Will he take the job as an Taniste next December or retire ?
In a heartbeat, that's how awful Martin is.BoJo didn't allow his version of Tony Holohan to defacto take over as leader
I'd much prefer the UK approach to the past two years, I was over there few months back, things were normal compared to this hysteria frenzy of fear
Leo should have been made resign for that.
And to think that this incumbent will be replaced by someone currently under Garda investigation.
Scraping the barrel.
Newstalk had Varadkar on recently and he was introduced as the Taoiseach, the reporter laughed in embarrassment at the mistake but it was telling.
If you told people Martin was the Press secretary for the Govt quite a few wouldn't doubt it.
I find it hard to come up with any name at all from the FF party without googling them.
FG have done a great job making me believe this is still their government
A really nice low benchmark. Yes, I'd put MM just above him.
Why would I prefer MM over Boris?
You would honestly happily have Boris at Taoiseach, despite the fact that he practically sh*t on everyone in the UK including the Royal Family over the last number of years between Brexit and the pandemic?
True. He has no presence, no charisma and, it would seem, no plan of what he wants to do.
I think that's just semantics, if he were to admit now, he's stepping down, there'd be a stampede to replace him which would probably be more damaging for FF, he's intent in completing his Term in office, he won't let anything distract from that, I'm of course only surmising and think he'll make an announcement nearer to December, IMO of course 😏
But he's still insisting he will lead FF into the next election. At what point do you think he comes clean about his true intentions?
His future, whether negotiating State level treaties, dealing with a national emergency or scrubbing the toilet is the same.
Bland.
Which Government would they be... who be the Taoiseach... or would we have a PM...
Honestly, I think he's personally had enough, he's achieved his goal, getting into the Taoiseachs office, I think he go to the back benches before retiring.
The infighting within FF seems to have calmed down but I still get a sense of deep unease with this FFG arrangement, albeit its clearly a marriage of convenience more than anything.
I personally like MM, not a supporter, can't say I'm overly inspired by his leadership skills but he was clearly, consistently and Bizzarely undermined at every turn by a small cohort in FG .
Above anything, he does appear to be a very decent human being and has empathy, a trait sadly lacking certain quarters of this coalition government.
Oh, I see you posted the below on another thread so you're obviously not expecting anyone to take you seriously.
"Those Quislings are not my Government. I recognise only the Government of the 32-County Irish Republic"
One of the worst people in existence!?
Who do you expect to take you seriously when you come out with that kind of ridiculous statement?
And I think Martin is a weak Taoiseach by the way, but how can you say he is one of the worst people in existence?
Didn’t realise it took that long!
So it’s half the period from the formation of the government to the date of the next scheduled GE?
Why ?
You have a short memory ! it took almost 6 months after the February 2020 election to form a government
Was it not 2.5 years each, and the government was formed in February 2020?
He doesn't come across as a good person. He comes across as one of the worst people in existence, which he is. Admittedly Leo Varadkar is an even worse excuse for a person.
No December
Its funny that back in 08 he was part of the Cabinet who were lying through their teeth telling us on the 6 o clock news everything was grand when they knew full well the IMF were about to land at Dublin airport.
If someone told me back then one of these liars would be Taoiseach 12 years later I'd have laughed them out of it.
He wanted a go in the bosses chair no matter what and would have sold his soul to get it.
If FG are somehow doing well in the polls, and he attempts to retire, expect Varadkar to claim its a breach of the deal and call an election. He doesn't want whoever their new leader is going to be (fecked if I know, various touted options like Dooley and Calleary have become impossible or implausible) having any time in the job to bed in before an election.
No December 15th
Is it not August?
Well if he is a Supreme court judge and says the new legislation was "ambiguous" suggests to me the legislation is flawed if no-one challenged what he said... i am just saying what i read in the Times... There were a few of the heavy legal councils present and as AFAIK he was giving evidence under oath...
If a supreme court judge does not understand the rules how can anyone be taken to court under this legislation... i may be wrong but this is what was reported...
What should happen... maybe he should be asked to clarify so people like may understand...
Just to point out that some others here opined.
We were asked to address this question-
So what are you suggesting should have happened to Seamus Wolfe?
And people here are perfectly entitled to comment on what's going on around the world without others trying to deflect attention away from it by saying 'we should be getting our own house in order'.
We're doing relatively ok compared to the shitshows in Australia and the UK.
I seen Seamus Wolfe said last week that the legislation that caused the uproar in Clifden could be interpreted in different ways or at least that's what i think he said according to the Times...
I did not mention MM but all what we are talking happened on his watch... we should make sure we are ok before checking on what is happening in Australia and the UK... that's what i am saying
I also have to discuss this. Unable to keep his TD's in order? Apart from Marc MacSharry, who is no longer with the party, who else has he 'failed to keep in order'?
The most vocal challenger to his leadership, Jim O'Callaghan, is politically damaged because Martin made him a director of elections for a truly awful by-election campaign in O'Callaghan's own constituency and he has barely been heard from since.
You can accuse him of a lot of things, but nobody has emerged as a true successor to Martin because none of them know what direction to go in as a party, whereas Martin is just getting on with the job.
A bit of shouting and roaring at parliamentary party meetings means f*ck all, in all honesty.