whelan2 wrote: » One of our Angus bulls had a pig tail post wrapped in his ring this morning
But it's the expectation that the kids of people who do well will be the same. Those who don't have the name are knocked back because of who they are and have to work harder to prove themselves, while the othersnormally don't work as hard and just expect everything to be handed to them. Then have a hissy fit when they're dropped
Well it's no secret that unless you have connections in the racing industry, your chances of making it are slim.they alluded to that in the documentary.
So what are you actually saying?what is the "whole Rachel Blackmore thing" you alluded to? The fact she won all those races or the fact she was the subject of a very flattering documentary?
Take Joseph o Brien so for instance, won it all as a jockey and quickly won a lot of the big ones as a trainer.
did being Aidan o briens son help? Absolutely.
did being Aidan o briens son bring it’s own issues? Absolutely.
Imagine growing up being compared to your father all the time who was top of his game, and the expectation that came with it. He definitely must be mentally tough to deal with the stress of it all, and at the end of the day he still had to do it on the racetrack so must have had the talent too.
how many sons of great sportsmen, businessmen, politicians, any walk of life really, go on to excel? Very few really.
Donnacha and Joseph are Aidan's sons.
But Aidan O'Brien that still trains today is no relation to the Vincent O'Brien that trained Sadlers Wells.
Aidan grew up in Wexford and worked and trained his way to Coolmore.
And so both Donnacha and Aidan O'brien jockey careers had nothing to do with who their father was? I'll wear a tin hat for that one too, if you like.
Likely the oil bottle just needs adjusting.
Very Oily vacuum pump. I see alfa laval vacum pump on a farm I call to that is very oily.. Should it be. There looks to be a drain valve on the exhaust and underneath a bucket of drain oil - might it be blocked.. However every joint on the vacuum exhaust is weeping oil as if the exhaust is overrich in oil ? and the oil has crept around the pump a lot. However all is working fine... Is this waste just example of running rich on lube.
Jools Holland, few beers, myself and herself, nice and quiet.
Happy new year.
Have a healthy and safe 2022 everyone!
"The Whole RB thing" being what exactly? Her winning all those races? That's tin foil hat stuff if that's what you're referring to imo
The cynic in me says the whole Rachel Blackmore thing this year, was orchestrated by the PR wing of Irish Racing reacting to the Gordan Elliot sh1tstorm. Great work if it was.
davy russell did her a good turn getting her the start with the Shark. Agree that recognition will come but lack of opportunities often drive young jockeys to different careers. I know a few who would have been extremely talented but moved away from racing.
If you're good at something you will get recognised, might take longer for some
Racing is a sport thats all about connections.. well explained by their reception at the flapping (pony racing) meet. It took her a while to get a start and then she had an avalanche of support
It was very good, RTE were fortunate taht blackmores themselves had so much footage of the family growing up,
Rachel seems to have been very competitive even as a child, the surprising thing is that she took so long to be a champion
Unfortunately I missed watching it as I was busy with the cattle but made a mental note to watch it on the player. After reading your post I will definitely watch it. Thanks for reminding me.
Brolly on Virgin 1, he's very good
Dunno was it discussed yet but I just watched the Rachel Blackmore programme on the RTÉ player. I won’t lie, I got emotional watching it. There is something about her you’d have to admire and wish all the good thing she receives
Id sooner start into a box of carrolls agaik than one of those cursed things.
Found it, something on twitter I came across
https://mobile.twitter.com/irelandbattles/status/1425594919155027971
My father did get to buy the land anyway despite the protest.
There wasn't any foreigners settled around here any way, germans did buy some land in the sixties though.
Hadnt bought a box since last January up until two nights ago as the session was gonna go on past 8pm (sounds wild i know) any fags i smoked this year other than those were all out of someone elses box id be all for an outright ban on them because ye can only smoke them if there there in front of you. Only downside is the blackmarket where tis bad enough here with young lads involved with cocaine at the minute the fags could be used to get the next recruits in the door and then onto the harder stuff eventually.
I think it is new Zealand that have already done this. No sale to anybody under 16 for example and you increase the age by one every year.
Some people would take the opportunity to quit but the black market would flourish with illegal imports for those that don't.
Heard on the radio earlier, talk of banning cigarettes altogether . How would this work? So many addicted to them
But there's no control on taking the sample, Nephet didn't want the antigen test for that reason but they've no choice now but to try and use it
Looks like war has broken out here already 😂
Checked her @7, no real sign so put in weanling bull and she stood, AI this evening
How can they say this.
there is a control line to indicate when the test has been completed properly.
Ya definitely