Infectious laughter.
It just brightens up any day
Our company starting today got rid of all social distancing and masks etc., in the workplace and left it up to people to decide whether they wanted to continue wearing a mask or not.
What I'm delighted about is, I would say at least 90% of staff came into work today with no mask so for me that's encouraging and great to see and shows the vast majority are ready to move on from this nonsense and stop looking at other people like they're chemical weapons. 🙌🙌🙌
Put my day to day bra in the wash, went for a rummage for one to wear in the meantime.
Found a bra I bought for "one on one leisure activities😉" which is padded, th, warm nips and getting value for my already spent money.
I've got to concentrate concentrate. Hello? Hello? Echo echo.
I've annual leave booked for next Monday and Tuesday. It's been a bit annoyingly busy in work today but just need to get through the rest of the week and then it's happy days extra long weekend 🙌
The watch I bought two years ago this week has stopped working… I’m usually quite diligent as regards keeping receipts for any valuable purchases, this watch was 370 quid, but in my receipt box nothing…. So best case I’m thinking my watch repairer acquaintance might be able to fix it for whatever price..but just before bed I remember where I put the box the watch came in… opened it, receipt and guarantee which is 3 years are both present in the box… happy days…. so I’ll have my cash and then a nice new watch, different manufacturer and different retailer….fantastic.
I can only assume this will be Cool Runnings 2 in a few years
Almost half way through one of the longest parts of my thesis, thought it would NEVER get to here.
The news clip ( itn ) of the 1st Jamaican alpine skier. "I'm mixing it with the best in the world, of which I'm not one , and all the want to do is a reasonable time and not get killed. ". Got to love his realism.
Thanks, I should have posted that myself.
After 40 years , FRAGGLE ROCK. is back :)😀
Cleaned out and defrosted the freezer. Got rid of a load of unidentifiable stuff. Every time I swear I'll be super organised in future. Yeah, right!
A blazing fire on a cold day.
😁😁😁
Friendly New Home ZOT.
😁
Reminds me of this:
Friendly “hi” when passing by strangers walking on street.
My little nephew's musical tastes in comparison to a regular child tastes.
As my brother told me a story about his little young fella, not yet five and a half.
He is a fan of Heavy Metal the more fast heavy beat, the less words the better - in particular - Rammstein's - Deutschland. This happened by accident by the way. (It was on my brother's gym playlist)
It is a very particular taste. The likes of Iron Man by Black Sabbath is boring apparently. Has to be a deep voice and fast heavy beat. All the stuff he really likes is similar. Classical music was tried but my nephew claims that only makes him want to go asleep.
That is not even the funny part. They had a playdate arranged with another fella who is older than my nephew.
But my nephew was disappointed when his friend did not like the heavy metal. The friend called it 'big people music'. The friend wanted to listen to Paw Patrol and play with Paw Patrol. My nephew was rolling his eyes at this, thinks Paw Patrol is for babies. And watching his friend play paw patrol on his own - said 'Daddy he is just playing with paw patrol!!'
So my brother had to intervene and set up a board game for the two of them.
All I can think of is what the nephew will be like in 10 years.
In a recent exercise he had to do for school . One of the questions were
'What is your favourite song?'
My brother said the young lad wanted to put down Rammstein - Deutschland. But managed to 'talk him down' to Cheryl Crow.
As my brother knew Rammstein's - Deutschland would raise some eyebrows.
I have been laughing about that for most of the day
A really nice coffee.
Little young lads watching a hurling match in front of me. Looked about 5-7. Must have been their first game. They saw the yellow sliothar and said ‘oh look a tennis ball’. 🤣
Fitness equipment arrived !
what I thought would have been a 2-3 hour job took them 50 minutes…
ultra efficient, professional and all done safely with masks, gloves and sanitiser… clean efficient and nice to deal with…
Got clarification about my last "small" assessment, while longer than usual(ta in itself) its not anything like as intense a real relief!
Was deleting phones/dl's from my phone and one of them was my timetable for this year(last class was yesterday afternoon) just one long asses and final submission to go and it will be all over!
