At what point does it become more cost effective to knock down a house and rebuild than to keep it and try to repair?
Eg, Is it a case of if the roof is ok, then don't knock it?
even if that roof needed work, and it doesn't look like it does, you still wouldn't knock it down and start. The issues with that house are cosmetic with perhaps some damp. It needs a complete rewiring and perhaps replumbing but still no reason to knock it down.
I'd imagine €150k would go close to making it a nice house (just a guess). You wouldn't build much for €150k nowadays so I'd guess it would be cheaper to do it up rather than knock it down and start again. Plus planning might be an issue if you wanted to knock it down and start again.
Look upon my works, ye mighty, and despair
https://www.rightmove.co.uk/properties/119249894#/?channel=RES_BUY
Despair is right. I was going through thinking - professional clearance company to empty the place, what would it cost? Would they take out the bath room fittings? No, I'd need a plumber to get them out. I'd be embarrassed to ask anyone to take them out. And the kitchen appliances. And the tiled wall in the kitchen. And quite likely some of the rads. Is that damp on the bedroom ceiling? No, forget it.
Jaysis thats horrid - Im sorry I looked at it.
I hope they hadn't started the cleaning!
He's going to need some bigger wipes
Jebus! I'll have nightmares tonight.
I've cleaned out places like that before, in a job when I was about 19 or 20. You'll need the following:
4 men, 3 days to do all the heavy work, including carpets, tiles, bathroom etc.
Pay for electricity to be disconnected at mains until everything is out and plumber to switch off water at mains and cap all taps once sanitary ware is removed and area around pipes is steam cleaned.
2 disposable boiler suits, Full face mask and one pair of Kevlar gloves per person per day (pppd).
One pair of safety wellingtons per person.
Mobile trailer with shower, toilet and full disinfecting facilities for 3 days.
Various equipment rented for 3 days like work lights, cables, small generator.
There's about 50-70 cubic metres of waste there, so €2,500-3,500 to get rid.
There's potentially a need for a mini digger to skim off the top 20 cm of earth in the garden if there's needles or similar in the house.
So I think €10,000 max to clean it out, this includes a couple of lads in for the last day to scrape down the wallpaper off the walls using an industrial steamer and drill.
There's a good potential there to turn a quick profit. It's up for auction so may go for a lot more. It's one thing that I respect about the UK; they leave plenty of room upwards for profit if a small builder wants to have a go at that. Here they'd knock no more than €20,000 off the market price and they expect you to clean it out and do it up after that.
If you take a look within a a couple of miles of that house there are a few houses in much better condition for 100K or less. I can't see them getting 80K in the state it is in.
Saw this post first, and was wondering what the heck you were talking about. Then saw this
"There's potentially a need for a mini digger to skim off the top 20 cm of earth in the garden if there's needles or similar in the house."
And was very naively thinking "needles? as in pine tree needles? Surely they would decompose etc. can be left there..?"
Then clicked the link. Sweet suffering Mary and all the angels in heaven and the dogs and all the animals.. Christ. Was not expecting that. 🤮
2 @ roughly the same price with change to play around with.
https://www.daft.ie/for-sale/detached-house-crostera-west-glengarriff-co-cork/3694959
https://www.daft.ie/for-sale/detached-house-tulsk-tulsk-co-roscommon/3692853
Ah but it's in Glengarriff, a town with a well that spews out magical West Cork juice and airy fairy goodness. They'll get that easy. Some fella from the big shmoke will hunt a crew of builders in there for a few months and turn it into a nice little WFH paradise. It will probably get some brightly coloured window frames, an cubic extension with a lot of glass panes, (PH)EV outside the door that his wife uses for trips to Dzochchen Beara for €500 Buddhist yoga retreat weekends
If u had the same house a short distance away between Bantry and Drimoleague you'd struggle to sell it
I don't know either area at all, but I was trying to say that for the same money, I would much prefer to buy either of those, which are essentially ruins, would need a lot of work, than that utterly disgusting sh*thole in Sheffield *shudder*.
That Glengarriff one is what we call a pisspot house around here.
This would be a bargain site at É 73.5k.
They must have seen these posts, only exterior photos on it now!
Serious question, how on earth did they get all the furniture up that stairs?
PIVOT!
I would imagine it went up the space by some sort of pulley before the staircase was installed, or there is another access from the rest of the building that has been closed off. Doing 'substantial renovation' up a spiral staircase would be challenging.
"FOR SALE BY MODERN METHOD OF AUCTION"
Cutting edge stuff
Online auction....
...'cause we dont want to interact with the great unwashed.
I would me more interested in how it meets fire safety regulations. As for the furniture, some if it looks like 1970s flat pack. I assume the fridge is included 🕺
Lol they've removed all the interior photos now. It made it to the daily mail though so the secrets out
nice of them to keep the Olde Worlde effect by including an outhouse to be fair.
Sheffield house- hoarder and now executor sale.
€2.5m buy a lot of house in Wexford. More like a hotel than a house. Fair play to them for living the dream.
The euromillions is €130M on friday. I could see myself living there
I look at the big houses/mansions in this thread and think "hmm, with 3 kids, we'd make use of this and that and" etc etc. But that house? Naaah, far too much house. It's all nice and doesn't need much in the way of renovation, but it's not a house.
130M also happens to be about the same chance you have of winning it.
Can't pick any holes in the Wexford House, but would agree with Mr Cool Ice. Also, the estate agents are completely disingenuous (wrong) with its map location and it's not that close to the town centre. Not that many would have expected it to be, considering the size of the property.