Anyone know what is his medical exception?
Actually, you've just reminded me, I got the date wrong on my visa application for Australia and was sent to Nauru for six months hard labour. So Djokovic is a lucky boy to only be sent home.
Like you, I'm not sure why this point that absolutely and irrefutably backs up my argument only occurred to me now, but like yours, it's absolutely true and not at all fictional.
He would indeed be used to doing all the forms.
Wonder why he lied on this one?
stuff like that happens regularly.
and despite what boards people think, sometimes the rational approach is taken unless it's a deliberate thing trying to hide something.
there is no reason to lie.
it's an information thing.
not an exclusion to being allowed enter
lol - ah c'mere.. you either think i'm an idiot or you actually believe he wasn't consulted about this v v v important "box".. lol
🤣🤣
Djokovic employs a number of people and leads quite a busy life as the number one tennis player in the world
this was just the standard online form job
he hasn't filled in a form like that in a decade I would say (at least)
if you choose not to believe that, I'd find that weird but at this point don't really care!
Thats true up to a point, I think opinions would have changed seeing him out and about days after claiming he was positive. And McGregor isn’t the popular figure he once was, he has thrown a lot of the popularity away with his behaviour.
Context does not matter to Australia's border police. The rules matter and he can't travel from Serbia to Spain whether you think it makes a difference or not
@glasso FYI "consulted"!!!!
ahh bless..
in any event, its up to the fed gov to grant access into the country... not tennis Oz.. or the state gov of Victoria..
I feel really sorry for the other participants.. he has **** all over their tournament
hopefully in a few days, there won't be a word about him and it'll be all about the tennis
There was a reason to lie.
It was to try to circumvent the entry requirements to get into Australia.
Fortunately it didn’t work.
Djokovic is perhaps the world's most notorious anti vaxxer.
There was no way his entry to Australia wasn't going to be very controversial and highly scrutinised.
With that in mind, I simply don't believe that someone employed to manage his affairs simply forgot that he'd been in Spain that very week. It's not plausible. Like, the form could not be more clear about the penalties for incorrect information. No one could simply skim over it.
He's a bad person, a genuinely nasty man and I'm just glad he's getting his comeuppance. Fair play to the Aussies.
Genuine question Glassopy. You are perfectly aligned with NIGEL FARAGE. Are you really comfortable with that?
if the agent hadn't made that mistake and put in / declared the Serbia to Spain travel it would not have been a "not getting in" aspect to going to Australia
there was no deliberate reason to lie on that
if it would have meant him not getting in it would be a reason to lie
I'm aligned with Farage - like seriously.
is that your level of argumentation?
I'm embarrassed for you.
Ah that's good, I genuinely wouldn't have thought embarrassment was something you were capable of, based on your posts here.
You're defending a rabid anti vaxxer who, knowing he was Covid positive, just went about his business regardless, then lied on his entry form so as not to have to deal with the consequences of his own arrogance.
Being a fan of Nigel Farage would be a step up.
It wasn’t a mistake.
Surely you can’t be that naive.
The grandstanding from people here about this is mind boggling.
Australia knew their stance on the issue and still allowed this situation to develop. We've had over a week of this story and it's reached the only conclusion it was ever likely to reach.
Australia has created a situation where punitive measures are the norm in relation to Covid. This is not a good development, but people here are congratulating them for it.
I wonder how happy posters here would be to be in a northern territory covid camp for a fortnight because they were a close contact.
Australia was out to prove a point with this Djokovic situation. They should have just told him he wasn't welcome to begin with.
As much as Djokovic might look bad coming out of this situation Australia looks just as bad to any reasonable person.
repeating this from my post literally 2 post up - it's very straightforward to understand I would have thought.
the logic is staggeringly simple
Yeah… but it wasn’t a mistake.
Who said they welcomed him with open arms? Was he invited or did he just show up and shove his nose into something that was none of his business?
Djokovic is not a rabid anti-vaxxer
ever since real actual vaccines came out this year, so it was an actual choice for people around the world he has refused to be drawn on the issue precisely because he didn't want to be a totem pole for the online anti-vaxx loopers
He said this in April 2021
He also organised a vaccine drive a the Serbian open
and has all of 2021 at all ever said what his vaccine intentions were
That is not a rabid anti-vaxxer
he doensn't want to have to get the vaccine himself, that's it
you do realise that that makes absolutely zero sense having had the explanation
repeating for effect!
probably enough now - if you haven't got it by now then....
Why do all ye pro-Djokovic give so much of a sh1t?
Genuine question. Have ye been all mad big fans of his for years, or even big fans of tennis? Or are ye just cranky about covid and want to project some moaning through him?
He's a multi-millionaire who thought the rules didn't apply to him and that he was better than all the little people he wanted to sh1t all over by bypassing all the rules and restrictions that they have to follow. Fu^k him. I'm not losing any sleep over him.
Boris Johnson/Djokovic/whoever. Rules are for them as well.
bless.. mayb they have nothing better to do 😕
They thought they had a victory against the deep state/freemasons/Jeff Besoz who are trying to enslave us with 5G magnetic vaccines.
They have dug too deep into Novak's bullsht to try turning round now so just have to defend this dung hill for dear life.
Why do the Australian government ask about travel movements for 14 days before entry?
Surely the answer has a bearing on whether one will be allowed enter the country or a bearing on how that person is handled on entering the country such as requiring quarantine etc.
I'm not on YouTube or Facebook so no idea what your on about
Do you disagree with the fact that having had covid gives better antibodies than the vaccine ?
Bingo. They're too far gone to be able to turn around now. This thread was full of anti-vax posters defending him...... not because they thought he was right, but because they thought he was getting one over on the pro-vaccine side. Soon as it was announced he was gone, they deserted their ship like the scurrying little rats that they are. Bar a few brave souls, too balls-deep to extricate themselves from the nonsense.
If the decision had gone the other way, and he was allowed play, this thread would be full to the brim of sore winners, jumping up and down and rubbing everyone else's face in it. Because that's what it's all about to them. Not the tennis, not the Ozzies, not the safety of people, hell.... Not even Djokovic. Half the mouth breathers couldn't even spell his name correctly, and the rest would sooner gargle barbed wire than have to interact with a Serbian. It's all about political point scoring, getting one over on the other side.
But, like I said, they're gone. And we're left with the dregs. People who keep posting the same crap repeatedly, even though it doesn't even bear resemblance to an actual sentence.
"if the agent hadn't made that mistake and put in / declared the Serbia to Spain travel it would not have been a "not getting in" aspect to going to Australia"
Still don't know what that's supposed to mean.
having consulted the Migration Act 1958 I would be of the opinion that the Minister's personal power is indeed final and not subject to review.
S474 of the Migration Act 1958 reads:-
Decisions under Act are final
(1) A privative clause decision:
(a) is final and conclusive; and
(b) must not be challenged, appealed against, reviewed, quashed or called in question in any court; and
(c) is not subject to prohibition, mandamus, injunction, declaration or certiorari in any court on any account.
(2) In this section:
"privative clause decision" means a decision of an administrative character made, proposed to be made, or required to be made, as the case may be, under this Act
Such privative clause restrictions have been subject to many challenges in the courts over the years, some successful to a certain degree, and some not so, however I would think he will need to go to the Supreme Court with this one rather than the Federal Circuit and Family Court, but, we will wait and see what happens.
Have heard that a fast track court appearance rather than an interview may be starting at 10.15 AEDT Saturday (which is in about 5 minutes our time) so we may find out more very soon.
Maybe Djokovic is just a bit thick that he can't remember where he was a week ago.