Anyone know what is his medical exception?
You want the immigration minister to publicly condone letting people stay after submitting falsified immigration records?
This is my point Gmisk.
The reason he is being launched is not pandemic related. It's because he didn't account for his movements correctly.
Criteria which existed on those forms pre-pandemic.
But he had the PCR test. From a public health point of view he should be tickety boo.
I think people are having it both ways here. From a covid perspective he is as safe as a vaxxed person. Proof of positive infection etc.
They have arrived at their desired decision via the wrong route.
On a slightly seperate issue but is anyone going to tell Australia they are not beating the virus, and i wonder how long china will continue to lockdown millions , as for this decision Australia has made a pantomime out of it all, i wonder how many times the ministry makes this type of intervention
the court appeal wasn't on the merits of his visa application.
The minister stepping in here is way OTT
I could absolutely understand it if the person was a criminal, on a terrorist watchlist, or if some dangerous information was known to them.
but to step in in this instance is just wrong
Yeah, that's why I don't understand the "rules apply to everyone" argument here when they actually have gone well out of their way to deport the guy after he won the appeal. For most normal people they would win the appeal and that would be the end of it.
So it's actually the opposite situation here where he is being specially singled out for deportation because of who he is and because of how high profile the case is. A normal person would never have their case all over international news and if a regular person won their appeal the public wouldn't even know, or care, about it and they would not be deported.
I am very much for very tight, ala Australia, restrictions on allowing in anyone that just shows up.
And it seems unlike a lot of the people that share that view, I don't see any season this clown from Serbia should be allowed in.
I am sure they are gutted. 😁
In my eyes they have gained respect, even that eejit ScoMo.
They have shown the world that it doesn't matter who you are, the rules apply to you.
I would guess some places possibly like here wouldn't have the balls to do that.
BTW here is a right laugh for ye.
One of Djokovic's arguments against the immigration authorities in his court appeal was that immigration authorities did not fill out his VISA cancellation notice correctly.
Yet less than a week later he is claiming the mistake on his immigration form about not travelling was an honest mistake.
The guy is a chancer.
he
as walshb said
He is not some nobody.
they clearly don't think the same rules should apply to him.
Border force stuffed up with how they treated him. He won his court case against this. The minister has now stepped in and used his authority to cancel his visa again, which is way OTT. This kind of ministerial intervention should only be used in very serious/exceptional circumstances...which this is not.
Did he break the law or not? I don't think you have one rule for the wealthy and another rule for the plebs.
This was great news to wake up to. He lied and broke the rules. Deportation is the correct decision.
it is not a stroke of a pen. providing misleading information is breaking australian law. you just think he is so special that the law shouldn't apply to him.
Mate you're floundering.
This is not a pop at you Shelga but just an observation in the grand scheme of things. A quote from your post:
"From Australia's point of view- they should have anticipated this fiasco as Djokovic is known to have not received the vaccine, and stopped him from flying into the country to begin with. To me it sounds like they need much clearer alignment between their state and federal entry policies."
So his stance on vaccination should be pre-emptively held against him as he is famous and thus his vax status is common knowledge.
But at the same time in this thread people want him treated like a normal bloke at the immigration counter.
Is he Joe Soap or is he the famous Tennis player?
If he’s deported does that mean he’ll never be able to play in the Aussie open again?
If Novak had arrived in Australia via steam ship in 1889 would he have even had to fill out a form? Rules change, requirements change. The fact that things were different in the past is irrelevant.
Quit hiding behind a stroke of a pen on a form here. It’s obtuse.
try assess all that went on: The person, the event, the circumstances, the struggle, the courts, the rulings, the efforts and stresses…
and then see how he made it all the way to the draw after winning his court case. Then just think about the all powerful minister and the attitude of “fook him. I’m not going to use common and decent discretion here an allow this man play. I’m going to send him packing because I can, and it will appease a mob.”
can folks not step away and see the full picture here? Three weeks and he is gone. He is not some nobody. He’s not a criminal, a welfare sponger, a terrorist:
He has been an outstanding servant to the Australian Open.
and we have people hiding behind a form where an omission was made…
so all this, and all people can see and feel is an omission on a form?
I think this is sick
If in 2016 he gave misleading information on his visa application on an important question that decides whether people get in or not, then the authorities found out about it, yes he almost certainly would be deported.
Now there wasn't a global pandemic at the time so it would have had to be a different question as that question would not have been as important. But if he was, say, trying to smuggle in an invasive species of animal at the time, rather than potentially smuggling in an invasive virus now, it would have been the same.
treating everybody equally regardless of status is the definition of fair
This is what it all comes down to.
This all started with "Novak is abiding by the rules, he got his exemption, he shouldn't be treated any differently because of who he is". Fair enough.
Except now the lunatic fringe says "Well, the rules that Novak broke don't really matter, and he should be treated differently because of who he is".
He's a very unpleasant person and the only people who seem to have any sympathy for him are themselves very unpleasant people.
"If you or I had done the same, do you think the Australians would have let us in?"
If you are a star that would bring them millions of dollars, sure they will do the same - invite you, get their money and then kick you off.
Imagine your invited to the party just to come a give the present to birthday person and then being thrown out of the door because "they can do it". Surely they can, but it is horribly unfair...
I think so yes. Would you expect Joe Biden to quarantine in a hotel if he was on a visit to Australia?
There are always shades of grey.
This is the Tennis tour circuit. You can map out the year, Rolland Garros , Wimbledon , Flushing Meadows. Everyone knows where these players are going to be barring injury.
People are carrying on like Novak turned up in flip flops with a backpack and he is off to the Whitsundays, Ayers Rock and Bondi Junction on the razzle.
He is here to play tennis for a fortnight on the telly and then he will be gone.
Of course he is different to the bricklayer from Cabra. He just is.
Do you know the meaning of the term "lying by omission"?
Just when I thought I was in, they pull me back out.
Political suicide to let him in given what Australia have been through with lockdowns.
It appears Novak and him team probably made the decision easy for the Australian government.
providing misleading information on a visa application IS breaking australian law.
If you were Djokovic, you'd have no choice but to get the hell our of Australia, cos they're not letting you in.
I feel really sorry for thousands of Djokovic tennis fans dirty tricked by Australia Open organisers and Australia government who issued invitation to the player just to halt him on border and not allowing to play. They got their dirty money bit will NEVER get peoples respect...
What could have possibly changed since 2016...oh yes I remember a pandemic...one in which Australia (for better or worse) has for the most part tried to rideout by closing their borders to people where and when possible, especially those who aren't vaccinated.
the court case was only on a procedural issue not the facts of his visa application.