Fully agree with you regarding Cooney/Carty, but the former has put himself out of reach with his public statements regarding the national set up and Sexton. That may have been imprudent or maybe his assessment was right and his public stating of it was immaterial, difficult to know. But that's a story I look forward to reading about when they've retired.
Great to see TOH and Heffernan dropped from the squad both were shocking. TOH could be release this summer now that he got his 200caps. Heffernan was 3rd choice for Ireland close to 3rd choice for Connacht that will be tough take
I think Heffernan could be with the Ireland squad as cover seeing as Herring is injured
I was thinking the same myself. He would be the only 1 up to speed on the plays.
Taking pleasure out of seeing players left out of the squad is pretty pathetic!
Pathetic ? so you want to keep picking guys who are underperforming ? next time a connacht player doesnt get picked ahead of a underperforming player from another province dont let connacht fans complain then
I didn’t say anything about picking underperforming players. I just said that it’s pathetic to take pleasure out of players being left out of the squad- and it is! Neither player has been dropped incidentally.
Fair play to Hansen, some rise. Seem to recall Murray Kinsella & Bernard Jackman didn’t think he was a great signing for Connacht, even very knowledgeable people can call it wrong sometimes.
Mate your weird if you think people are getting pleasure out of team selections
I’m not your ‘mate’ and it was you who said it was ‘great’ to see two players dropped. As I said, neither of them were dropped. In case you’re wondering, yes I do have a source within the camp.
Jackman thought he was a great signing, Kinsella was fairly unimpressed at the time. I'd have more respect for Kinsella's opinion than basically any other rugby journalist so like you said just goes to show that anybody can be wrong
Confirmed
I always thought it was a great signing, I was actually so surprised Australia let him leave so easily.
That’s not even a yellow ffs Lowry is 5’7 when he drops like that he’s prob under five feet, what is Sullivan supposed to do
No foul play for me. Sullivan went to tackle low. That was ignored by officials. Bad call
Certain yellow card; absolutely no doubt. Could very easily have been red. Very easily.
Sullivan was committed to perfectly legal tackle, Lowry dips very low at last second and they clash, it’s caused by Lowry dipping.
Can't be red
Lowry ducked
Sullivan went low with genuine tackle attempt
Doesn’t matter lads. Gilroy got a month ban, having originally got a yellow last week. Tackler has to go lower.
The framework makes it clear its not red
Sullivan went low, to tackle
Lowry ducked down.
There is two points of mitigation in the framework which make it not a red
Gilroy got banned for a shoulder to the head with no attempt to wrap
Lowry is 5’7 - he was gonna get tackled low chest if he doesn’t dip. That’s as low as can be reasonably expected. Absolutely not a yellow.
Brilliant passage of play
Look, I think on balance, it was a yellow. Red would have been harsh. I accept this. But you simply can’t risk those sort of tackles anymore. He should have have been tackling a few feet off the ground to make actually sure he was safe. There was serious serious force in the hit.
Go and read the framework.
Two decent conversions from Doak to be fair.
Needed that to get back into it.
Vermeulen throws a couple of punches (none connected properly or Wootton would be unconscious probably) and penalty stays with Ulster. Joy Neville is a poor tmo
Super speed by Robert Baloucoune to be fair. Good try.
Yep very poor officiating, was Vermeulen getting away with that in the top 14. In fairness, i think Sullivan should have gotten a red as well, so poor officiating letting both sides off the hook.
Anyway, shame that after all connacht's good defensive work in the last twenty minutes, we get burnt by Bobby Baloucoune, he is a joy to behold though.
Disappointing to conceed right at the end again....
Wooton seemed to come flying in but got nowhere near the ball or the man but all season we seem to get caught narrow quite a lot with how we jam in in defense.