Enjoy!!
Old thread here......
https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2057962937/mayo-gaa-discussion-part-4#latest
Threadban list
Green Peter - Permanent
Man Vs ManUre until 9/05/23
Apparently looking to get the league games back in the county
Late night meeting called by Mayo gaa. God knows whats happening now!
Oh feck
i need to get a third ticket !
Anyone a bit concerned about Cillian? Round 5 or 6 of the league sounds a good bit out and I'd wonder about his sharpness coming back into the fold at that stage.
The game on Sunday is most likely sold out according to the Mayo News podcast.Current capacity in Sligo is 12k (although it could comfortably hold 20k)
Exciting times!
Cheers lads....that's what I thought alright...I wouldn't think twice about taking the spin down myself but I'd be bringing two young fellas (6 and 9) with me.
I'd started bringing the older lad to Mayo matches before Covid so keen to get the other fella brainwashed as soon as possible :-)
The Dublin and Mayo games are traditionally at this stage on the Saturday night in Tralee.
A bit of a deal between Tralee and Killarney, Killarney gets the Sunday games Tralee gets the high profile Saturday ones.
Christ man, if you got her to Killarney for one of the nights at least you'd have some chance of getting the leg over.
No
They have floodlights
I have suprised herself with a nice valentines present now as well. Two nights in tralee
Im spoiling her
Frantically searching the Breaffy club site to see whos on the executive and whos Daddy we are talking about
Please do tell what some other eejit has sent you on WhatsApp?
This is why oshea has left
Is there any chance the league game in Kerry might be moved to a different time?
It's currently on at 7:30pm on Saturday 12th March....not exactly an inviting time for travelling fans (I'm based in Limerick and even at that it's a tricky time)
In completely, definitely 100% unrelated news the Breaffy management team for 2022 was announced at the weekend
https://twitter.com/breaffygaa/status/1484279991873462279?s=21
That's pretty much all I know, he's rumoured to have left the WhatsApp group and wished them all the best for 2022.
Daddy was the subject of an attempted shafting but remains.
Are you going to flesh out or is it more rumours we dont need.
Civil war in Breaffy?
You know who not happy with how Daddy is being treated.
Does anyone know what the story is with tv coverage for the league games? There’s usually a full announcement and listing of games to be covered, with Eir gone I wonder what will happen with the games they usually covered? Nothing announced on GAAGO either from what I can see, maybe things are delayed pending lifting of capacity restrictions?
*edit just spotted that the Donegal game is live on TG4 next Sunday.
He didn't say ligaments, correct.
When I said it will lead to injuries and players doing ligaments, I didn't mean the only injuries would be ligaments.
Which isnt what Maher said in the article you quoted
@TsuDhoNimh Luke Jennings isn't even in the panel which is unbelievable given what I've heard about who hes playing in Sigerson.
Theres a lot of hype around Sam Callinan, I'd like to see him have a couple of seasons behind hime before hes considered for the county team.
On Crowe and Gibbons, both had excellent years but unlikely both are going to be coming back in at this stage. Shane McHale was the best player in Mayo this year, outstanding, Seamus O'Shea in his prime but not going top be brought back in either.
Don't think Evan Regan is coming back, Justin Healy might be a better call.
I think Darren McHale has proved himself to be worth a starting spot on any Mayo team. Dempsey is apparently pulling up trees with UL. King is unlikely to be a Horan type player, if Rochford ever comes back (I'd hope he does) then I think the defence is built around King
When I played gaa I used to like to kick very high points from way out. I think my balls would have hit off the roof of this dome and it prevent me from scoring. It’s a thumbs down from me, it looks like something out of Ad Astra.
Interesting part here for me is looking at potential alternatives...
That said...
Conor Diskin (Claremorris), Luke Doherty, Conor McStay, Ciaran Treacey, Dylan Thornton, Jack Irwin (Ballina), Liam Og Horkan, Cathal Slattery (Garrymore), Paddy Heneghan, James Durcan, Donnacha McHugh (Castlebar), Thomas Fahy (Kilmaine), Conor Flynn (Knockmore), Ruairi Keane, Ethan Henry (Mayo Gales), Jack Carney (Kilmeena), Padraic Prendergast, Padraic O'Malley (Louisburgh), Paul Towey, Matty Lenehan (Charlestown), James Kelly (Belmullet), Conor Loftus, Jordan Flynn (Crossmolina), Mark Moran (I'm assuming he was carrying an injury in the league - looked well off his normal level so caveat on this one assuming he's back to full fitness), Rory Brickenden (Westport), Darren Coen (Hollymount/C), Seamus Cunniffe, Sharoize Akram (Ballaghaderren), Bryan Walsh, Michael Plunkett [as a forward, where he actually played well all league, not a defender] (Ballintubber) all pushing hard for inclusion on their form this year and I could easily have chosen ahead of what I did.
Probably missing 20 other names too that put in incredible performances too given I almost forgot the two lads from Garrymore who were fantastic this year. Lots of names there still in their early 20s and bags of potential left... so lots of things to look forward to. Fingers crossed we see a few more break through in the next few months. Along with some of the younger lads like Ja Mullen starting to push.
I said it would lead to more injuries and I said players would do their ligaments on it.
What you actually said is that players would wear the wrong studs and snap ligaments.
What Maher is saying is that the pitch is hard and no elements make it a faster game meaning longer recovery as the body is more fatigued.
However Maher did sound a note of caution about the 4G playing surface and the toll it could take on players.
"To play on it was good, it was firm, but quite unforgiving," he said. "I wouldn't like to play there for an important 70-minute inter-county game twice in the same week.
We were stiff and sore coming home on the bus - a two-hour journey back to Limerick.
"Playing on that surface is tough on your body and when you couple that with the lack of wind and a lack of rain, the game, as a consequence, is so fast. It forces you to keep up with the game.
It takes a lot out of the body. It quickens the pace of everything.
"Two consecutive games in a week there would be difficult."
Crucially Maher, who also is a member of the Limerick squad, added: "I don't think it's the long-term answer to winter football.
"Pre-season, challenge games and early league games come thick and fast. The demands are tough on players. No team could play at the dome three or four weeks on the bounce without picking up a few injuries.
"I'll be honest and say that the dome may only provide one quality game for a team once in a month without recurring issues.
"I felt the effects coming home on Tuesday but I would also feel the effects playing on soft ground. You are going to be sore after a game if you're playing it right, but playing on any 4G surface has more of an impact on the calves and joints."
Just like I said, more injuries on this surface.
So Maher says one quality game a month on a surface like it.
Extra high scoring rate also noted due to lack of conditions. It's not the same game on an artificial pitch.
Messing aside, is Aiden an impact sub now? When you look at the players in contention across the field. Its a very mobile panel bar Cillian, but he has a very specific role!
Aidan is not going to be happy that he's not even getting a mention in these discussions.
Africa surely could find 6 fellas to mark any forward line😂😂