Anyone know what is his medical exception?
Hmm. So a tennis player lying on his paperwork to enter Australia and work and earn a lot of money which they will take to their home country is grand, but a poor oul' Iraqi lying on his paperwork to come into Ireland and work and earn a relatively small sum of money which they will take to their home country is bad.
Any other laws which you think Djokovic should be granted immunity against?
Try lying on your paperwork to enter the US and see how you get on if you are caught. Actually, if you go to the US on a visa waiver, you don't even have a right to any appeal against the individual CBP officer's on-the-spot decision.
You must be au fait with all the tv contract details, timings and when they are renewed huh?
Past figures affect the renewal of contracts so that point is still relevant.
Also an event in the nearer geographic area of Japan and China (Singapore) is going to more directly appeal to those markets.
That would be obvious to pretty much anyone.
No, hang on a second. You're deliberately leaving out some very vital information, much like Novax himself did, ironically.
He didn't follow the exemptions process truthfully. His exemption was granted based on information he provided, information which subsequently was found to be untrue. So the exemption was revoked. He then tried to swindle his way out of that lie, blaming everyone else around him. He was caught out, and has to face the consequences of that. He has been pretty economical with the truth so far, and any further attempts to explain his actions should be viewed with a hefty amount of skepticism.
Who cares that he was provided with an exemption, if that exemption was subsequently revoked? Its the exact same as never having been granted one in the first place. Trying to paint him as the victim in all of this is just window dressing.
The Australian Government is looking very very childish right now.
Not at all. The authorities there have to enforce their own rules or else look like eejits.
The Australian government went from being criticised to being loved by the majority of the world after cancelling the visa.
What's untrue?
He applied for an exemption on the basis of "recent covid" and has the Covid test to prove it.
He got the exemption. Others got the same exemption on the same basis.
The exemption was never revoked.
You're making that up.
Haha. They’re supported by the majority. Djokovic is looking like a petulant little b1tch
Is it negative, has he antibodies
yes
and
They need to grow up, and change their stupid rules as them make no sense.
It seems they are scheduling him to meet with immigration officials tomorrow.
Not entirely. We are not going to see the greatest tennis player in the world, possibly ever, attempt to make history. It is a loss for the fans and spectators. It is a loss for the players, especially the winner, as he won't be able to contend against Djokovic and it will be a huge loss to the sponsors of the event.
But he may still play. So I won't entirely give up hope just yet.
A booting ceremony is on the cards, I hope. 🥾
Like Djokovic when he said he had been in Spain for the past 14 days.
Or maybe that was an "administrative error"
"Mr. Djokovic has one challenge remaining"
absolutely nothing to do with the exemption that the poster was making a point about.
ffs, just another one.
I admire Novak's strength of character refusing to vaccinate.
"cLeRiCuL ErRuR"
Ok let's all get on the same page here.
The Australian Technical Advisory Group on Immunisation (ATAGI) issued its most recent and definitive document on Covid and immigration exemptions on 14th December. The document is easily available, have a read if you like.
Djokovic may have applied for an exemption on the basis of prior Covid infection, but that document will quickly tell you that he didn't meet the criteria, so I would call it a void application rather than withdrawal, but in any case it was compounded by his violations of standard immigration requirements that has been widely described in recent days.
It's worth noting that of three other players and one official who entered on the same basis, one has left voluntarily and two others have been expelled.
Djokovic cannot complain of unfair treatment lads, if anything he should be long gone already.
His visa was revoked, twice. January 6th, when he first arrived. Then, after that was deemed to be unfair and the decision to revoke it was quashed on a technicality, it was revoked again......literally this morning.
How am I making it up? I mean, why are we talking about him if it wasn't revoked?
I think the world will keep spinning even if all of Djokovic’s dreams don’t come true. 🌈
As his application was assessed by 2 panels (one from the Victorian Government and one from Tennis Australia) how did they both make the error of granting Djokovic's exemption if he didn't meet the criteria?
Obviously the error is on them.
Djokovic and the others applied and followed the guidelines.
They didn't award themselves the exemption!!!
The two panels did.
Again, neither Djokovic or the others would have come near the Australian border otherwise!
They let in the Czech player and the official(s) ahead of Djokovic and only rounded them up after the Djokovic political flip-flop.
Even a very simple person could see that that stinks of shite, ass-covering and "retrospective" consistency.
You've mixed up exemption and visa.
It's quite an important distinction in this whole saga.
Maybe it's a little complex for some.
I'm guessing geography isn't your strong point. Singapore is a long way from China.
This will probably blow your mind but Wimbledon is closer to Beijing than Melbourne is.
In the grand scheme of things this will have very little effect on the Australian Open or the Australian economy.
Tennis Australia were told this by the Minister, in writing, on 29th November. This is before the deadline for exemptions on 10th December.
Singapore is nearer to China, Japan and other Asian markets than Australia and also obviously considered a lot more Asian than Australia.
Asian markets.
But you know this quite well but for the sake of being obtuse that must be ignored.
Beijing is one city in China and Wimbledon has nothing to do with the conversation.
China is also fairly large as you may have noticed.
Well even if like me you don't like the guy, you have to admit he is formidable on every type of court.
Oh and they found a lad willing to fly him out of Oz toute suite.
https://preview.redd.it/m4kbsxwo7cb81.gif?width=500&format=mp4&s=32af67d22a6914bd114c3ee766c66b9e930d12da
Yes it will but that is not the point. It will keep spinning, but the tournament will be diminished regardless of what you think about Djokovic's visa application, the Australian government's ruling and/or viruses.
Apologies, you're correct.
An easy mistake to make, but understandable given the mess involved.
Anyway, the end result is the same: his permission to enter the country was initially granted subject to certain criteria. He failed to meet those criteria, and his permission is no longer valid, hence he's gone. Standing there, stamping your feet, screaming "HE WAS GRANTED A VISA, THE AUSSIES ARE AT FAULT!!!!" is a ridiculous stance to take, given what we know.
Like a child at the dinner table, who's told they can have ice-cream if they finish their dinner. After they've been handed the ice-cream, it turns out they threw half the dinner on the floor, so it's taken back. You're the child in this scenario, throwing a fit because you no longer have any raspberry ripple.
When an individual has someone to help advocate a position, insurance companies and healthcare providers are forced to see the person behind
My point is again, that none of this would have happened -> Djokovic or the others wouldn't have been near to Australia in the first place except for the state-sponsored, federal-approved exemptions process that Djokovic and the others applied to in good faith and were told that they were granted an exemption and should expect "all to be well" for coming to and entering Australia.
The exemptions worked exactly as designed when the Czech player and the others came and got into Australia.
It was political flip-flopping that stopped Djokovic.
All that followed, followed, but it's vital to look at how this clusterfcuk came about in the first place (vaccines etc aside - all that is obvious)