Anyone know what is his medical exception?
The timetable according to The Guardian is:
So going to run on a bit yet.
Why are you defending somebody who broke the law?
Have you ever travelled to Australia? They are incredibly strict on immigration. I was ages going through immigration there as they were checking so much stuff.
I didn't say Ireland doesn't love red tape as well.
Let us know how you get on with the extension.
you are one of the nasties that Man V manURE was talking about have a nice day we are not all sports fanatics.
All you're doing is saying the same as I'm saying in a different way. The decision was made as you said to stop anyone getting the idea that someone else got preferential treatment. Djokovic had an easier route into Australia than most Australians have had in the last couple of years. It really wouldn't be a good look for the government to allow him to stay.
Hahahahahahah
While Morrison's government has won support at home for its tough stance on border security during the pandemic, it has not escaped criticism for the seemingly inconsistent handling of Djokovic's visa application
"Australians have made many sacrifices during this pandemic, and they rightly expect the result of those sacrifices to be protected," Morrison said in a statement.
"This is what the minister is doing in taking this action today. Our strong border protection policies have kept Australians safe," he said, adding he would be making no further comment in view of expected legal proceedings.
Morrison makes a statement on it
Just wondering how deporting Djokovic now "protects sacrifices" exactly?
Makes no sense.
In the real world with Omicron raging in Australia (and spreading across boosted, vaccinated and anyone) and Djokovic with recent immunity I don't see how anything is protected here.
Anyone with a brain can see that it's just a pandering political reasoning designed to appease the electorate for police state pandemic decisions that this very same government took...
"protecting sacrifices" my hole!
Why would a Marvel superhero get involved in this mess? 😉
No rules or red tape in Ireland, thank goodness!
Still puzzled why a grant of probate took over 2 years to sort and €5K and why my son's foreign birth registration took 23 months to process, or why I can't remove any weeds, or prune any shrubs, at my holiday home.
Think I'll add an 80m square extension to the house - all I need to do is ring a builder, show them the plan and tell them to get started, right?
+1. he has brought this upon himself and no ones fault but his own. It’s his arrogance that has led him to this point
Nah! It's nothing to do with "protecting the integrity around their visa process."
Australian Prime Minister Scott Morrison has weighed in on the latest turn of events, saying that he had made "note" of Immigration Minister Alex Hawke's decision.
"I understand that following careful consideration, action has been taken to cancel Djokovic's visa on health and good order grounds," he said.
"Australians have made many sacrifices during this pandemic, and they rightly expect the results of those sacrifices to be protected. That is what the minister is doing in taking this action today."
https://www.bbc.com/news/live/world-australia-59964905/page/2
This is the real reason. If the Australian public was on Djokovic's side, then the politicians wouldn't give a 💩. The public don't like the perceived preferential treatment for one person based on his status, while they've had to suffer probably excessive restrictions.
This site is full of nasty boys and mean girls.
Why do you think sports stars deserve special treatment from the State?
Roll Novak Roll....
ok thanks i wasnt sure thats all lot of folks being nasty i was unaware of that.
Fooking rich dragging in fair play and compassion when discussing Novax Djokovic and his Australian escapade.
Where was old Novaks compassion when he went covid positive to meet journalists, unmask himself and never let them know ?
Where was his compassion when he organsied a tour that basically was a covid breeding ground?
Why does old Novak get an exemption in the first place when others have been turned away without vaccination?
How many others would be straight out turfed out immediately rather than hang around with expensive legal teams ready to mount legal challenges?
No the arrogance has been Novak.
He went on social media and basically bragged how he was off to Australia without vaccination and he had an exemption.
There is no way in hell the Asutralian government and indeed the Australian immigration authorities could allow him stay.
He has given the two fingers to every single measure that authorities and government brought in to try and prevent the spread of covid and thus limit the deaths.
He has given the two fingers to 90% of the Australian population that have gotten vaccinated.
And given the two fingers to the Australian population, with often great personal sacrifices, that have abided by some of the world's most strict lockdowns.
And to top it off he then also gives the two fingers to their immigration rules and regulations.
Yes I do.
Have you ever been to Australia? They really love rules and red tape. They would never allow a situation where people are allowed to bypass border rules.
As an aside I don't believe that Djokovic posed a threat to anyone including himself in terms of covid but all that the Australian government can see is that he broke the rules and shouldn't be allowed stay. It really is that simple with them.
As the pandemic has proven in regards to Australia and well put by this Clive James chap.
Give every unvaccinated person with a family a visa!! 😂😂😂
You really believe this?
and if true, in this case, it paints them as utter numpties. Arrogant aggressive numpties. With no sense of common sense, fair play, or compassion
Jaysus H Christ.
Do you know how sports work at all ?
Also enlightening how one of Novax's big supporters thanked your post. 🙄
The Australian government honestly couldn't care less if Djokovic is there to play tennis, visit kangaroo shelters or learn to throw boomerangs. That doesn't even come into the decision around his visa. The only thing they are interested in is protecting the integrity around their visa process. Simple as that.
The worst thing Djokovic has done is make ScoMo and the Liberals look good prior to an election. Unforgivable.
The Chinese must love him, deflecting from their policy of allowing senior party officials to have their way with any woman/girl they like.
Out of the tournament after only missing 2 shots.
Aye
Covid has like everything else in these times become another sphere within which people get to exert their identity.
He played last year and the sky didn't fall in.
The world is not a welcoming place for anyone who doesn't fall in line.
cracked up laughing
This is a livestream of the court hearing going on right now.
Tournament decided by Hawkeye. Nadal will be happy. At least Andy Murray will still be knocked out before end of week 1.
This 133c law allows for the arbitrary "at discretion of" basis.
It's basically like " you're out, we don't need to prove why, it's at my discretion and I'm saying that it's in the public interest"
"To protect Australian sacrifices" apparently
The last hearing is irrelevant in this regard as 133c was not used and a decision was granted there in favour of djokovic because the border agent messed up on procedure.
I honestly don't see a visa being revoked for incorrect immigration documentation, regardless of whether it was deliberate or not, as "arbitrary".
Australia are notorious, even pre-Covid, for their stringent border controls.
The only difference here is that most people don't get the chance to appeal in court, they just get put on the first plane home. Djokovic has had far more due process than most people who enter Australia on false pretences.