Th its been the longest and shortest 4 calendar years ever.
Handed in my notice today. Going to a better company, better hours, better culture, better prospects and more money. Huzzah!
Now over to the TA thread to complain about my notice period being three flippin months...
Not something normally viewed in urban Dublin. Looked up when I heard ducks/geese. Must have been 50 of them flying in a big V formation over my head.
TH it's dark early, and doesn't get bright til late..
Now, the dark aint necessarily a TH....
but,
It does make it easier to surreptitiously wander to shop, without having to wave to people (or meet them even 😂) in cars, and the likes.. 😃
Does be hard to notice people when they're inside their 'dreadnaughts' - despite what people say about "going out to get some fresh air" , or "it's good to be out and about and notice things, inside of being stuck inside the house, or inside of a car/bus/train".. Far easier as a driver/passenger to notice/recognise someone out walking or cycling, than vice versa... People in car might be thinking: "Jaysus, I waved to that fekker, and he never waved back" ..... either that or "that fella's in a world of his own".... More like he's too stressed out being 'on view' , so is not 'chilled' enough to 'take everything in', or indeed, to notice people who may be waving from the (close enough to) hidden confines of a car going by no slower than 25mph....
out and about and notice things
A lot easier to 'notice things' from inside a car, imo, as when out and about walking in the sprawling 'minitropolis' ; it feels very intense/claustrophic, and I 'notice' sfa.. ☹️ maybe others fare better in this regard...
Something that gave me a smile today - though I can predict some of the negative takes some might have on it - was a story about a restaurant that opened in Tokyo a few years ago. But I am only seeing the story now.
Named "The restaurant of Mistaken Orders" - all the customer facing staff of the restaurant are people suffering from dementia. So there is some likelihood your order is going to go entirely wrong or end up at the wrong table.
Apparently the stated goal of the restaurant is to help people understand those who are suffering from this condition. I guess a second benefit not stated in the article I read is that it allows people to work - who otherwise might not get that chance. And to do so in an environment both understanding and accepting of their condition.
Since opening the restaurant they have calculated that around 40% of the orders have gone wrong already but nearly 100% of the customers declared themselves happy all the same because the food they did get was very good anyway. To be honest I can think of a few restaurants in my time where 40% would be a worthy target for improvement!
Anyway it's a little story that gave my happiness level a little bump for whatever reason.
I’ve nothing to do tomorrow….that’s the happyning
apart from call the fitness equipment company to find out where my stuff is and enquire as to why they are not responding to my very courteous and polite email… the person who I am emailing in sales has no out of office so given that and that it’s a significant duration of time since I emailed her without receiving a reply after a significant amount of time from when I paid them 100% upfront … I’m just being 100% stonewalled.
im incredibly polite, understanding and facilitating when dealing with frontline staff / sales… usually regardless of the issue, been there, not always their fault, but when you are being a disingenuous fûckhound, being deliberately evasive having taken a persons money and promised them a service and agreed an approximate timeline in writing that they don’t get close to delivering on or attempt to communicate regarding they can get to fûck really… I just want and need.. INFORMATION !
something went awry, email me… my reply will be along the lines of….“ok, thanks, shît happens, let me know, keep me in the loop”… but almost two grand of my cash sitting in their account and I can’t get an email replying explaining what has happened or what will happen or where my stuff is ?
so I’m happy as the gloves need to come off, and these individuals can with pleasure keep the stonewalling, fobbing me off and I’ll with pleasure be paying a visit back to their showroom….if that’s what I need to do to talk to someone..
Was getting done for no tax, insurance and nct earlier.
Thankfully the Garda was completely understanding when I explained that it was my agent that messed up the paperwork! 😂
This post
😅
At four different locations today, friendly fuzzy little young dogs/puppies came running up to me in that smiley friendly way looking to play and make friends. A black lab collie mix about twelve weeks old, a tiny jack Russell pup, a teenage golden retriever and a German Shephard pup.
I am a puppy magnet. Which is a strange super power but hey ho.