Surely this is just media scaremongering?
if so this kind of nonsense is not on either. I can’t see Russia trying to sever our internet cables. I would suspect they’d rather cause trouble with hacking from Russia where they can at least defer blame if they head out to sea and blow up the cables.. well they certainly can’t talk themselves out of blame?
Well I don’t imagine they are going to blow them up, but it’s not out of the realms of possibility that they will be having a look if they can, if the time ever arises.
Sure they would just deny it , and Posters on here would join in and Tell us it's all a CIA conspiracy ..
Like they did when Russia shot down flight MH17
While I'm back tracking Harry ( unless you have the post Nr handy? That would help..) is there any other "Bullshit" that needs explaining? Thanks.🙂
Orange man bad was right
Would have loved to have been in that room
Ronald Reagan made the same stand in the 80s with the Trans-Siberian pipe*. Europe (chiefly Germany if we're to be fair) was gung ho for it, the US completely opposed and instituted a technology and equipment embargo on the pipe. The worry? European dependence on Soviet energy imports. Has a familiar ring to it.
This is a problem a long time in the making.
*The pipe even made a cameo in The Living Daylights for any Bond fans out there.
OK grand, you have no way of explaining your bizarre claims that the people of Crimea were pro Ukraine until they all fled shortly before the referendum, that’s all I needed to know.
Cork not on the list?
Apologies I was confusing you with another user😂
The bullshit I was referring to in regards to you was your claim that you lived in Russia for several years and that you also lived in Iraq and Afghanistan while I see you made a thread last year asking people what Russia is like to visit.
Vs your verbatim russina propaganda
Harry, before we go any further and you make a mistake like the previous one, ( for which you are forgiven...LOL ) better check the post you mention, as I'm pretty sure that I've never mentioned Iraq in a post in this context, because while I did live next door to Iraq, ( Iran / Syria / Jordan) I have never actually lived or even been there.
There was a mass shooting at the pivendash missile factory in dnipro Ukraine 5 guards were killed by 21 year old who recently started working there ..
https://www.theguardian.com/world/2022/jan/27/five-dead-in-ukraine-after-national-guardsman-opens-fire-at-military-factory
Hasn't Russia perpetrated ethnic cleansing and genocide over the course of centuries in Crimea? And is still actively discriminating against the native Tatar population?
Over the course of centuries? Well Russia hasn’t existed for centuries but If we want to go down that path then we can make everyone monsters the British, Germans etc.
So 70 odd million people would leave there homeland and move to the utopia that is the west. Just look at the leaders in Britain and the U.S for example, Biden is suffering from early stages of dementia and Boris Johnston is the biggest spoofer ever. Russian leaders are remarkably competent compared to these two western super powers.
You're transparently evading the question. Whataboutery is a Russian propaganda tactic almost as old as Russia's history of invading places.
Are you going to answer?
According this, Natural Gas makes up just 12.2% of energy used in Germany.
That's hardly Russia "owning" Germany. It's probably more that German companies are now positioned to sell-on Russian gas to supply other EU countries.
I suppose Russia's leadership is "competent" if shameless criminality and invading other countries is your benchmark for "competence".
What criminality is that?
Anyone pretending that Germany or Britain have anything but a wonderfully murderous history?
(Spot the positive spin.)
Russia hasn't existed for centuries?
Does someone else want to take this one?
I'm waiting till the Vikings get brought up
Hmmm. The bribes? The kickbacks? The being a mafia state? The murders? The murdering your own people by blowing them up in a bomb? The invading of other countries?
Why is Vladimir Putin worth so much money? What's the salary for President of Russia?
Let me guess. You're one of these people who still believes Charlie Haughey got his wealth through legitimate means, aren't you?
Perhaps you also believe in the tooth fairy? Maybe that's where oul' Vlad got his money?
But Haughey was only nicking a few penny sweets compared to oul' Vlad.
https://www.cnbc.com/2017/07/31/financier-bill-browder-says-vladimir-putin-is-worth-200-billion.html
.... and how would you describe what Russia was like prior to the last thirty years?
The invading of other countries? Surprised you've added that in, according to western media they toppled Kiev about 8 years ago
Dick Cheney the then VP of the U.S was gun-ho to invade Iraq, do some research on who got the big contracts for Iraqi oil and his links to said company. You see its not just the Russians who are full of shady characters.
Putin and others obtained substantial wealth following the break-up of the USSR. Turns out that under capitalism people get to own stuff, so Putin as a high-ranking official was entitled to claim significant wealth. He helped manage the oil companies and so forth - he probably did make a healthy sum for himself out of the whole thing, that's the whole point of capitalism. Definitely not the wild numbers going around that he's one of the richest in the world though, a fair few million I would imagine.
But more to the point - how is he going to use any of it? Not much percentage of it for personal uses - he's the President of Russia, not some gombeen Irish politician like Haughey, so he justifiably gets everything he wants as expenses. He already has access to billions of dollars from the Russian treasury for any sort of illicit power-play you think he may be involved in. So essentially what difference does it make how much money he has? He still works hard every day (except maybe Sunday?) for the Russian people and in my view for the world.
You're whatabouting. I'm an Irish person who is a solid left voter. But you have me pigeon holed as a Dick Cheney supporter. That isn't very imaginative.
Russia has occupied part of Ukraine for the last 8 years. Are you denying this? It has invaded Georgia. Its troops are currently in Kazakhstan and Belarus. It effectively occupies part of Moldova through its agents on the ground there. Are you denying this?
In your last post you flippantly asked "what criminality?" Now you're telling us Russia is full of shady characters. Seems a small dose of reality has hit you, at least.
Again, what's the salary for President of Russia? As far as I know it isn't in the billions. So how does Putin have so much money?
You believe in fairytales, yes?
You're happy with a despot raping his country of its resources, yes?
That seems a fairly common characteristic of Russia propagandists here.
🤣 This thread has officially gone crazy.
So what if he's looted a country eh? We have Charlie Haughey in the mix now.