The Masonic Lodge in Dublin was set on fire tonight. A man was injured.
Absolutely disgusting and shameful to see a lot of the far right like Angela Ray and Grand Torino celebrating it and cheering it on.
Ah ok. Sorry Andrew, I did forget that comprehension isn't your strong point.
If you read what I actually said rather than what you THINK I said, I said that it was ridiculous to believe that only the left stand in solidarity with the Freemasons while the right are delighting in the attack.
I never once said it was ridiculous to stand in solidarity with a victim of a violent crime.
Nice try though.
You remember the post that I actually responded to?
The idea that the far left are sympathizing with the Freemasons is just staggering and tells you exactly how far off course they are at the moment.
What kind of steps would you like to see taken?
Times going with the antivaxx narrative today...
Christ the governement needs a start a eugenics program in this country.
I have uncles who are masons in Donegal and thought that they are viewed as being rulers of the world is bloody laughable.
Indeed
They are even saying the alleged perpetrator shouted anti vax slogans as he jumped into torch the place.
Probably that chap off the Ryanair flight a few weeks ago...
"Open your eyes to the bleeding plandemic"
Who?
Some unemployed thicko bum with a Facebook account and too much free time.
Where are all the posters who were screaming and crying about terrorism when a truck had a little crash in Dublin airport.
Are they suddenly not worried about terrorism ?
I remember Andrew.
I also remember that you tried to frame it that I said something I didn't.
It's bizarre that the OP balked at the suggestion that there were people on both sides who had an issue with freemasonry and said it was only the right who opposed them.
I have no love for the far right or the far left. Extremists are scum.
You are making things up about what I said.
What increasingly looks like a lone conspiracy theory idiot breaking into a building, setting a Christmas tree alight and managing to hospitalise himself doesn't exactly fill many with fear.
Good question. I don't know, but I wonder if the ringleaders could be investigated for incitement to hatred, or (if involved in organising this stuff) even directing terrorism. I'm not sure what sanctions are available or appropriate.
At the very least, monitoring should be stepped up.
Unfortunately, 30 seconds on the internet will tell you that these idiots are anything but 'lone'.
He is more of a terrorist than a diabetic van driver.
It's loony lone idiots when it suits people
Oh I agree there are plenty who think stupid things, but thankfully very very few that go to such extremes
I'll be honest, I didn't read that thread at all so I'm not sure what people were saying.
I'm just saying that this fuckwit doesn't and shouldn't strike fear into many.
Don't worry I agree with you about this idiot.
It's just certain people went very quiet when it came out this guy was an anti vaxxer. Often the same people who think the assault on the U.S. parliament was just a guided tour group.
I can't stand those threads.
But that's why I can't stand this one either. This thread was purely to pop off at the "far right" rather than discuss the incident.
It's the flip side of the "religion of peace" comments once there is anything resembles a terrorist attack.
Both are ridiculous and stifle conversation.
Pretty sure you were trying to stifle conversation in this very thread... You literally tried to push the angle that the far right would not target the masons. You've actively dodged the fact that the right wing have been stoking the antivaxxer movement. Now you're trying to downplay the fact that they set a historical building on fire and caused substantial damage by sounds of it....
You can say it was isolated but that movement seems pretty happy about the arson based on their social media remarks.
Disinformation is indeed a problem.
Much of it coming from corporate media outlets.
Social media remarks don't prove that the crime was a conspiracy with ringleaders.
One of the weakest conspiracy theories I've ever read.
Yeah if the guards are drawing up a suspect profile for this incident, they should start with guys who live in their parents' basements and spend 11 hours a day on the Internet.
That's absolutely not true Mike.
What conversation have I stifled other than tell the op that they were completely wrong by saying that it was only the right who would revel in masons being attacked?
I disagreed with the assertion that it was ONLY right wing people who would have issues with freemasonry. That's it.
I also said that traditionally, you would associate mason members to be rich, white, middle aged men (inaccurate but still a common misconception) who don't allow women into their group.
This doesn't sound like a traditional right wing target either.
I haven't downplayed anything. I've already stated I have no love for extremists, no matter which way they lean. I'm sure there are plenty of extreme lefties who are happy this "misogynistic group" got what came to them.
I want the arsonist punished to the full extent of the law. I couldn't care if he was anti Vax, a trans advocate, a pangendered penguin, or an orthodox Jew.
For the past year keep hearing that that 1/6 was the "worst attack on American Democracy since the civil war" including crimes of sedition, treason, insurrection and attempted murder and kidnapping of elected officials. Yet not a single American has been charged with any of those crimes. Zero. The same number of Americans who were charged with Russian collusion.
That's all these people do: babble about Russiagate and The Insurrection to like-minded liberals.
If the conspiracy theorists in this country are escalating to acts of violence and sabotage, then they need to be taken seriously as a terrorist threat. We can sit around and let it continue to escalate, or we can take prudent measures to stop the escalation. Which seems the logical course of action?
Wow, we have a Trumpian edgelord here folks. Stand back!
What measures do you suggest?
Argument by youtube video really is grim stuff.