"Green" policies are destroying this country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,212 ✭✭✭eggy81

That’s a jack hammer.

probably using a compressor ran off a generator

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,173 ✭✭✭RandomViewer

Think it's time, in the interests of equality that cyclists bring something to the pot, any cyclist over 16 should have to complete a proficiency test every 3-5 years, say €50, they'd be given a card(licence) which they'd need to carry while cycling, Helmets and hi-vis to become mandatory and any cyclist involved in an incident without either is automatically liable. Maybe putting the number on the back of the hi-vis to be used in dash cam evidence is also an idea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,012 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

I doubt it. The Judiciary determined there effectively is no constitution and the government can do whatever it likes, under Covid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,979 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

He's not wrong, especially with the increasing popularity of electric scooters, some of which are as powerful as a small motorbike - this was mentioned on the radio the other day in reference to the scrapping of an age limit for purchasing such things because they didn't think it could be enforced (eh??)

It's ridiculous that anyone, of any age can go buy one of these and take to the roads with no training, no experience, no insurance or identification, and jump on and off pavements, weave between heavy traffic and yet contribute nothing or have no liability in the event they hit someone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,049 ✭✭✭Mecanudo

I reckon you're not seeing the full picture there. Carbon taxes are placed on both energy production and use and are a significant component of rocketing fuel prices.

Under EU regulations energy supply companies companies ard obliged to buy allowances to cover their carbon emissions, which places extra costs on fossil fuels currently amounting to just under 100 euros per tonne CO2 produced. Companies also face a fine if they emit more CO2 than they have covered by emission allowances, with a fine is 100 euros per excess tonne.

And because renewable energy supply is so unreliable, most EU countries still rely on fossil fuels to meet all their power demands. So as gas and other fossil fuels become more expensive due to demand, supply and carbon taxation, electricity bills inevitably go up and will keep going up as long as the crazy EU marginal price system where electricity costs are linked to the most expensive fuel used.

What you're referring to is local carbon taxation where carbon taxes are applied to usage. So if you use home heating oil, you're paying around €65 per fill towards the carbon tax (for a 900-litre tank). The carbon tax for coal currently comes in at about €2.88 per 40kg bag. Peat briquettes are charged at around 60 cents extra per bale. The average motorist faces extra costs of approx €100 annually with all these costs set to rise over the next decade.

In 2010 carbon taxes was first introduced here starting at €15 per tonne of CO2 and have now risen €41.00 per tonne with further increases planned with carbon tax to reach €100 per tonne of CO2 by 2030.

And none of that is going to make anyone happy regardless

Post edited by Mecanudo on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,807 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

I did laugh at the texters on Newstalk claiming they have to regularly "dive" out of the way of scooters and that they have caused so many "potential" accidents.

The call for insurance and licenses for cycling is usually coming from the frustrated motorists sitting in traffic who can't stand the thought of someone on a bike going faster than them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭GandhiwasfromBallyfermot

E-scooters are still illegal to use on roads in Ireland so thats a matter of enforcement for the Gardai. Regarding bikes and e-bikes (which are legal once limited to 25kph). How many people per year do they kill compared to cars? How much infrastructural damage do they cause per year compared to cars?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,514 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

He's not wrong? So you think all people who use bikes should have a helmet and high vis and have a visible registration on their high vis and have a reg plate on their bike? Even 5 year olds?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭GandhiwasfromBallyfermot

All motorists should have to wear helmets and paint their car high viz

Exactly. They don't hurt anyone if the lack of reports in the news are anything to go by. There are something like 150,000 uninsured motorists driving around Ireland and people only seem to rant and rave about bikes and scooters not being insured or taxed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,807 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Imagine when we're trying to encourage people to reduce energy consumption and pollution, you have lads trying to disincentive cycling with mad nonsense like registration, licenses, insurance and mandatory hi-viz etc. In reality the government should be buying an ebike for any adult who wants one and it would be a huge step forward. We throw €5k at people who want a ecar but there's no support for an ebike purchase besides the Bike to Work scheme which is only open to employees, and only then if your employer takes part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,189 ✭✭✭saabsaab

Forget happy. The coming Russian war will make fossil fuels way more expensive our best bet is to massively increase and develop our renewables.

And on a windless overcast day everything stops working?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,226 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

I often wonder how the fook you continously get away with calling people "morons" and the like?

And you do it quite a bit if I recall correctly.

