Following on from
this thread
Please remain civil or posting privileges will be removed
Should Jennifer Carrol McNeil be speaking about online bullying in the Dail after blackmailing a party colleague with a Snapchat post?
Did you even read the article????
She confronted a person in real life who had been guilty of online bullying. She was standing up to an online bully!!!!
What made you post something that idiotic. Actually, better cross that out in case you think I am an online bully.
She blackmailed him. How is him pulling out of the race solving anything? She got him to do something for not passing it on. Thats bullying and blackmail.
As the other poster said did you read the article? If you did it's bizarre how you came to this stance.
Ms Carrol MacNeill, 40, a TD for Dún Laoghaire and Fine Gael spokeswoman for equality, met Mr Hutchinson and his father on Killiney beach, due to public health guidelines, alongside another Fine Gael official in June.
The candidate was presented with a screenshot of a Snapchat message he made when he was 18, which said: “Ding dong the witch is gone.” The post was regarding Kate O’Connell, a previous TD for Dublin Bay South, who lost her seat in the February general election.
So you're saying she used a Snapchat post to get him to pull out of the race?
I stand corrected.
"So you're saying" Off to a bad start when you try to manipulate my words.
The way you have spun this is just plain strange.
Do you condone that snapchat message he posted?
You don't just stand corrected, you have had your arse handed to you for not even bothering to read the article you linked.
Jennifer Carroll O'Neill bravely confronted an online bully, hence she has more right than anyone to talk about online bullying.
She used the snapchat to have him pull out of the race. My arse is intact :)
Do you think she did wrong pulling up a person making comments like that on social media?
Yes. She should have reported him not bullied him. Did she have a pal thinking of running?
So she should not have stood up to bullies.....?
Quite a sexist and misogynistic remark there Bruice thinking a woman is too weak to stand up to a male bully..... needs to run off for cover..
Change the word bullied which you have no proof she did to confront. Do you not think she did the right thing?
You really are out just to find fault in a party you don't support and completely blinkered In the one you do.
Is there anything that the current government couldn't screw up? With the coalition, you'd think we'd have the best and brightest of both parties leading. Instead we have spineless jellyfish and absolutely useless legacy politicians in positions of power.
We have a horrific murder, that outrages the entire country. A young woman goes for a jog and is attacked and killed. We have a justice minister from the alleged "law and order" party. A perfect storm to tighten sentencing, get a new prison/s built, stop bail for violent offenders, stop people from walking the streets with 100+ convictions and the country would have welcomed it and they'd probably get a bounce in the polls.
But no, our justice minister, possibly the worst minister we've ever had, and we've had a few of those, decides to attack the men of Ireland instead. Re-enacting laws that already exist, with different wording rather than actually doing something.
Have we no decent politicians in this country? Why is there no party to represent Jim and Joan public, who work hard and live normal lives. Every party seems to pander to the rich, the EU or the "vunderable" i.e. scroungers and illegal immigrants.
Your list of things you expect the Minister to do are not within her powers so no, she can't just do them.
Tighten sentencing - all the state can do is issue guidlines, the judiciary is independent
Get new prisons built - we have prison capacity. There's a right wing wet dream of having more prison space, but we don't need it. We have significant headroom in prison capacity since the expansions from the 90s on. It is not an issue anymore
Stop bail - needs a referendum as bail is a constitutional right with limited restrictions - we had one to add a restriction in 1997 which passed, but its far from instant.
Somehow imprison people for having multiple convictions - referendum, if even compatible with basic international human rights law.
And on a more general issue, I'd prefer not to have hair-trigger reactionaries in power. We can see from international examples that they're not a good thing.
Threads merged
No discussion of the Tullamore murder permitted
Bullied him? Ah seriously, we have a proven bully in that lad being confronted by a woman and you are turning it into her bullying him. A woman standing up to an online bully is now to be criticised.
Reported him to whom? He was part of her organisation and she dealt with it appropriately. She didn't hide behind a man, she didn't phone him or text him, she bravely confronted the bully. Full credit to her, and anyone who criticises her for it is a disgrace.
The pile-on on her on this issue was started by the now discredited set of 10 banned accounts.
possibly the worst minister we've ever had
hyperbole much?
This is what Fionnan has to say about the anointed one.
She also came out with "Michael Collins is Fine Gael's greatest historic figure".
Michael Collins shot dead - 22 August 1922.
Fine Gael founded - September 8th 1933.
Just breaking now apparently. Coveney and Brophy out partying 2 weeks after #flutegate.
When will these lads cop themselves on?
What interview was that? Any links to it?
Hard to change a culture. 10+ years of power does that. New Politics.
Saw it on twitter, couldn't get the link, think it's the Indo. A party with two groups of 40 plus 30.
Getting more and more like BoJo or Marie Antoinette with their one law for them and another for us.
No, the interview that Sheehan referred to was with Helen McEntee. On Claire Byrne today - I will have a listen later but I know many women's groups are giving the government a very hard time for not acting on the 'promises' they made in the program for government around violence towards women and refuges. I am not surprised given how badly they handled the mother and baby home report.
Always reactive, never proactive.
She got him to pull out of his campaign by threatening him with exposing the snapchat.
She exposed an online bully who stepped down. Would you be happy with an online bully like him being given full reign to become a public representative?
It is not clear to anyone what your problem is, other than you appear not to like women who stand up in person to online male bullies.
You speak for the internet? Are you the oracle?
She got him to withdraw by threatening him. Took it upon herself rather than report. My question was is it appropriate for her to be speaking on online bullying?
Obviously it was entirely appropriate for her, as a woman, to be speaking on online bullying, having shown the courage to confront a male online bully and ensure that he wasn't in a position to do further harm. She is an example to other women of what to do in such situations.
Again I ask, what is your problem with a woman facing up and confronting male online bullies?
Women are allowed take the law into their own hands and side step the authorities?
Courage my hole. She blackmailed him.
So you don't like women standing up to male online bullies. Got it.
What law did she take into her own hands? Are you saying that women are not allowed challenge male online bullies without having a Garda standing at their shoulder? Are you serious on this?