With the 6 Nations about to start, Rugby will be forced down our throats again. Who actually plays it in Ireland? Not enough that we have to import foreigners. Team of us indeed
I wouldn't be a GAA type, but I was doing a bit of shopping this afternoon and there were a lot of people around. You wouldn't get that on an All Ireland Sunday, or when there's a competitive international soccer match on. The few who genuinely love it make a lot of noise, and that's amplified by the hangers-on who don't care much for rugby itself, but like seeing Ireland winning. I remember some rugby pundit tried to make out that it's now "the people's game". Yeah, the people who went to private schools, swan around in brown shoes and blazers and drink Heineken.
I’m obviously referring to the Irish (‘26 counties’) viewership.
I’ve flicked past enough GAA matches to know that many take place at empty grounds.
Does she know the rules?
This is quite true
I'm a middle of the road rugby fan ,the Mrs is from limerick and loves it
The Ireland six nations games and internationals v the likes of SA, Aus NZ pull TV numbers equal to the All Ireland finals.
After that there is a huge drop off.
Run of the mill AIL games, which is the 4th tier of rugby after international, European cup and URC pull crowds less than 1k.
Where as club GAA games across many counties pull crowds above that.
Irish people like the big rugby days, but feck all else.
Hmm, counties versus countries. Just under 200 million live in the six nations whilst the thirty two counties have just under 7 million. Yeah, apples and oranges there.
India and Pakistan seriously inflate the cricket and hockey numbers.
In reality after soccer everything is is small fry world wide interest wise.
It must annoy GAA types terribly that Six Nations matches are more popular than all but the Gaelic and hurling finals.
A minority sport that little more than a handful of countries take anyway serious. But a great chance for bit of social climbing and looking down the nose.
Think you've the wrong sport for a team of imported foreigners 😉
So tell us partypooper, just how is rugby being forcefully shoved down your throat without you having the ability to turn it off?
Lol. Those numbers.
So easy that an UEFA cup player played for the Lions.
Much better than Wendyball anyway
This is around the time in the four year World Cup cycle that Ireland have loads of world class players across the pitch.
IRELAND! IRELAND! Together standing tall, SHOULDER to SHOULDER, we'll answer IRELAND'S CALL
In 1943 a psychologist called Abraham maslow published a study which outlined humans hierarchy of needs. This progressed from physical needs like food/water/shelter etc, to the need for love and then the need for self actualisation. He did identify rugby as being a basic human need, so yes, we do indeed need rugby
We are also pretty good internationally at Gaelic football and Hurling for a fairly similar reason.
That's not true. We are regularly competitive internationally at hockey. In fact, our women being runners up in the world cup is, as far as I know, our most successful result ever for a team field sport. I admit it’s only the third most popular field sport in the world, but a lot of people have heard about it.
No.1 Football (Soccer) ~4bn fans
No.2 Cricket ~ 2.5bn
No.3 Hockey ~2bn
No.9 Rugby ~475m
Source: https://www.worldatlas.com/articles/what-are-the-most-popular-sports-in-the-world.html
PS I don’t play Rugby but I’ve been a fan, especially of the 5/6nations for over 40 years.
The FIFA rule is not tenuous. And it applies internationally. Other sports including Rugby Union have similar rules.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Grandfather_rule#:~:text=The%20grandfather%20rule%2C%20in%20sports,ancestors%20up%20to%20the%20grandparents.
You sound like a barrel of **** laughs don't you.
The solution you're looking for is a TV remote control. It might be a bit high falluting for ye but ask a neighbour's kid to show you how it can be used to change channels and therefore not feel forced to watch anything.
May also work for radio too.
a great version
More people play soccer in Ireland afaik and yet we still need to beg for every Tom dick and Harry who has even the most tenuous connection to Ireland to come and play for this country (or the south of it at least).
If you don't like rugby, I'd suggest just getting over it tbh
that a very depressing way of looking at it PJ. do we need it, not really in fairness. the same we we dont need nice food, the internet, or anything else but just what's needed for survival.
do we want it, absolutely.
if its not your thing, fine. just ignore.
though you must be on the wind up
Scotland v England will be electric at Murrayfield. The Scottish supporters are fantastic and who isn’t moved when Flower of Scotland is belted out at the start!
It's a bit of craic and one of the only sports we can actually compete with the best in. Ireland's Call should be banished to hell forever though, I have to mute or change the channel when that comes on.
Looking forward to it, same as every year. Who is your favourite player, and why is it Tadgh Furlong?!
Poor effort
yep