whelan2 wrote: » One of our Angus bulls had a pig tail post wrapped in his ring this morning
Saw a number of black rabbits in the grounds of Howth Castle (Deer Park Hotel) years ago.
Put down a hard enough day here today with the Lego. Might have to have a little word in Santa's ear to cut back on the Lego next year. I felt like I was back in tech support with the calls for help from different corners of the house all day. Great times to look back on in years to come.
See plenty of bad floods reported around the country yesterday. Hope you are all safe and dry today.
See some had 90mls of rain.
Enniscorthy blocked off. It's over the "new" bridge.
A bridge gone in south wexford, two more in mid wexford.
The hunts are gonna leave some mess
A lot of hunts are getting it difficult to get insurance, I think the Ormond have called off theirs today because of insurance and that's a great social event even for the non riders. Insurance was mentioned on IFJ this week too in david lalors interview too
Yea I don't think they're going ahead?
There was big run there earlier to get around to all the meets before the ins renewal date.
I see Archbishop Desmond Tutu has passed away.
I consider myself living in the sticks in Wexford but even here Archbishop Tutu gave a sermon from the pulpit.
May he Rest in Peace.
massive claim in for a fall from a horse. Claim made against the hunt and the farmer who owns the land.
The Island hunt would be the locals here. They are hunting on foot today.
Came across one today, not near home though
Surely if you get on a horse and jump over ditches and streams it’s completely at your own risk, it’s a bit like evenflow giving out about the council not widening the road! There must be more to it for a judge to entertain that carry on
Last thing i was expecting was for him to roll her 😂 i worked slongside the fella who owns "SHAFT" up until last week im still not sure if he has the slightest idea whats happened her since he gave a lend of it.
Mark 2. George's crowd just to be really clear.
The mind boggles as to how you could blame or claim from a landowner for falling off your own horse. ( bar he had a wire stretched across a lane, or something).
Would "Volenti non fit injuria" not apply?
"To the willing participant injury is not done"
If you tore your hamstring playing football you could hardly sue the club that owned the pitch?
I think that insurance case rider is involved in the legal profession. Careful what you type here....
The ruination of rural Ireland, they should know the risk they're taking and sign a disclaimer before they go out, saying that most of that hunt crowd have a fierce sense of entitlement looking down their nose at the ordinary farmer
Most of that hunt crowd around these parts (rural Co Limerick) would nearly prefer to have "Lord" or "Sir" before their name they've that much of an opinion about themselves, don't get me started 😔
Ye must be very quiet down there.
If only 'twas 1921 again 😄
It's always 1921 for the right ones 😀
The cow always wins.😀
Ya, the "horsey crowd" as they are known around here.
That's alot nicer than what they are called around here
"The horsey crowd" or whatever one calls them are a good crowd to have there and that's me talking as a dairy livestock farmer.
Why for me?
Because they're a link to the countryside that wouldn't be there otherwise for people that can make up their number. And a link that doesn't mind hunting, killing, skinning, cleaning, eating an animal.
Take them away and you've lost members of society that actually can have a say in the upper echelons of society. Now bar the common sense lost of one of their number recently in the insurance debacle, they usually have cop on.
Anyway I hope they continue for the next 500 years and 500 more. Lord knows there's numbers losing the run of themselves against livestock farming and everything animal related so it's nice to have that buffer of sanity left there.
For now.
I got my first pony at 9yo and later that Winter started hunting astride with hounds. I've never had a problem with our local hunt crossing my lands but I suppose it's different for other people depending on your location.
I see the "happy pear " won the fittest family there on rte 1. Good advertising for a vegan diet
Only for you posting same I wouldn't have know or give a fiddlers **** - no offence.
Local hunt have never asked my permission to cross my land. Farm in my name about 20 years and my dad still gets the postcard for when the hunt is on. Gun club call each year. They are not allowed near the yard with guns or dogs.