The conclusion of the DPP's report doesn't really bear out what you say;
"Ian Bailey is 6′ 2″ tall and powerfully built. Sophie was 5′ 4″ tall and petite.
There is no evidence of sexual interference with her.
Bailey is in his forties. Prior to his recent conviction this year he had no previous convictions for violent crime. The recent conviction relates to an incident which is trivial by comparison with the du Plantier murder.
Sarah Limbrick, Bailey’s former wife who has known him since the 1970’s has asserted that he never used violence towards her person. When angry he would strike the wall.
She appears to loathe him as a person having endured difficult divorce proceedings and a dispute over property with him."
Any beating of anyone is bad. I notice the poor Jules there. That's the poor woman thing isn't it, she'll put up with anything to keep her man? This is the kind of sickening faux concern we get with the likes of you, appealing to the 'Me Too' gallery with your mock outrage. Answer the question you're trying to avoid. Since Jules said she hit Ian Bailey first, is that acceptable? And furthermore how do you know that he wasn't the one living under coercive control?
Even your idol admitted the beating was bad.While poor Jules did her best to try play it down. Its ok we now know your views on extreme violence against women.
@flopisit
Just to be clear who we're talking to, do you believe that a relationship cannot be good unless it's monogamous? Please answer this.
Being an EU diplomat and a stringer in Caracas after University in London prepares you for that does it? He doesn't appear to be much of a success on the true crime thing, at least not having enough to support all this 'research' on Bailey. A supporter of his on Twitter suggested he has been making no money from his book on this case. He's supposedly driven by a quest for justice. Isn't the man a saint?
Blatant lie yet again saying he 'beat her to a pulp' when she herself said she could not understand the vast exaggeration of her injuries? Are you suggesting violence against men is acceptable if it's from a woman?
Oh well that's ok then, as long as Jules hit him that give him free rein to beat her to a pulp. Just bizarre the length some people go to excuse violence against women.
Go google the statement Jules daughter made to the Gardai yourself. Dosent really matter though, youl come up with some other excuse in your head to absolve your idol.
Maybe being 18 would have been reasonable would it?
"Sergeant Mary Burbage, attached to the National Bureau of Criminal Investigation, said she was involved in the arrest of Ms Thomas on September 22, 2000, and was not aggressive to her.
Under cross-examination, she said she would have waited in Ms Thomas’s bedroom while Ms Thomas got dressed. She did not consider Ms Thomas was upset or scared. She agreed that Ms Thomas’s daughter Fenella, then aged 17, was upset the previous day, September 21, 2000, when arrested about 7.30am and interviewed during a 12-hour detention.
It's a true crime writer thing. If you check out the book "Fatal Vision" by Joe McGinniss, one of the "classics" of the genre, that's what he does and other true crime authors have sought to emulate him.
I wonder what living with a fantasist like you must be like.
Here's what the DPP's report says I've highlighted the relevant things.
"As far as Colette Gallagher is concerned, she is a woman who spent a night in the Thomas/Bailey household. Bailey got into her bed and rubbed her leg. Jules Thomas then entered the room.
Bailey was annoyed.
Colette Gallagher protested her innocence.
No complaint was made to the Gardaí.
The Gardaí describe this incident as attempted rape. This description greatly overstates the case.
Carly Leftwick (Wright) has alleged that during the course of a party she went to the toilet and met Bailey in the corridor. He allegedly picked her up and said “wrap your legs around me”.
She told him to put her down, which he did at once.
The Gardaí have described this as a sexual assault.
No complaint was ever made."
Could you please tell people how old Ginny Thomas was when she made that statement and how long and from what time she was in the Garda station?
Just to clarify, Jules' daughter Fenella was 14 in 1996, which would make her 18 in 2000 when she was arrested at her rented flat off Shandon Street in Cork. She was living away from home.
Bailey had a very good relationship with Jules and her kids
Colette Gallagher was a 24 year old woman who was visiting the Schull area with a male friend in the Summer of 1993. They were part of a group of people Jules invited back to their house after the pub closed. Bailey assumed they were a couple but they weren't. He showed them to a double bed in the Studio House and Colette's friend opted to stay in the main house.
Colette said she woke up about an hour after going to bed to the feel of a hand on her leg. Jules came in and started screaming at Bailey who was in the bed seemingly naked (Colette said the sheet covered him from the waist down, so she doesn't know if he was fully naked). He had crept into the bed while she was asleep. Jules at first blamed her. Colette fled to the main house. Jules followed her and ended up apologizing to her, while Bailey shouted and roared in the yard. Jules said Bailey had done worse to her and lifted her clothing to show Colette she was black and blue with bruises on her torso and legs.
Colette told the Gardai that Bailey did not apologise for his behavior and did not offer any explanation. In fact, she had only spoken to Bailey that one time when he showed her and Ronnie over to the studio. During the party Colette only had a vague memory of seeing Bailey kind of in the background which made Bailey's uninvited appearance in her bed and his wandering hands all the more difficult to understand.
The whole event is detailed in Nick Foster's book Murder at Roaringwater and in the DPP report.
