Soon, the majority will realise that these kind of things are done on purpose to get people out of their cars. These politicians are purposely reducing standards of living.
It doesn't matter whether there are alternatives or not, the aim is to annoy as many road users as possible to stop them using their cars. There's no specific group for car users and transport is the easiest way to reduce emissions to appease the Brussels overlords.
I don't know why the greens hate cars so much considering we'll all be driving new EVs in a few years, Skoda Rabbits and Seat Sybians etc.
How does a pedestrian crossing, which has installed in Gort to make it safer for hundreds of students attending a nearby secondary school, get people out of their cars?
How does it reduce the standard of living?
It doesn't matter whether there are alternatives or not, the aim is to annoy as many road users as possible to stop them using their cars.
I wonder does the opposite hold true? Does installing traffic control measures such as this, reduce the annoyance for pedestrians and thereby encourage them to walk more?
According to the article up to 3 minutes queuing time was observed, if that's an impact to people's life for the safety of children then there is no hope!
I think generally think people in Galway want to work together... The out of towner Council Executive are truly terrible, these are meant to be the professionals, Galway has been badly served by them for the last few decades and it doesn't seem to change...
I think it's time to end the thread.
I wonder how successful the appeals will be for this, not very I'm guessing
Oh I am so gonna get caught for speeding on this road now. It's so wide and fairly straight that it's just so easy to go 100km/h which I'm pretty sure it was years and years ago. Now this road could do with a two way protected cycleway, the greenway seems like it's years off.
Was it a GoSafe van or a garda check?
Classic gombeen politics in action
Cheevers is right... If that road is at 50km/h it is a speed trap... It is a wide road which endangers no one going at 80km/h... Oranmore is not part of Galway, this is a joke
Cheevers needn't plead innocence on this one.
Speed limits are enacted by means of a bye-law. Bye-laws are themselves a reserved function of the Councillors to vote in, or not. And 90% of that route out to Oranmore falls under his electoral area of City East. So, he would absolutely have been aware of the change coming in, even if he himself didn't vote for it, (maybe he did, I don't know)
Yes, it's common enough practice to post some advanced notification of upcoming speed limit changes on a route, but that's not really the point. The point is, the default limit on a rural Regional Road is 80 km/h. I don't see any justification for reducing it to 50 along the whole length as far as Merlin Park. That's a complete joke and needs to he reversed. Wonder if Councillor Cheevers will set the ball rolling.
Seeing as there are 2 , "dó", "two" dual Carraigeways parallel to it, yes this should have been done once the M6/N6 was opened + would design the speeding out of the road if the carraigeway was repurposed with footpaths and a two way cycle-way.
I agree, prime opportunity to make this road much safer and visually a lot nicer. They should narrow the lanes, put in nice wide footpaths, two way cycleway, lights all the way. Could really open up the area for residential especially with the train station there too. I've no idea if the place is zoned for housing or not but every year it seems that the gap between Oranmore and Roscam is closing.
I agree with you... This should have been the reason to put in this type of stuff... Then the 30km/h limit makes more sense... The road would be narrower and thus makes sense, this again looks like incompetence by the Executive... There is no real objection from the car community on giving in a proper cycle lane and foot path here...
This is why we build big roads, we should then use the old routes to enable alternative modes of transport...
It's worse than that. The limit here was always 50km/h as it is with the Galway City Council Boundaries and therefore defaults to the urban limit of 50km/h unless otherwise set by bye-law. The City Council had put in the wrong signs and this came to light when the Councillors were to vote on new speed limit provisions in 2020. The main changes were to make the core city centre 30km/h and Bothar na dTreabh 80km/h, among some other changes, but the Council Executive also tried to slip in increases to match the signs where they had made mistakes, rather than correcting the signs to match the limits, but wouldn't acknowledge it. The Councillors voted against the motion and then the Council Executive eventually got around to correcting the signs recently.
This was covered quite a few times in the local papers as well, and even on national radio, so all Councillors should be aware of the history.
I blame the lack of consultation
Wow. Well I must say, that does sound like absolute par for the course for this Executive of the City Council, particularly regarding the management of roads and traffic.
Are they badly under-resourced or something? If so, we've got spare p****s aplenty in Dublin City Traffic, who seem to make up schemes with the express intention of making miserable as many road users as possible, we'd be happy to send you some.
It is amazing that the guys who are meant to be the professional body of the council are so incompetent... Find it hard for them to admit fault...
By the way we can fire the CEO of the Executive with a Two Thirds Majority... Must be very tempting
It is bad management... Straight up... Admitting mistakes and explaining what happens is basic management 101... Draw lines under things and move on... Look at the Kirwan Traffic light system, when did they admit fault...
It is a culture in all these bodies... Never admit mistake, just shut up until you can get away with it...
Let litany of screw ups be a guide.. Where do they get these people and when they screw up really badly they moved off and seems we get a someone who screwed up somewhere else.. So the merry go round has stopped with us and our transport in the city is up to a man from Tipperary and one from Cork
When you say "we" can fire him...?
Yes there is incompetence, but where the individuals come from has absolutely zero to do with it. The Dublin local authorities have senior staff from all over the Country and all over the World and so long as they're competent and apply the legislation under which they operate without fear or favour, who cares if they're from Mars.
Certainly a small city like Galway won't ever get a fully native staff anywhere, be it the hospitals or the Guards or the City Council.
There are definitely issues with under-resourcing in the council. For example, they have funding available for 22 staff for active travel related projects but I'm not aware of a single person hired in the 12 months since the funding was announced
The story through the grapevine on that is that they Council HR department is under resourced so they haven't been able to run a hiring process for the active travel staff..................................
It is national policy that these managers are moved around the country... We never get a City Manager appointed in Galway, they are appointed and moved around by the Dept of Environment...
I remeber saying it to a guy in one of the political parties out of Dublin and he said we don't want to have local councillors dismissing city managers and hiring there own one (interviews and all)... That would leave too much power with the locals... Had no problem saying that...
Out of principle I would have at least interview in front of the Council before getting the job... I want our executive to work for the people we elect.. Have that as a start, we have at least some control that way...
Good. 22 people to dream up a few cycle lanes. Insanity!
Sigh, active travel funding covers waking, cycling and buses.
What's active about buses?
2.05am! You need to put away the screens and get some sleep
You'd have to ask the powers that be, that question
That article reads like something out of Waterford Whispers. Is there something in the water when it comes to Galway and cars? Plenty of the councils in my neck of the woods (Dublin) don't exactly cover themselves in glory with their active travel strategies but Galway county and city councils are on a level of stupid of their own.
The Galway Cycling Campaign highlighting issues in the county's towns
Just heard on Radio1, there is a 5km traffic jam out the N83 towards Tuam. What is going on?
Galway is different, caller.