Proper justice in the US.
Here he'd get community service.
No they won't so stop making things up.
Examples? I don't deny there may be odd occasions where a "lenient" sentence is given (by Irish standards lenient not being lenient at all) but victims have an expectation of punishment.
This is more often than not denied to victims of crime in Ireland.
Sickening story, hopefully the sentencing will reflect the seriousness of what he has done.
Very likely he'll get 20 years.
For sentencing they'll be made aware that he's an illegal immigrant criminal on the run from Ireland.
Hopefully the Americans will make sure he is deported at the end of his sentence as well.
Drink driving is rampant in the States and a significantly bigger problem than in Ireland. I'd prefer the solace of knowing I and my loved ones are less likely to be in that situation in the first place.
Don't know how anyone can think the US is a justice system to emulate in any way.
It might have its faults but do you think if Larry Murphy had been convicted of the same crime in the US he would have been out in 10 years?
Brock Turner.
How that scumbag got the sentence he did is disgraceful.
Not true at all, go luck at controversial sentencing in the US recently. There was multiple shooting at each other in Chicago a few months back, think some people involved got killed and they got released as "mutual combat "
Any tears he sheds will all be for himself too. People like this are not reared to ever think of anyone else. Those poor girls are non existent for him. He was just having a good time as far as he’s concerned and he probably sees himself as much as a victim as they are.
He’s going to find prison almost unbearable. Nothing in his background would have prepared him for life in the US prison system. It’ll be interesting to see what kind of a sentence he gets after the judge reads the report. I’d love to see what mitigating factors his defence team put forward.
As posted above , drink driving is rampant in the USA, at least , from my experience, on NY and Nj. There seems to be a mindset that because you don't need to change gears you can steer your way home/ out with no trouble.
And not just the Irish. I've been in all-night bars , drinking and snorting coke with people who were twisted then got into their cars . Some of them were cops ! . If you want an all night bar look near a precinct.
*Undocumented.
Big-time. Worked in an Irish bar the local cops would frequent on J1 many moons ago in the New York area where even the 5.0 think little of drink driving. They'd openly tell you if you get pulled over for a DUI, tell the officer you know such and such cop in whatever precinct and they'll let you go on your way.
He'll do a lengthy sentence, then deported. Honestly, do you want a fuckwit like on the island.? Keep him there !
A lot of people here would welcome him back based on the ‘deport them’ logic they apply to foreigners here.
I posted about this years ago, but a F-wit of a judge in Monaghan would apply 2 totally separate criteria to drink driving. 1/ irish lad caught over the limit , banned and massive fine. OK.
Eastern European caught many many times over the limit. No tax , insurance on the car etc 2nd or more offence. Banned , but because he's a married man with children etc. he gets a much much lesser fine.
Check the back issues of the Northern Standard.
Prison for him will be certainly unbearable.
He'll be on suicide watch for first while. If he doesn't join a White Supremacist gang, he'll be passed around as a sex toy to the other gangs.
Once he's in a gang, it doesn't get much better. He'll be put to work enforcing his gangs orders, if he refuses, he'll be beaten. If he refuses agai n he'll be tossed to the other gangs as a girlfriend.
Dungiven's in Ireland.
No, he's not. He's Irish.
He was reared to think that the worst could ever happen if he got caught drunk driving would be a few months in Maghaberry Prison having the craic with other wasters like himself. Then it’s back out to a hero’s welcome. This is not going to be pretty.
He should be deported if convicted of this crime after his sentence is finished.
Amazing that you don't agree, although not surprising.
"typical Londonderry / donegal scumbag driver"
I have read some stupid and offensive things on Boards but that is up there with the best of them.
The case you reference was tragic, and the sentence too lenient but drink/dangerous driving is a nationwide problem, it is not confined to one area.
Always surprises me how prevalent drink driving is in US movies and tv shows. See it all the time. Nothing is ever said about it.
Sorry, not relevant to this case but I'm not going to start a new thread for that little observation.
It just seems to be so normalised over there.
Experience? Or just watching Oz ? 😉
No it's not.
Yes it is. That's not open to debate. It's in North Derry.
Careful now, you might upset some of the lads up north with that statement
No-one in Dungiven is upset about being Irish.
Point out where I said I don't agree, please.