There is also the statement of Jules' daughter Ginny Thomas (now Virginia Oliver) made on January 2nd, 1997: “Ian also made advances on me on Christmas Day 1995 - I was in the car with him when it happened - he didn’t touch me physically but he made me understand that he wanted to get off with me”. This happened four months after she turned 18.
Living with Bailey must have been a lovely experience.
You appear to have that old Irish cleric mentality. Women aren't to be trusted. If Jules said I hit him and he hit me I believe her and am not shocked by it, and I especially trust her judgement when she says I forgive him because I believe I am partly to blame for what happened, HITTING HIM FIRST.
Making sexual advances on her daughter? Go on tell us what the monster supposedly said or did if it's not too much for you. you might have to go to confession after.
I think this is a blind alley.
It is not in question that Ian Bailey is an obnoxious, self obsessed, good for nothing, violent ego maniac. Of course he is.
Send him to jail for beating up Jules, by all means.
But there is no solid evidence linking him to this crime. None.
Anyone have any thoughts on Nick Foster as regards his background and motivation. Isn't this idea of getting involved so closely with Bailey a little bit weird even though before he began working with him, the DPP's report had become common knowledge and there was enough evidence given during the libel trial that anyone could see Bailey was framed? Yet Foster has inserted himself into the story, discovered precisely zero of any use but has ended up the same as so many other suspicious people with a conviction that Bailey is guilty. He has told us nothing else other than bullsh*t the DPP threw out but he has a gut feeling.
That leads me to think this guy is working to other people's agenda.
Would you really describe physically beating up a partner and making sexual advances on thier children as a good relationship? maybe you just personally have a low bar set when it comes to relationships if you do.
People here should remember what Irish Guards are capable of. If Guard Maurice McCabe hadn't secretly recorded a meeting with his superiors, their plan to fit him up as a paedophile would have worked. Just think about that, the lengths they will go to so as to keep their wrong-doing covered up.
The fact is boll*x, the cops took a child in at 7.30am for 12 hours questioning. Jules Thomas' evidence in court is all we need and she talks about the vast exaggeration that so many like you indulge in. The real bullies in this case are Gardai. Have you just dropped some handle and come back here to lie through your teeth all over again?
I think you need to find a distraction for yourself. It's not healthy to make excuses for someone who beat their partner to a pulp several times. You can see in the documentary that he projects control in every situation, or tries to. In the West Cork podcast they explain how hard it was for them to get to talk to Jules alone, that Ian was always there, listening and watching over her. They only got one chance in the entire series.
The fact is that the youngest daughter appears to have been able to detach herself from the situation and stood firm when they tried to get her to change her statements. Her partner gave statements about her being intimidated to change her statement ie. that she heard both of them leaving the house that morning. He gave dates and times. Others have also been intimidated.
How is he surviving if he's not selling books but was able to dedicate 7 years to this case. Where do MI6 get their spies from? Any idea?
So fu*king what? They were quite happy with him 25 years ago and that's what matters. People split up all the time and not amicably, when they've sworn undying love for each other at the start. The likes of you refuse to see that Bailey had a very good relationship with Jules and her kids, and this constant attempt to portray him as someone he wasn't is despicable and with an obvious agenda to try and distract people from some real dirty bast*rds in this story. Jules Thomas couldn't have been clearer in her court case and the recent Jim Sheridan documentary that her relationship with Bailey was VERY good. And she is a very able dignified woman who didn't live under some coercive control the sympathisers here with their faux concern would have us believe.
The problem for you and your ilk is that more and more people are seeing through what you're up to and I get the feeling that the recent move by Nick Foster is designed to steady the horses, because he's part of something and all it will take is for one ex-Police officer to grow a conscience and this case will be blown wide open.
It's common knowlege the Thomas girls despise Ian Bailey now. They forced him out of Jules house. The fact that you had to go back to an article from 2014 shows how out of date you are. A lot changes in 7 years.
Okaaaaaaay.
That's quite misogynistic but there's plenty of that here when it comes to Jules and her daughters. The main gaslighting happening at present is coming from someone who fits the profile of a British MI6 spy, Nick Foster.
I have read the article. What I see is someone searching for anything that reinforces their denial about someone and excusing the fact that they are a violent, manipulative, abusive, alcoholic narcissist. What exactly is it that you admire in someone like that?
I meant Shirley was the one making the call to Foster.
Maybe the new owners of Alfie's and Shirley's house found a the watch?
It's possible there could be damage to Sophie's wrist caused by a watch in the crime scene photo of Sophie's arm,
I wont post that photo here, it's photo no 149 here:
What rubbish, read the articles, Jules Thomas and her daughters were always able to look after themselves but they did find the Guards creepy
Any single person has those facilities and if someone's cleaning up at night most people they live with are asleep. Narrows things down to a few 100 suspects
Hang on. I thought he walked to Kealfadda Bridge to wash in the sea.
Some guy to be up at 6am one day after an all nighter and out 2am the next going across fields by moonlight on foot.
Aside from super stamina he also seens to shapeshift depending on whether MF is trying to describe who she may have seen originally, Ian Bailey or AN Other. Supernatural almost? A ghost or figment more like on the bridge.
Anyone who believes MF originally described Bailey without mentioning his obvious height and build.. seriously? Her description is not Bailey. Beggars belief that was the first time she saw Bailey on Schull Main Street working there for a year too.