With the 6 Nations about to start, Rugby will be forced down our throats again. Who actually plays it in Ireland? Not enough that we have to import foreigners. Team of us indeed
Who said "Team of us"?
Yes. Never played but I absolutely love the 6N and so looking forward to it starting tomorrow afternoon.
Japers I love the 6 nations.
It's the only team sport we're regularly semi competitive at internationally. You're stuck with it whether you like it or not.
Yes, yes we do. Great game, great fans, great coverage.
Is interest in rugby mandatory now? I didn’t get the memo OP.
Quite honestly, the first I was aware of the 6N starting again was stumbling across this thread….
Every year we get one of these threads about rugby being forced down people's throats. Jesus, I didn't know it was a criminal offence not to watch.
For somebody who seems to enjoy rugby, and starts threads in the rugby forum......this is a really poor trolling attempt
I don't watch it and I've never been given grief about it, OP.
yep
Poor effort
Looking forward to it, same as every year. Who is your favourite player, and why is it Tadgh Furlong?!
It's a bit of craic and one of the only sports we can actually compete with the best in. Ireland's Call should be banished to hell forever though, I have to mute or change the channel when that comes on.
Scotland v England will be electric at Murrayfield. The Scottish supporters are fantastic and who isn’t moved when Flower of Scotland is belted out at the start!
that a very depressing way of looking at it PJ. do we need it, not really in fairness. the same we we dont need nice food, the internet, or anything else but just what's needed for survival.
do we want it, absolutely.
if its not your thing, fine. just ignore.
though you must be on the wind up
More people play soccer in Ireland afaik and yet we still need to beg for every Tom dick and Harry who has even the most tenuous connection to Ireland to come and play for this country (or the south of it at least).
If you don't like rugby, I'd suggest just getting over it tbh
a great version
The solution you're looking for is a TV remote control. It might be a bit high falluting for ye but ask a neighbour's kid to show you how it can be used to change channels and therefore not feel forced to watch anything.
May also work for radio too.
You sound like a barrel of **** laughs don't you.
The FIFA rule is not tenuous. And it applies internationally. Other sports including Rugby Union have similar rules.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Grandfather_rule#:~:text=The%20grandfather%20rule%2C%20in%20sports,ancestors%20up%20to%20the%20grandparents.
That's not true. We are regularly competitive internationally at hockey. In fact, our women being runners up in the world cup is, as far as I know, our most successful result ever for a team field sport. I admit it’s only the third most popular field sport in the world, but a lot of people have heard about it.
No.1 Football (Soccer) ~4bn fans
No.2 Cricket ~ 2.5bn
No.3 Hockey ~2bn
No.9 Rugby ~475m
Source: https://www.worldatlas.com/articles/what-are-the-most-popular-sports-in-the-world.html
PS I don’t play Rugby but I’ve been a fan, especially of the 5/6nations for over 40 years.
We are also pretty good internationally at Gaelic football and Hurling for a fairly similar reason.
In 1943 a psychologist called Abraham maslow published a study which outlined humans hierarchy of needs. This progressed from physical needs like food/water/shelter etc, to the need for love and then the need for self actualisation. He did identify rugby as being a basic human need, so yes, we do indeed need rugby
IRELAND! IRELAND! Together standing tall, SHOULDER to SHOULDER, we'll answer IRELAND'S CALL
This is around the time in the four year World Cup cycle that Ireland have loads of world class players across the pitch.
Much better than Wendyball anyway
So easy that an UEFA cup player played for the Lions.
Lol. Those numbers.
So tell us partypooper, just how is rugby being forcefully shoved down your throat without you having the ability to turn it off?
Think you've the wrong sport for a team of imported foreigners 😉