As the title says, this is a new thread for chat about Dun Laoghaire in general without the traffic & transport nonsense.
Enjoy.
Jesus christ lads will ye shut up.
None of ye were there, none of ye have a clue. Puerile ghoulishness.
Just cause some one is shook up doesn’t mean it’s an accident.
e.g in a work environment, when kind of work is being down a DWA ( designated work area) must be set up.
perhaps a truck entering a busy area and reversing in a public area should have a DWA set up. A few cones and tape. That creates a safe area.
why do trucks even have blind spots ? Cameras and sensors are cheap
The driver and his passenger were shook up showing a lack of intent hence, accident.
I can't begin to imagine how guilty the driver is feeling.
Of course, I feel far worse for the poor victim and her family who will be greiving for years to come.
Having said all of that, trucks are covered with warnings to not come within range of their blind spots. Sadly, there have been too many deaths as a result of not heeding to these warnings.
Anyway, I will leave it there.
No, I have no information about what happened, just like everyone else here. That's why we shouldn't be using judgemental terms like accident when we have no idea what happened.
It’s not an unfortunate incident. It was entirely preventable and happened as a result of action or in action. A coroner’s court will determine what happened and measures put in place to reduce the chances of it happening again
in the past we used the excuse accidents happen , but by looking into them we realise that they don’t and we can prevent them.
Have you the coroners report to hand already? Give some respect to the dead and to the poor guy who was driving that truck
Now.
How about everybody shuts up and shows some respect for the dead woman and her bereaved family.
May she rest in peace.
IIt should be reserved for truly unavailable events. The vast majority of road deaths are avoidable.
Is there intent in speeding, or checking your phone at the wheel?
No, I didn't. I corrected the terminology of the poster, when I said 'crash or collision, not accident'. I didn't say 'this was not an accident '.
I think it’s obsolete. Its a lazy word, that makes excuses.
?? I was discussing common usage of the word "accident". In your view, what should it be reserved for, or do you think it should it be banned completely?
It's neglegence, quite the opposite of intent
Lack of intent isn’t an excuse.
does speeding relate to lack in intent ?
does driving without paying attention to surroundings relate to lack of intent ?
i could go on
Of course everything has a place in a chain of cause-and-effect, but my point is that the word is used to express a lack of intent of outcome
No , accidents don’t just happen. There generally something that happens first.
We’ve moved from excuses.
Actually you did say it wasn't an accident
Good Lord, surely it’s understood that in general non-technical/legal discussion use of the word “accident” is usual when there was unlikely to have been intent to harm or be harmed. (And I say this as someone who isn’t shy to shout at drivers when I feel they’re being negligent around me when I walking or cycling.)
RIP to the deceased.
No, it’s the national policy. You’ll never here of a RTA (Road traffic Accident) from the Gardai/ RSA anymore it’s all RTC. Accidents don’t happen , they are as result of consequences and peoples actions or inaction (e.g checking tyre pressure), as such they are crashes/collisions
I didn't say it wasn't an accident. I said we don't know that it was accidental, so we shouldn't be calling it an accident. It is a crash or collision.
You've noticed that Gardai, fire, ambulance services, RSA all refer to RTC nowadays, not the RTA they used to talk about 20-30 years ago.
It's not the existence of trucks that is the problem, it is the trucks that kill people around them that is the problem. Maybe, like any business, they could find a safe way of doing their business, as they are required to do in law? Maybe they could fit whatever cameras or mirrors are required to overcome their blind spots, or provide crews on watch when reversing - basically, whatever it takes to avoid killing people?
Anyway, I'll leave it there, as I didn't realise we were on the 'no traffic' thread.
Yeah, it's only Andrew. It's not pat, larbre34, taxidriver or any of the other people who are as argumentative as be damned and run away when confronted with actual evidence.
It's not as if Andrew & others haven't had the discussion about WHY large trucks don't need to be doing end-to-end deliveries, complete with links to external sources showing how other countries (and cities) optimise deliveries by having small trucks/vans do last-mile deliveries.
And it's not like foreseeability is a concept in civil law about whether something counts as a 'true' accident, nor that we have tens (if not hundreds) of cyclist and pedestrian deaths over the last couple of decades from large trucks being in urban & suburban areas that they have no business being.
You do you babes, like the rest of the ignorant people on here who bury their heads in the sand while being condescending & superior yet not knowing a cogent and reasoned argument if it punched them in the face.
🤷♂️
I know that poster is the reason why there's "No traffic, commuting, transport chat" in the title of the thread. I also think it's a really **** thing to do to utilise someone's death to shoehorn their agenda in and also to insinuate that a road user intentionally killed someone without any information to support it
@duploelabs That's just his anti-car stance coming into it. He appears to view all motorists as the enemy.
@AndrewJRenko Trucks need to supply goods to the shops in the vicinity. It is part and parcel of how businesses operate. You seem to see their existence as a scourge to the suburban landscape.
I'm sorry but you're equally on the dark so why say it wasn't an accident in the first place?
First, how do you know it's not intentional, when there are no details of what happened?
Secondly, where do draw the line- do drivers accidentally speed or accidentally use their phones? Do truck operators accidentally put vehicles with known large blind spots into urban areas without adequate cameras or mirrors or crews on watch?
'Accident' is judgemental, usually with no evidence to support it. Crash or collision is factual, not judgemental.
Aren't crashes and collisions all an accident if not intentional?
Crash or collision, not accident.
I've just heard about the tragic accident of the poor woman who was killed at Myrtle Square in Dun Laoghaire. I cannot imagine the level of grief that occurred among the staff who were working at Bloomfields SC this morning. May she RIP.
Where exactly is the development supposed to be going? Is the lane they're talking about the one that goes up to St Joseph's school?