Maciel and D'Arcy must have the same script writer: " remember when..."
I see Ray Foley seems to be coming back in the lunchtime slot.
Really? Where'd you see that
Edit: I googled and see it now.
I'm ok with this!
It's mentioned on another thread in this forum as well!
https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058225980/ray-foley-going-back-to-today-fm#latest
I didn't see that, I don't check the radio forum but have the TodayFM thread bookmarked. Not sure why it wasn't posted in there rather than in a new thread. 🤔
Bring back the gauntlet!!
Wha???!!! He must’ve read my post!
Keith McCormick, the man who was said to have blocked Foley's return in 2016 seems to be no longer apart of the management team https://bauermedia.ie/about/team/
don't they look a very Corporate bunch....and not a real DJ between them
Beat me to it!
Heard Foley was prerecording the first hour of his Cork early breakfast show. He'll fit in fine at Today FM. Maciel commented on her producer's lack of content today so maybe the presenters have even less input than it looks
If Foley is going back, he wouldn't be going back to stick to a set regime. He'll be looking for a lot more autonomy.
If Dan Healy had signed Ray and JP for breakfast, they would have done much better than Doireirran Garrihy & Co
Ger Gilroy used to be a regular presenter for Newstalk, including Off the Ball and a stint as breakfast presenter (with a certain Claire Byrne if memory serves me right!). I am pretty sure I heard Patricia Monaghan contributing to Newstalk's breakfast show last year - news or business. John Keogh has occasionally in the past filled in as a presenter or newsreader for Newstalk. He started off as a pirate deejay in the 1980s.
Chris Doyle was a presenter on Spin’s original breakfast show if I remember correctly.
Is there a reason why they are procrastinating making an official announcement about Foley's return?
I imagine he has to give notice to redFM.
Contract might still need tweaking.
On the other hand, beggars can't be choosers. If Red FM hadn't thrown him that lifeline, he wouldn't be anywhere near a radio mic now. Getting back onto a national radio station that broadcasts from Dublin is an absolute godsend for him.
Foley isn't the presenter he used to be. When he was on 98 he was ok but less craic and more old man topics like losing weight, parenting and lycra.
He was asked to tone his style down for breakfast on 98fm and it didn’t suit him at all. He admitted it himself.
He’s definitely back on form in redFM.
Also I’d one million percent would rather Foley over whatever Instahun/tik toker of the month that is popular getting the gig.
He was off this week on Red FM. Wonder if he'll be back
If he’s moving to TodayFM he won’t be back on redFM.
Radio Ireland Limited was dissolved last year, John McColgan had stayed on as honorary chairman long after he sold his shares. end of an era https://www.solocheck.ie/Irish-Company/Radio-Ireland-Limited-230527
He's on Red FM this morning
The insider tip off must be bollix so. Ah well it was fun while it lasted, I wonder who they will get in for Lunchtime now.
Don't know if I'd write it off yet. He has a good relationship with the head of Red FM, may just work out the week. JP also seemingly leaving Off The Ball as they are hiring a new Senior Producer.
That article you shared is still spouting quotes from RSVP.ie, a site not known for their integrity when it comes to reporting. It just seems like a bunch of Facebook quotes reacting to the idea Ray might be leaving RedFM nothing official from either Today or RedFM to confirm any of this. The Senior producer leaving off the ball is Tommy Rooney not JP.
It could be a case of people taking 2+2 and getting 5.