So no evidence then. Grand so.
That still isn't a source. Do you have a source for your claim, or is it just your best guess?
The logic in this post is so demented that I find it hard to understand how the thought process worked.
Essentially Francie is now saying that if the British government insisted that the British taxpayer would not pay for Northern Ireland pensions once a united Ireland came about that the British taxpayer would be unhappy at paying less tax and would cause ructions in order to pay more tax so that pensions could be paid to people who didn't want anything to do with the UK anymore!!!!
They have a binding obligation via the GFA to give effect to the wishes of the people in a Border poll.
Are you saying they will do that without a plan?
Give it up blanch, you are just being silly now because you got called out on your usual fantasising that your opinion is fact.
Believe whatever you want on this one..I could care less and recognise that you guys need something to scaremonger about.
Where does it say that the Irish government have to produce a plan if the SoS calls a border poll? Give us the link.
You are completely spoofing now, moving the goalposts, and still not producing a single link to supporting evidence for any of the changing positions that you have adopted.
Point out the flaws in my logic. I pointed out the flaws in yours.
blanch, YOU were asked to back up your adamant assertion that 'the government had NO INTENTION of producing a plan.
To date you have NOT backed that up.
Can't be bothered.
Believe what you want blanch, no skin of my nose.
SF reported to be up in the polls this morning. God help poor Ireland is all I can say.
Only one way to find out for sure 😉
Tbf, they don't do plans or common sense generally. I guarantee that when a referendum is held and a UI wanted, FF/FG, if they are still around, will only start putting together crony well paid committees and boards to look into it the day after.
Well the civil war sham parties continue to disappoint. Think of the others that will likely come up to fill the void. Change will lead to better options. Less, 'better the devil you know'.
Well that is the logical conclusion of blanch's stance.
The old dichotomy again.
Partitionists/Unionists - 'We'll win a UI ref hands down',
Also partitiionists/Unionist - 'but we are also too scared to have one or even a discussion/plan for a UI eventuality.
I'd love to see a plan.
The plan would need to reassure the North that we will invest in the region and at the same time convince the Republic that that investment won't involve any tax increases!
They would want to hurry up mind. Support in the North trending downwards again.
Oh believe me many a FF/FG crony will make a fortune off a UI. Imagine the dead end evaluations with broad scope but no goals or new boards for Inter-county affairs. Thats what will spur it on.
Once there's a UI the North will be under the same government. They'd find it difficult to ignore or forget it.
I don't think taxes will come into it. We get rode for nothing. Fine with me to pay for a UI.
I did back it up, I produced the full list of the government's intentions, contained in the Programme for Government, and nowhere included in the list was a plan for a united Ireland.
If there is such an intention, stop shouting in capital letters about it, and walk the walk and produce it.
And you were asked what would happen if a BP were called.
You bullshitted blanch.
If a herd of unicorns landed on O'Connell Bridge, that wouldn't change the truthfulness or my statement either - the Government have no intention of making a plan for a united Ireland.
You have dragged this discussion through every rabbit-hole that you could in order to try and get out of the deep pit that you dug. It ain't working because those rabbit-holes are bringing you inexorably downwards.
Please back that up.
Where have they said this?
Exactly...they haven't.
Therefore it = bullshit.
And we are back to square one in this madness.
Lads, could ye get over the idiotic asking eachother to prove or disprove an unprovable statement?
Giving an accurate answer on whether or not the government intend on making a plan for a United Ireland would require insight into the operation of the minds of the members of government.
It's a f*cking stupid argument.
I think people are repeatedly missing the point that support in the North is trending downwards.
As Northern Ireland becomes more normalised, and we see the support for the two sectarian parties (SF and DUP) trending downwards, it is natural that people up there are more happy with the way things are and more reluctant to change things, hence the support for a united Ireland trending downwards from its already minority position.
In the South, we see an apparently dichotomous approach to the issue. On the one hand, because Northern Ireland is a more normal society, there is an increased openness to the idea of unity. However, this is also accompanied by a hardening of the resolve not to pay for it because the sympathy quotient is less. Hence we see the opinion polls consistently showing opposition to a united Ireland if it means increased taxes.
I feel sorry for the little Irelanders who have invested so much hope in recent years.
do you remember the days in the old politics forum where it was back it up or stfu? Much better system than now where it seems anyone can say any bullshit and see what sticks. certain posters whom I wont name seem to do it quite a lot - bit like click bait where its not even half truths. I saw one about a political party who apparently were against animal rights - yet when you read the story you find its a completely different kettle of fish. Bring back the idea of backing up arguments I say
Exactly. It was claimed as fact and isnt.
New poll out today. Some interesting views in it.
https://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/yes-we-want-to-see-a-united-ireland-eventually-but-what-s-your-hurry-1.4752191?mode=sample&auth-failed=1&pw-origin=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.irishtimes.com%2Fnews%2Fireland%2Firish-news%2Fyes-we-want-to-see-a-united-ireland-eventually-but-what-s-your-hurry-1.4752191
"Voters were also asked how important a united Ireland was to them. Just a fifth (20 per cent) agreed it was “very important, it is a priority for me”. Almost a quarter (24 per cent) said it was “not at all important”.
By far the most popular response was “not very important but I would like to see it someday” which was chosen by 52 per cent of all respondents."
Over 70% likely to vote yes = excellent and expected
What you think of the rest though? Sobering, I'd imagine.
Good luck to whoever has to come up with a plan. They have their work cut out for them.