RTE Investigates have some great programmes. Tonights looks great!
I saw those names on the company director details but wouldn't have connected the mysterious Damien fella 😉
🤣🤣🤣🤣 I thought you might be struggling with all those quotes attached 😏
That’s probably the simplest and easiest way for people to have found out about this fraudster. You don’t need to know how to read a set of accounts- a simple google would have given you everything you need to know.
saying that I’m not going to criticise her victims- people who are in major debt are very vulnerable - it’s similar to relationship fraud really and it’s all a numbers game- how many people did she actually approach or her “barrister” friend approach. We heard of 18 victims yesterday but there may well be more and also many dozens who refrained from participating in her evil scheme.
She won’t be able to walk down an Irish street anymore without abuse hurled at her- and too right.
Yes indeed as I said above, there’s at least 18 victims but how many lucky people escaped her clutches
Where is she living?
Well well , more and more intriguing 🤔
Note the last line in Bold.
In fairness they clearly had time on their hands after their business dissolved 🙄
I’m looking for a fat ugly window fitter, Wexford area- anyone have any recommendations?
If your looking for Mortage advice thrown in, I can point you in the right direction, so to speak 😆
€500,000 that we know of from the programme scammed. Yes, she has a flash car, but where has all the money gone I wonder?
People who are drowning will clutch at the most unlikely of straws. This parasite & her accomplices targeted people on their knees & offered them a lifeline. I’m guessing the barrister who put the victims in touch with this wagon scoured the 4 Courts, seeking out people in court for non payment of mortgages, then swooped in & offered them an answer to their prayers. No wonder people fell for it. Drowning people will clutch at the most unlikely of straws.
There is a special place in hell reserved for this bitch & her accomplices.
Is that person insinuating that the "Ciara" person was involved? And that the Ciara person is now saying they were the one who notified the guards about Carey?
Hmmmm....just after looking that Ciara person is a lawyer....wonder if she's the solicitor who put people in contact with carey?
Almost 100% sure they didn't. Sure they kept thinking that their mortgage was sold to Carey in 2019 so no chance they continued to pay the "old" lender if they thought they didn't own the mortgage anymore.
Haven't read the whole thread, so apologies for that.
I'm unclear on how she made contact with the people.
The programme said at least one got a phone call from 'a barrister' (was this the window solicitor?).
Carey must have had contacts that put her on to people who would be amenable to/desperate enough to fall for the scam.
I had never heard of Start mortgages, yet two of the people covered were with them.
Is someone in Start involved in all this?
A lot of these financial advisors are scammers with a plausible title . A lad up our way took the local Doctor for big money but the Doc was a tough one and went after him he got his money back but a lot of people didnt, a local girl gave him 30 K her savings for a house and he didnt give it back. He is back in the same horsey society now and people have forgotten except the small people whom he stroked they are at a loss and no where to go . There is no real punishment for the frauds they commit. White collar crime is more acceptable in Irish society.
As to spending 500k Its easily spent on handbags cars ritzy holidays and shoes. Shoes can be a grand a pair as to handbags 20,000 if you are really vain and jewellery very easy to hide money in diamond rings and watches.
In a post a while ago someone posted a link to an "interesting facebook post". It was someone who tagged a woman named Ciara and the post said this is the woman (Carey) that you were working with.
In the comments there seems to be signs that this Ciara person is now claiming that she was the one who first notified the guards about Carey. But the comments seem to indicate that this Ciara person was in contact with people, not answering questions, accusing clients of being repetitive and threatening that they have contacts in revenue that can speed up evictions.
I'm wondering if this Ciara person is the person that put the people in contact with Carey. The facebook page shows her as a lawyer..
Unfortunately she will probably be able to walk down any street in ireland . We dont deal very well with fraud
I would imagine there is a lot more involved in this than 500g .
Don't forget the intrepid, mysterious Barrister who "Recommended " the delightful Catriona 😏
A "straight talking lawyer " ,
Of course they did they thought they were getting one over on the banks and they didn't give a sh1t about how she was going to do it. They wanted to avoid the responsibility for their own actions no one forced them to take out those loans.
Catriona Carey should absolutely be prosecuted and jailed for what she has done it's theft and fraud plain and simple but these were not innocent victims far from it they should have used their massive deposits to pay off their existing debts.
Miss Patrick Maher is a name listed on UK companies house too. I just can’t remember which company. Coukd be the Iris one
I could be wrong but I suspect most caught up in this debacle weren't actually trying to get one over on the banks (Although I have my suspicions about one or two ), this Vile fraudster essentially told them, she'd buy their homes from the banks (laughable, admittedly) and sell it back to them at a discount or reduced interest, payments etc. Some were desperate. Of course the bit they obviously didn't cop on to, apart from the absurdity of it all, how did they intend to finance a buy back if they were already in serious financial pressure 🤔
The Ciara one was an employee of one of the other companies I mentioned. I googled her and she’s a lawyer “who will train people to represent themselves” She untagged herself from that Facebook comment and folks now thinking was she involved in it all.
And I wouldn't even give her a kick in a stampede 😋
But sounds like she is involved in it all, no?
It was probably her (Carey). 😀
I feel sorry for the woman in Cork and to an extent the fella in Dublin but I think the rest were chancers trying to avoid their responsibilities.
Yes some genuinely very sad stories and some definitely, very questionable 😕
I strongly suspect that one of the cases last night was trying to get one over on the banks. Several holes in the story they gave.
I saw it on the English one 😏
I'm not doubting that at all, particularly the 2 €60k cases , interesting they kept their identity hidden , if I recall .
There's also a possibility Catriona might have messed with some , shall we say, colourful characters, so to speak 😏
You love that emoji!! 🤣