Anyone know what is his medical exception?
I'm not claiming to know anything about the intricacies of Serbian-Australian trade deals.
I'm saying that professional politicians seek to win concessions by making a big fuss. In this case the Serbians.
The complaints about Djokovic's treatment are not just emotional noise, they're to ultimately wring an advantage from Australia, sympathy from other nations and for domestic consumption.
I'm contrasting that with the ordinary Irish people and their relation to the Irish government - no complaining, no attempt to win concessions re restrictions or to be assauged, no demands for short cast-iron restrictions deadlines, just compliance No Questions Asked. The Irish people's 'position' isn't a good one in negotiating terms.
Think about what I'm saying instead of just getting offended, please.
Thats an interesting and incorrect "takeaway" but sure think what ya want - it doesn't really matter either way.
I do wonder would him not saying anything about getting an exemption at the very start would have changed anything ? I just think that was an unnecessary thing to do. I mean given his vaccination status it was obvious he would need an exemption. He didn’t need to tell people.
He was deported solely due to comments he made in 2020 that implied scepticism about vaccines. If you know another official reason as to why Djokovic was deported please let me know.
Is Novak banned from the whole ATP tour now?
the trade between serbia and australia is a rounding error in australian GDP. Australian exports to Serbia are 0. Nothing. Serbian exports to australia are 5M. million not billion. serbia is inconsequential to australia.
Serbia was once part of big serious political and economical power but bigger powers didn't like it and it is not anymore.
Just for players like Australia be able to do whatever they want to to with them now.
No Serbia isn't inconsequential to Australia. If that was true they wouldn't have an embassy in Belgrade.
Most modern countries ultimately desire good relations with one another. While Australia is the 'senior' country in this relationship, they're not indifferent to their relations with smaller countries.
Is this trade a rounding error to Serbia? I said they would seek to win some kind of concession from Aus, not the other way around. But anyway it was just an example of something that the Serbians might be looking for, I don't know (or care) what the exact economic relation between the two countries is because the point I was making doesn't depend on it.
Its like scraping hardened treacle here. Nobody wants to understand or agree with anything I say.
Good luck with the boosters lads, I'm going to make dinner.
No. But in terms of the Grand slams it will be interesting to see how this develops. The latest is:
French Open (May) - Doubtful as the French Govt has just introduced a new vaccine pass law which requires people to have vaccination certificates to enter public places. It will apply to sports people and there are no exemptions.
Wimbledon (June/July) - Yes provided he has a covid test 2 days before entering to the country, quarantine for 10 days and take more covid tests on the 2nd & 8th days of his quarantine.
US Open (Sep) - Problematic as visitors to the States must be fully vaccinated. There are exemption but these may not apply to him.
Given all of these events are months away, a lot will change between now and then. But it will be interesting to see how this all plays out.
Who were the bigger powers that split up Yugoslavia?
His comments were well known prior to his application for entry.
and here was me thinking yugoslavia split up because they were trying to slaughter each other.
The reason for cancelling Djokovic's visa was not because he wasn't vaccinated. It was acknowledged he was not a threat to public health, it was also acknowledged that there is no vaccination requirement to enter Australia, and agreed that he entered the country on a legally valid visa. The reason the minister gave for deporting Djokovic, which he was required under the law to provide, was that by virtue of his previously stated views about vaccines, which he expressed in April 2020 on a FB live feed before a covid vaccine was even available, was that he was considered be a threat to public order because his presence might excite anti vaccine sentiment. Despite entering Australia for no other reason other than to compete in a tennis tournament which he had competed in an won 9 times in 12 years, Australia decided that he should be deported not for his vaccination status but for political opinions made almost two years ago which they considered to be "dangerous". The fact that people are cheering this decision is concerning.
AND comments he has made about the contracts given to the australian mine companies rio tinto in serbia !!
https://firstsportz.com/tennis-novak-djokovic-backs-the-growing-protests-in-serbia-over-the-rio-tinto-mining/
Nothing concerning about any of it.
he lied on his visa application.
loll.... 🤣🤣🤣 well i'm still singing.. as is Nadal et al.. is Djok...? doubt it... aweeeee.. sniff sniff.. lol... "your not singing, your not singing" etc.. lol.. no French Open for him either yikes.. ekk.. and bye bye 21st grand slam.. awwweee... and the Oz tournament will go on and it will be amazing 😁
I guess they never thought about his admitted fact he ignored social distancing rules and isolation rules (even in Serbia is own country with all those people that love him) while he was covid positive and awaiting the results (or maybe not) of a PCR covid test.
So if ignored the rules in his own country, why should Australia allow someone like that into their state to possibly forment similar behaviour.
I find it enlightening how pro Djokovic supporters try and play it he only broke one rule or only did one bad thing.
Of course they never seem to put all the lies, the bad behaviour, the omissions, the errors in judgement together to get the full picture.
WTF ?
Yeah I guess the Croats, the Bosniacs, the Kosovans were an inconsiderate bunch and should have just put up with the ethnic clensing, the mass rapes, the mass slaughters and just let the Serbs run things. 🙄
I dispair that we are going full backwards as a race.
bottom line - tennis or ego tennis or ego... ummm.. 🤔🤔🤔... nope, ego,. not taking vaccine.. bye bye 21st grand slam... see you in 2026 Oz - nope - i'll be too old bye then.. shite.. 😔
pathetic
That's one word for your dear Djokovic.
like throwing a ball to a basset hound on a beach
I'm disappointed we didn't get to see him compete and see who is the greatest ever. Ruined because of covid. It's bullshit lads, bull shiiit.
Countries lining up to ban him. Just shows what a tool he has made of himself.
No doubt someone among his team of high IQ individuals will figure out that he has the connections to get his hands on vaccine documentation regardless of whether he takes a vaccine or not. He will turn up in Paris with proof of vaccine Id bet.
I'm sorry, there's no comparison. Celebrating a successful Irish athlete even when questions are starting to be asked is not remotely the same thing as objecting to investigations, criticising legal proceedings or accusing other governments of victimising your athlete.
Yes.
As I said, his comments and opinions on vaccination were well known for ages. He wouldn't have made it as far as the airplane if that was the ONLY rationale for his deportation.
Serbs him right.
The story is done and dusted here. The libs will claim it as a win for them and take some of the heat off them for the RAT clusterfcuk