3AM. Heading to shelter.
Tweet from Neil Hauer
What is the purpose of De-escalation?
Putin chose military intervention over diplomacy because diplomacy could never deliver on his objective, so following the global historical norm he decided to attack.
It's only in the last 30 years in human history that the use of military means was not the foremost option and that was largely down to Western military projection.
I think I hate Wallace the most. a man who was the very epitome of celtic tiger capitalist greed who once owned 76 properties, a vinyard in italy and had a salary of over 250,000 who reinvented himself as some kind of scruffy left wing hero after leaving behind 10s of millions of unpaid debt. a left wing tourist.
There's been sanctions since 2014.
I think you're being unduly hopeful
Just caught him saying that and in fairness he did say he was wrong so what about the three others Irish MEPs ?
It seems like Putin is untouchable right now but the likes of Ceausescu and Gaddafi appeared the same and look what happened to them.
Yeah, but it seems Finland and Sweden were invited, because they want to hear that they still have the option to apply for NATO membership, should they want to.
Sweden's prime minister said today Sweden isn't going to join. Finland isn't officially planning to either, but wants the door to be kept open ("in case").
I think the opposite.
Western leaders have tried the talky talky reasonable approach and been treated with contempt.
I assume they'd want NATO to police. It's a non runner unfortunately.
Hundreds of thousands?
Guardian quoting Anthony Blinken
Secretary of State Tony Blinken said that “all evidence suggests that Russia intends to encircle and threaten Kyiv”.
“We believe Moscow has developed plans to inflict widespread human rights abuses – and potentially worse – on the Ukrainian people,” he said in remarks to a meeting of the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE).
https://www.theguardian.com/world/live/2022/feb/24/russia-invades-ukraine-declares-war-latest-news-live-updates-russian-invasion-vladimir-putin-explosions-bombing-kyiv-kharkiv
I didn't see him say that...do you have a direct quote..he said "he didn't think they were sincere"...which is nonsense.
He said he was wrong and the panel rightly called him on it.
It's all going to backfire on Putin/Russia in the long run...more likely to push countries to join NATO in the future imo
What are good twitter accounts to follow ongoing developments.
Tks
Absolutely. Putin is the best spokesperson for NATO membership.