whelan2 wrote: » One of our Angus bulls had a pig tail post wrapped in his ring this morning
Well done Katie Taylor . Pity we couldn't see her fight...
Was talking to a guy with 2 165s, 2 is the older version with the 65 engine while the other is the last model, says there’s a difference in the 2, the older will go the the latter would get stuck
A mountain goat of a tractor the 135 and 165, survival machines and Keep going.
A nice thing for ye
Charged up a battery overnight and stuck it into the fathers uncles (my grand uncle? Is that a thing?) 135 earlier. I'd say the engine turned for 5 seconds and she started. First time since 2011 the tractor was going. He parked it in the shed, with topper on it back then and hasn't moved since (he's since died). Couldn't believe it started so easy. Hardly a puff of smoke out of her. Delighted with that. He bought it new in 1967 or sometime around then and was the only tractor he ever owned. Was never overworked. Cab is rotten. Mechanically though all seems 100%. I'm over the moon really.
It's a genetics. It's goes back to being hunter's and gathering. When the first men vegan to hunt when they were at it they had to be single focused and single minded. If you worried about what was around you the deer or bison got away
Women usually did not move far from the cave or structure where the tribe/family lived. They may have gathered fruit, grains and vegetables with the children. Because of this they became more watchful of what was around them and watched the children to keep them safe.
It hard to beat genetics because of this men tend to be more stubborn, single minded and focused on the task at hand. Women tend to be better multi tasking and attention to detail.
Man goes to his doctor with a headache, doc tells him I'm afraid you need a brain transplant, this one has had it.
Luckily, I have two in stock. There'a man's brain for 100,000 and a woman's brain for 5,000.
Well Doc, why the difference in price?
Doctor points to the woman's brain, that one's used.
Watched the Charlie Bird interview there. Tough disease to be battling. Fair play to him for comeing on.
Went to ring an ad on DoneDeal, hit call, then call on a small pop up but nothing happened. Has anyone else has similar
Jesus Brian ye are getting more than yer share this past while
Know the feeling - my best pal past away this time last year, only 53 and left behind a wife 10 years younger:(
Hard alright especially at this time of year, least you and your girls are there for your wife
Brother in law 55 died suddenly last year 18th December, now sister in law 53 isn’t expected to make Christmas, just waiting on a hospice bed now for her. My wife’s only two siblings. Mam also passed away in the spring
been hard time
They're gas with their double height space and flat roofs. Open plan living didn't work out too well for lockdown. You need to educate yourself on what suits you best before you build.
Just on the bungalow bliss I reckon you'd want to do a lot of the demolition work yourself to keep costs down. Cant understand when they had to remove all internal walls ( unfortunate ) the architect didn't alter plans re layout as seem to put back bedrooms as were before. Anyway looks like I'll have to do something myself, inherited bit of land and bungalow from uncle, he was in nursing home for 8 years, did nothing during that time ( copper cylinder was stolen etc ). Then costs got high but now co co have put derelict notice on it, going to charge 7% of value if nothing done
We had to do it here without proper pricing, you don't know what you'd meet in an old house,
House is only built on top of the ground, no foundations
Alot of people don't ask for a price beforehand and then get stung .
You'd build some slatted tank for 70k
I don't know wrangler, maybe so. Once they committed it was very hard to step back anyway.
I'd say too, that my claim that the clients got the money handy isn't far wrong either, sure they threw it away on that job too
These projects on rte are monuments to architects grandeur is all. Limestone Cowboy hit the nail on the head, they have no regard for their clients money.
I say at that stage they decided to take off roof and replace it. They probably decided on other extras as well. The time lapse mid/late 2020 to spring 2022 was where real price explosion happened.
I used to think Dermot Bannon was brutal, bit at least he had a QA explaining the details
70k for that was daylight robbery to be honest. I know there was bit of labour in it but it wouldn't be the most expensive part of the house material wise. Architects should be jumping in and tackling builder about it if they were any good. I'd up to sub floor in our house 1950 sq feet and finish floor in garage for 15k only few months ago and I know well it used a lot more Concrete, steel, stone to do it. Builder has some touch out of it. Even with micro digger you wouldn't be that long gutting it.
The other thing I noticed was the green area in front of the house. If they do not own that all there light and views are gone if it is build on.
At a guess they paid 100-150k too much for the house first day. It was in such poor repair that most banks would have refused a mortgage on it. It was a matter of sitting it out.
It will take another 100k to landscape it. The estimate for the internal foundation were 30k but cost 70k.
Another thing I saw was lands breaking out internal walls with a sledge. Surely you break outs block with a mango and work from there. Similar with the mini digger breaking out under the windows. You could have structural issues after that.
Those prefabricated bungalows were known as Roe-fabs (RoFabs?) up in the north West.
Uncle and cousins had one in Sligo, and they are to be seen in Cavan, Leitrim also.
Often had a kind of stone/ pebble dash finish on the end walls, you'd imagine they put a layer of smooth stone into a mould/frame and poured in a layer of concrete after.
Single glazed windows as well, so the thermal efficiency was brutal.
Oops, I've inadvertently wandered into the hairdressers, carry on.....
😄
That's exactly what I thought bass, very intelligent fella but no way savvy to what was going on. Herselfs cousin is an architect and we had meeting with him when we were thinking about going at the house a few years ago, after about 2 minutes I figured he hadn't much regard for our money and I made sure he got none of it after that. Knew what we wanted anyway and got an engineer to draw up plans for 1500 and that covered everything up to planning approval. She had a more realistic view of our budget and what we could expect to get done for it. Good functional layout too with plenty of light coming into the living areas. That house is standing that family about 200k too much from what I can see at a conservative estimate. Basically gave 325k for a site. Lunacy. Even the 320k to renovate it seems extortionate for the size of it. Must be fair off putting for young people thinking of building to be watching it.
She wanted a different ram so
I saw that, can't say I'm surprised
You have to insulate the external walls as well. F@@king fridges was all they were during the winter until external insulation came along. Dry lining was useless with them.
I don't know if I should so I'll keep it a little vague.
A certain UK female shepherdess who appeared on TV is rumoured elsewhere on social media to have split from their husband.
Wrangler is a big fan.
Maybe they've posted themselves previously on their social media outlets. Could be in the world we're in now.