Maybe I was jinxing it by typing this thread but something quite offensive was said to me. I began working a new job on Monday and was introduced to an a$shole of a trainer. It started with something that wasn't all that bad; he was showing two of us around the site and as he was bringing us through some yard he joked to somebody he knew "two new lambs for the slaughter here" if I heard it right. Later that day we met the overall boss who gave us a big spiel about not taking stuff personally from the public. That's never been a bother to me; if only he knew that the only guy that been bothering me so far is the guy under himself.
The next offensive remark came towards the end of the second day. As we came to the end of the day instead of saying goodbye he said "disappear"! A few seconds later after we'd sorted the stuff on our desks and were ready to go he said "right lads, ciao... disappear quietly and I'll see ye in the morning". It's basically a more polite way of saying "get out of my face". And seeing as I was the only one of the three who first language was English I felt the onus was on me to say something. I should have called him on it but I found that my brain was too busy trying to figure out a way to interpret the remark as if it weren't an offensive one! Earlier that day he gave me a nudge as I was the first of the group to walk into the room of another trainer as we were about to leave him for a while. I don't know if it was meant to be his guiding hand or something but there was a bit more force than necessary. The sort of thing that you'd imagine being done to a cow in the mart. I know I should have confronted him but I didn't. We had a different trainer since Wednesday next day thankfully, who is more patient. I t was almost as if he wanted to get his dig in the last day he'd be dealing with us.
Part of the reason it was hurtful was because I liked being able to start fresh at a new company. Being knocked into place like this does not help me or the company. Is it a coincidence that the one person in the world who I'd tolerate such behaviour from is the person who's able to get away with it. And yes of course I would agree that if I were the owner of a company and a brand new employee complained about someone to me on their first week, alarms bells may be ringing in my head. This very trainer read out the company policy on bullying and told us "that is one thing this company won't f**king tolerate"! Hmm. It's also a kick in the guts to think that it's mandatory to join a union with this company... because what are unions for? Dealing with matters such as abusive behaviour. But what would I be told if I thought about reporting this to the union? Oh you don't want to be drawing attention to yourself. Perhaps my big ego doesn't help in such matters, but I thought I'd be beyond this at my age. I guess some bullies can really pounce on new employees when their guards are down.