To be fair, Doc, a lot of the current Bohs, and Rovers, fans are, actually, ex-Man United fans.
A very fickle “bunch” who’ll soon be stretching the old United jersey back over their protruding guts and flocking back to the pubs to roar at the TV should they stop being so shíte.
I absolutely hate soccer . No interest whatsoever in it . But am well able to pick up the remote control and change channels . And fully understand that others enjoy it
The supporters dont seem to be particularly articulate about why they like it/what is skilful about it
No amount of hype/buzzwords is going to gloss over fact,it is simply poor value in terms entertainment,its supporters cant even highlight its quality moments for comparison/contrast with other sports
We are facing into 6 weeks of this utter nonsense,everyone watching it,noone able to articulate why its enjoyable,its.merely a weird form of mass hysteria simply lacking in logic....at least the bloke who only likes it to annoy others is honest with himself,however irredemable a personality trait that intentional antagonistic may be
Anyways, back to the topic being discussed:
Every Bohs supporter I’ve ever met. It seems to be a magnet for assholes.
Not sure I can help you, B. You don’t seem to understand anything about the game, or its supporters.
My only advice would be to watch it and try listen to the ref mic as much as possible. Always thought TG4 made an excellent call when they seemed to turn up the ref mic during any “incidents”.
Other than that, I’d advise remembering the old adage, it’s better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to speak and remove all doubt.
The only thing longer than a game of rugby, is the time spent in the studio discussing it before and after. Completely agree with Blaaz, half the days tv will be taken up every Sat/Sun with these upcoming 6 nations matches.
Fair play to him🤷♂️....
but if the so called fans cant explain what they enjoy/find skilful within their game
Perhaps the issue is not from those who qs its value as entertainment/why its being pushed relentlessly in the media....strip away the hype and buzzwords,its a poor poor game in terms of entertainment/skills,whose aparent main value now, lies in annoying others
Bob dylan once wrote 'don't criticise what you can't understand'.
But why are people watching it??
Its simply being forced on people and deffo shouldnt be letting kids near it....heading for a lifetime of drug abuse and in many cases cathasthropic head injuries....for a game that simply isnt skilful or of any real merit
I often asked anyone who watches it and what they enjoyed/was skilful from last game they watched as i try to get into it/see whats so good to deserve the hype and the conversation very very quickly falls flat ...
.you have blokes,upon this thread who openly admit the thing they enjoy most,is it annoys others....a poor poor endorsement for a game that is forced onto the populace with near endless coverage
It’s not great but the soccer anthem was not fit for purpose so it had to go. Also, ‘Ireland’s Call’ isn’t for the older generation, it’s for the next one who don’t remember hearing the other one at an Ireland match.
One thing is for certain, kids love it. And it’s great to be bringing kids up without passing on sectarian bigotry and all the nonsense that goes with it.
Have to say, it’s really is great when you see Irish 6 Nations getting high viewership figures.
I have yet to met a single fully funtioning adult,who likes oirelands call
Even the lads in work,who adore rugby (they even play it) and all the stupid hype that geos with it,hate that bloody song
Yeah they don't like 'ireland's call' much!
The best thing about rugby is how much it annoys barstool Republicans.
I always watch it and try to enjoy it,like watching sport as it turns out.....but its simply just not an enjoyable spectacle to watch & shouldnt be on as often as it is,given size of its playing population
Have you not got other channels to watch ?
I watch it,like to see eire do well even,even played it overseas......but i simply dont think it should be forced onto the population here and its inticing children to play a game that is neither skilful or good for their health
The 'rugger buggers',a self annointed nickname that raises all sorts of qs btw,should just have their wee game available on stream and not be forcing it onto the public......
its adult playing population here,wouldnt fill croke park afaik,let we are subjected to 6 weeks of this tripe every spring on tv and near endless coverage in papers
Ah, don’t mind him, ADP. Some people get the “hump” over things they don’t understand. People watch rugby because they like it and because it’s enjoyable.
The, entrenched, League of Ireland “sort” will always be, especially, spiteful about the popularity of Irish rugby, both international and domestic.
Its such an odd, angry and bizarre “reaction” to a sport that others, en masse, like to watch. I mean, I, personally, don’t particularly like basketball. But it would never anger me if it came up in conversation or if an Irish side did well in it.
Takes a very small person to have such a negative, visceral, reaction to another’s enjoyment.
What cant you stand about him?
But sure just don't watch it then surely?🤔
Temuera Morrison
Former head-hasnt gone away you know-
,but rte still persue with adbandon forcing rugby onto the popualtion here....your averge LOI soccer match draws a higher attendance than your average AIL thugby match
Same bloke helped orcatrate having little to no boxing allowed during his time,despite it being far-and-away our most succesful international sport in knock-out competitions
He isn’t the head of sport in RTÉ, which makes the rest of your incredibly inarticulate post seem very silly indeed.
How can one explain if its inexplicable ?
Ryle nugent,head of sport at rte....forcing rugby onto a population,with a v.small playing population,such a stupid stupid game
Stuck now,facing into the annual 6 week spring wankery jerk-off fest that is the "six nations tournament" on virgin media now
,which of course is a tournament that noone gets knocked out of,despite some teams not winning a game for years on end
Wouldn’t that defeat the “purpose” of the thread?
Any chance you could fill us in as to why you can't inexplicably stand said person, or at the very least tell us who they are, as most of your posts on this thread are names I've never heard of?
Mason Greenwood
She was covering the permanently randy Jennifer Zamperelli this week on the radio and christ Loddie was worse, interrupting every conversation/story the callers trying to tell, out of her depth covering...She gets paid 80grand to read celeb magazines and compile a 2 minute "news" report and a lame podcast on dancing with the "celebs"
christ Dee Forbes has some neck for whinging about money in rte when "talent" is paid this
Back and forth from UK to watch the dancing with the stars.
Give us another clue……the Christmas song title maybe? !