Would you mind passing on those compromising pics of the moderators. Why oh why does The Gentlemen come into my head. 😲

Then again maybe it is because you argue for one particular side ?

Anytime I open my mouth and say anything anywhere near that I am hit with infraction for being either argumentative or not arguing in the lovey dovey spirit of boards.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,049 ✭✭✭Mecanudo

The main trouble with renewables as we have seen this winter across Europe is that they are massively unreliable. Plus electricity prices across the EU are linked to the most expensive fuel used. So whether we have to use 1% or 100% natural gas, regardless of how much or little renewables are thrown into the mix, our electricity will remain priced as if all of it was generated using natural gas.

In the short term we need to concentrate on using our own gas reserves and or imports from the US and that includes removing the stupid prohibition put on that by the greens who have effectively binned all gas exploration in Ireland and its territorial waters.

Not to mention the continued boot in the bollocks when it comes to gas supply and infrastructure.

https://m.independent.ie/business/world/ireland-to-miss-out-on-us-plan-to-supply-eu-with-gas-because-we-dont-have-a-terminal-41289645.html

https://www.farmersjournal.ie/green-party-introduce-bill-to-ban-lng-terminal-as-gas-prices-surge-680574

I reported him for racism before and nothing happened , he's really anti-Chinese

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Nermal

We'll see. You are right that the ratchet is being steadily turned, in the West at least.

But people don't like falling living standards - regardless of what's on TV.

How do people think we can keep consuming and polluting and living the way we are on a finite planet though? Surely it's obvious we all need to consume less, use less power etc.? That's what I can't understand. We either change or it's war and food shortages and all kinds of bedlam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,211 ✭✭✭opinionated3

I wouldn't worry too much about disincentivisation if I was you...... The pissing rain is enough for most people to realise cycling to work is a non starter

We're overpopulated. Maybe bring less kids into the world?

It would help but I mean you could halve the world population and if we continued living as we are we'd be goosed in no time anyway. I often find overpopulation used as an excuse by people who are not willing to make any changes at all, it's a lazy panacea for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,983 ✭✭✭?Cee?view

It's clear that you believe this. Can you explain how it is the case, and how you've come to believe this please?

It's not at all obvious to me that we need to consume less, use less power etc? You may find this hard to believe, but I'm not clear that there is evidence to suggest the opposite.

Couldn't be bothered, if you can't figure out why humanity and the planet is in serious trouble on our current trajectory then it's just not worth it.

As I suspected. You can't. You believe the hysteria and rely on some carefully chosen "facts" to cement your belief.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,189 ✭✭✭saabsaab

The more we have of renewables the less we need fossil fuels. Very few days here that there is no wind off the coasts. Solar will still work in overcast conditions. Development of energy storage such as pumped water or giant batteries (as in Australia) must also be done here. We will have little choice when war stops our fossil fuel supplies from abroad.

so you think we can keep destroying and polluting every last inch of the natural world so that we can consume more and more, and there'll be no consequences or what? the earth is our life support machine and we're doing our best to break it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,727 ✭✭✭Mr. teddywinkles

Well if the greens really cared. Maybe go after the deforestation of the Amazon for a start. Being cut down and burned at an increased rate.

Mostly due to meat production demand by the eu.

But hey its grand.

Your question is a false dilemma. We are not "destroying and polluting every last inch of the natural world". That's just nonsense. We need to continue to promote prosperity and positive development and that can't be done by taxing so called polluting industries and simply replacing them with the latest green fad.

Why are "developing countries" the most polluting? Is it related to widespread poverty in those countries?

Why has the entire continent of Africa only got one nuclear power station? Is there overreliance on coal on that entire continent due to the Green agenda to push wind and solar to the exclusion of everything else?

Why are celebrities and Greens obsessed with the Amazon? - you were going to get to it with the "every inch" comment. Take a look at what a quick google pops up https://www.forbes.com/sites/michaelshellenberger/2019/08/26/why-everything-they-say-about-the-amazon-including-that-its-the-lungs-of-the-world-is-wrong/?sh=16d5cd865bde

In short, how is suppressing the development of prosperity amongst others (the reality to the "consuming less" mantra), going to save the earth?

On the contrary, I find plenty of people willing to get on board. They're just not willing to pile debt onto themselves for the rest of their lives. It's just unrealistic except for the rich. Why can't the greens accept that point?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 703 ✭✭✭US3

In 5 years time, 75% of all Irelands electricity will be used by data centres.