The Masonic Lodge in Dublin was set on fire tonight. A man was injured.
Absolutely disgusting and shameful to see a lot of the far right like Angela Ray and Grand Torino celebrating it and cheering it on.
Let's just recap for a minute.
TooTired said; "The idea that the far left are sympathizing with the Freemasons is just staggering and tells you exactly how far off course they are at the moment", taking a swipe at those who have sympathised with the victims of a violent crime. No mention of 'far right' or anything, just denigrating those who sympathised with the victims of a crime.
I called TooTired out on this, and you suggested that I'd missed the point about the far right. There was no mention of far right in the post I responded to.
The post you quoted was a response to one of my posts where I was deriding someone else for claiming that the far left wouldn't celebrate this, only the far right would.
So taken into context and considering what the poster was saying, it would be foolish, dishonest or both to attempt to claim that there was any denigrating.
Leave it Andrew. Your attempts to project or to purposely misrepresent are tired at this stage.
…and I asked you then to point out what I said that “denigrated” anyone or simply apologise for your mistake. You ignored that and now your doubling down. So please point out how I “denigrated” anyone or just say that you misinterpreted my post and we can just forget about it. Thanks.
Doesn't really matter what it was in response to - the post is absolutely clear as it stands, taking a swipe at 'far left' for sympathising with victims of a violent crime. I'm not sure why you're so keen to stand up for another poster who is taking a swipe at people for sympathising with victims of a violent crime. Are you sure you really want to go there?
Lol.
It doesn't matter what it was in response to? Context has no bearing? I think you'll find it certainly does.
If it didnt, why were you at pains to highlight which post YOU were quoting?
It's quite clear that the poster was responding to me and how ridiculous a position it would be to attribute all negativity or hostility towards free masonry to people on the far right, and stating that the far left have nothing but sympathy.
Andrew stop, please. You are trying yourself in knots here.
Read your own words;
The idea that the far left are sympathizing with the Freemasons is just staggering and tells you exactly how far off course they are at the moment.
That's what you said. Just in case you missed the important bit, here it is again, in bold; "The idea that the far left are sympathizing with the Freemasons is just staggering "
Why is it staggering that anyone would sympathise with the victims of a violent crime?
But you are a conspiracy theorist.
You've claimed this is a group-organised attack with 'ringleaders'.
Where is your evidence for your conspiracy theory?
Imagine being so stupid, in 2022, that you go into town, smash a window and try burn down a building because of something you read online.
Jesus it's tiresome reading the left wing right wing ping pong above.
I suppose he meant there is something to be viewed cynically when the twin brother of the far left and far right are arguing again and one is pretending that they are not as hate filled as the other and that they do not have a violent toxic view of groups like Freemasons.
The far left might have better shoes and addresses than the far right but the similarities, especially in mindset, are too close to ignore.
Thread should be a PM exchange.
Except that far left groups don't have a reputation for trying to burn down buildings.
Lol. That summer of love they had there in America was all far right lads burning buildings?
I've no idea what incidents in the US you're referring to, probably because I don't follow Grift or the Liberal. If you want to compare the two sides in the States, don't forget the little matter of armed insurrection with the objective of hanging the vice president on the far right side.
I thought we were talking about far right groups in Ireland.
Actually we were talking about a fire in the freemason hall and how silly it would be to claim that the "far right" celebrated while the "far left" stood in solidarity and sympathy.
I'll reiterate, extremists on both sides are ridiculous. This was a disgusting attack. This man and his intentions should be roundly criticised and condemned.
Very little news has been released since. I wonder when we will get an update.
Have you heard of BLM? Do you follow RTE / BBC / CNN?
BLM burnt buildings in 400 US cities. Every major news outlet covered it all summer long.
So are you saying that the far-right didn't celebrate the attack?
We'll get an update when someone is charged or it comes to Court, just like any other Garda investigation.
I honestly wouldn't have thought of BLM as a far-left movement. While it does attract support from left and far-left, it also gets support from elsewhere. Certainly, my nephews in the US who were at the protests are a long way off left or far left. They've got support from Kyle Rittenhouse in recent weeks. It's not exactly a far-left stronghold.
In relation to burning buildings, I'm not seeing any such news reports on RTE, except for the action of the Proud Boys leader mentioned below. Am I missing something?
Can you PLEASE once just not misrepresent what I said?
I'm sure there were far right idiots who celebrated a "global elite cabal" being attacked.
I'm sure there were far left idiots who celebrated a "misogynistic" order being targeted.
That's my point.
Your last point is really the exclamation mark that highlights the levels of your disingenuous debating style.
You haven't heard of BLM burning buildings or shops? Yet you point to the leader of the proud boys who burned a flag.
If you expect anyone to believe that you need confirmation from rte about BLM and rioting and destruction of property, then you are even more deluded than I thought.
I mean at least some the far left want to dismantle capitalism which can’t be done without some violence.
It’s odd to be so protective of secret societies aligned to business cartels.
Do you have any examples of 'far left idiots who celebrated' the attack, or is this just some kind of 'act of faith' that we're supposed to take your word for?
The other poster said that the burning buildings were all over RTE and others. I can't find any examples on RTE, but I'm open to persuasion.
What violence would be involved in dismantling capitalism? Surely it could be done democratically (ignoring the question of the likelihood of majority support? Are people really that desperate to try to spread the dirt around that flimsy claims like this are believed?
It's odd, very very odd, that you are equating sympathising with victims of a violent crime with 'protecting a secret society'. I can sympathise with my neighbour on his burglary, even though we both know that I think he's a right %%%%%%.
Surely you post in jest.
Obviously people are not going to accept the takeover of their businesses without a fight - democratic majority or not. The violence could be from the state as well of course.
in any case violence against property is fairly commonly held as acceptable amongst the far left. The question is this: why is the violence against the Freemason property - a fairly dubious conspiratorial group - considered to be from the far right and not the far left. Also why is anti globalism considered a far right position these days?
You would presume that most Freemasons now are middle class and up.
It might be all a bit too close to home, daddy could be working with one, play golf with another.
Don't doo doo on your own Street applies to the far left activist as anyone else.
Those far righters celebrating really have no shame. They have been the laughing stock of the country but if crimes are going to be committed by the far right that put lives at risk then preemptive policing is needed. I'm sure that has been happening to some extent.
Oh this should be good.
Tell us what preemptive policing means to you mark.
The put a wheel lock on the Punto.
It's banjaxed the 3 of them.
Christ on a bike.
Why are you arguing something that nobody said?
You jumped two footed into this argument to try and frame people as saying left wingers can't be sympathetic to freemasons by taking a quote out of context.
That's not what was said.
What was said was that left wingers weren't the only ones sympathetic to freemasons and to have that idea would be ridiculous and show how deluded some on the left were.
Anyone, unless they were a ****, regardless of their political leaning would condemn this attack.
For some reason, the op and a few others don't think that's true.
You keep making things up in this thread that nobody actually said. You tried to misquote me a few times as well.
The truth is that it is many on the far right who have been celebrating this fire. Not sure why thats so upsetting but it is the truth.
In fairness @[Deleted User] has stated people on the left are celebrating it too so I'm sure he can point out examples.