Ah yeah, I don’t really want one, but man, they’re smooth.
You can see the jitter on most of those 'sweep' second hands but then who in real life looks at a watch using a macro lens while listening to not very good music?
Lovely Vid, great macro work
Yes if your eyes are marco lenses then they are great, however my human eyes see only boring polished cases and dreary designs. Everyone loves to praise GS but nobody loves to buy em.
I know every second comment on the video is ‘Holy crap the GS Spring Drive is amazing’, but holy crap that GS Spring Drive is amazing…
May I suggest that ye take 3 and half mins to watch what has to be one of the most aesthetically pleasing YouTube videos of all time.
Germany is in the eu so no import fees on items to Ireland
Does a watch bought from say amazon.de incur any charges on arrival?
Happy new year to all.¿...
Great news everyone I'm now an affiliate of Meranom 😎 if anyone is looking to get a Vostok let me know
Yes. It’s import duties rather than “sales” duties.
also in the above scenario with no sales docket it will be up to them to decide the “value” and how much you have to pay I believe.
Question re: import duties.
Do they apply to a family member giving you a watch, if its being sent from abroad?
I appreciate Customs might have their own opinion of a watch coming into the country, but what if a brother wanted to send me his own watch from the US, and just posted it to me? Could that still incur charges?
This is definitely science . I can tolerate my wife and kids calling me a watch nerd but a fashion nerd would be a step too far .
Also considering I put more effort into choosing my watch for the day than my clothes for the day proves how little I know or care about fashion
The sub is more about the fashion/hobby part than measurement of time. I mean, it would be like saying a jewellery board should be in the geology section. Anyway, I think there was issues with the category before so probably can fall between a few boards.
Because the measurement of time is a scientific endeavour and collecting watches is a healthy hobby provided it isn't taken too seriously.
So, why the hell is this board under the category "Science, Health & Environment"?
Having seen some scarily accurate fakes readied up by those into that from parts they buy online that cost 500-1000 all in quid he's slapping on a decent profit alright.
+1000 on never putting a mechanical or quartz for tha matter into an ultrasonic cleaner. It'll almost certainly feck it up. They're great for cleaning bracelets and the amount of goo that will come out of one might shock some.
Just remember to never put in a mechanical watch into those cleaners (water resistance should be fine but the shock would probably destroy or is highly likely to damage a mechanical movement, even if not immediately noticeable).
I use an ultrasonic cleaner for my wife's jewellery - especially silver that has tarnished - put in some baking soda and a bit of tinfoil and the tarnish will be chemically moved (so no silver lost) from the silver to the aluminium foil. Good for diamonds too - but no emeralds - natural emeralds almost always have cracks in them so the ultrasonic cleaner is likely to split apart emeralds (would be a costly mistake to make!)
“This guy will take a $200,000 Rolex and copy it, using stainless steel and other metals, so it looks like the original but costs maybe $2,000 to $3,000 per watch,”
They're paying over retail even for the fakes. That 'artisan' in central London is probably importing them from China.
Interesting take on the issue of fake watches here...
For those who like their watch bracelets spotless.
Lidl are selling ultrasonic cleaner machines for €25 from Thursday 30th.
Happy Christmas friends. Hope your having a restful day.
I'd rather buy more Bitcoin, but then I have no soul.
The Cardashians.
I stopped watching TPG cause if got very boring after the stunt. But this is no supprise, they were warned a lot by Paul Thorpe to increase security and stop taking chances.
Same as that I stopped watching them after their PR stunt but I seen about their robbery on Instagram.Wouldn’t be surprised if it’s another stunt tbh.Travelling with $1m in what is as good as cash is crazy .You would think for trades of that value it would be done in a Secure location.
May be part of the script. Meh. If they got robbed they deserve it.
Happy Christmas folks!
If there's a watch under the tree for anyone? May it be a grail or become one 😉
Here's to a better '22, one with plenty more watches, chat and craic👍
I got one this morning
I assume ye all got Christmas cards from Rolex?
you’ve hit the nail on the head perfectly Wibbs