Following on from
this thread
Please remain civil or posting privileges will be removed
Cost of living increases will see a sizeable rise in unemployment, evictions and debt arrears, do The Greens and FF want to risk that. Banks still aren't safe and any little hiccup would send them straight back with the begging bowl again,
Time to involve CAB?
I've been roughly counting the increases, electricity is up around €80 a month, fuel something similar, groceries over €100, heating around €30(solid fuel only), add to that the little things, the two and three euro here and there and you are looking at a monthly extra cost over €300, that's a €3600 extra cost, that's money that won't be spent elsewhere and two and a half million workers having to pay that and more is going to take a serious lump out of the economy.
Nothing remotely criminal about it. They just have the legal might to fully enforce their right to appeal.
So a law change, the children's hospital has been on the go since 2008 and not near finished, surely there's some way to remove them from state tenders?
Depends on who's pockets might be getting lined.
ECB keeping interest rates steady but almost guaranteed they will have to increase them. Sooner than you might think too.
Really gonna make them look even more stupid if they raise them now after saying it's a "pandemic cycle of inflation", which they just made up in the last few weeks.
We need a big increase in rates to stop this cheap money being thrown around everywhere.
And being honest, we don't need more jobs. We don't have the space to house more people.
Plenty already here in accomodation, need to get our own used to work again, this crack of importing people from South Asia because employers don't want the bother of constantly hiring/firing people is not a long term solution and in some cases is exploitation
Rather than meet the needs of Irish workers its cheaper to import. And we'll have FF/FG patting these entrepreneurs on the back.
I'm only going by locally but we've 10-12 lads piled into 3 bed houses and getting the rent deducted from wages, that's not fair
"Minister says people should shop around instead of ‘complaining’ about cost of living"
These people are so out of touch in this country.
A junior minister has said people should shop around instead of “complaining” about the rising cost of living.
Junior finance minister Seán Fleming said that if people “make an effort they can save a lot of money”.
Edit: We were also shopping around for our alcohol but they didn't like that and used health as an excuse. Then just before that they removed the option of using vouchers in shops on alcohol purchases that would've save people money.
Channeling his inner Mary Harney.
I've said it before and il say it again, this lot are just as bad as the Tories across the water.
IIRC they also suggested last year that yet another price increase might be required, but not sure they got that one. Didn't they also 'offer' to step aside before Leo quickly jumped in to tell them to stay?
Tenders should be done the way the water meters installation company was chosen. That big German company probably thought they had it in the bag just because they could have saved us over €350m at the time. They left with their tails between their legs "Dat's not de way we do tings here. We look after our own!"
Don't think he was ever fit to be a minister, Calleary needs a job, send this idiot back to the village that's missing him
I wonder does he include Asda, Sainsburys etc.?
The village probably don't want him back. Surprised no has been on to say he was taken out of context or some such excuse.
I hope the public remembers and shops around next election.
To be honest, he's probably not the only one. He just happened to open his mouth and say it out loud. I'm sure there's many others who think like him.
We had a FG TD who spoke about people "stacking up their trolleys with drink and wine" when defending the idea of taking water charges out of social welfare.
Classy bunch.
They're all at it. i even remember when Senator David Norris said people on unemployment benefit shouldn't be able to buy a few drinks. I understand not wasting all of it on it but denying people who are at a very low point in their lives a drink to relax was disgusting. There's definitely more of this people in various parties and through their well off circles and friends. Just hopefully more people begin to wake up because nothing will change otherwise.
Norris' been on the state tit longer than most .
Can ye imagine the price of water today if the clowns had of gotten their way?
As we know with prices in this country they go up but rarely come down. If the government are only targeting measure to get over this inflation rise then what happens when it goes down but prices don't?
Tough couple of years in store for this government. Cost of living increases caused by inflation and rising energy prices, Interest rate rises, worsening Housing and rent crisis, Leo the leak back as Taoiseach, Covid retrospectives and massive waiting lists, the usual elitism/cronyism etc. The TDs must be quite worried about the future.
One prices go up they are very slow to come back down if at all. Rebates and one off grants are absolutely useless.
And on the bright side…..Spring has sprung. Pandemic is receding. Country is opening up again. Loads of jobs going begging. Builders overrun with work. Dublin skyline full of cranes.
We’ve been through tough times before. We’ll get through this.
Shouldn't have to, if it happens agains politicians have to carry the cost, jail time and all assets seized
To quote an old TV programme, “What you talking about, Willis?”