Yeah i always thought she was great on WLR came across as a very nice person ,i think she started a PR company and just had a baby last month according to her Instagram.
Who has been the most recent "full time" Male presenter of early breakfast monday to friday ? - was it as far back as Tim Kelly ?
May just be me, but I find Adrian Kennedy reading the news very off-putting. Can't put my finger on why.
Maybe because we're used to him and Dixon being contrarian outrage merchants, and now we're hearing him as a "neutral" presenter of facts? It is weird, though.
To be honest, there's also an element of lack of self-respect about it - the guy used to be "the" name in evening phone-in radio, and now we hear him and Dixon shilling a podcast on an ad-break, then cut to hearing him announce "The Taoiseach said today that the Northern Ireland Protocol blah blah blah..." It reminds me of shopping in the Omni Centre once in the 90s, and the supermarket there had the late, great Bob Gallico in a glass DJ booth playing music to shoppers... it just felt wrong?
That advert for their podcast makes me want to put my fist through the radio.
The worst ad ever, and the style of it seems to be a common theme. Where one fella would be "trying to explain" the premise of the podcast only to be rudely interrupted by the co-host. Was a Bus Eireann or Irish Rail (can't remember which) doing the rounds a few months ago where the voiceover kept being interjected by a fella with an annoying skanger Dublin accent, and Des Bishop used to advertise upcoming shows the same way.
Yeah, I also can't remember whether that ad was for the bus or train, but I know the one you mean. 😁 My takeaway from it was that if I use Bus Eireann (or Iarnród Eireann - one of those!) there's gonna be some rude skanger in my face, not minding their own business - so I'll avoid using them! This coincided with all the recent news reports about drunks on trains, so maybe it was timely!
"Interrupt explainer with dumb questions or noises" is clearly a very well attended module of some college's Morkeshing course. The latest one doing the rounds is the ad for some Dublin hotel where an inane idiot just keeps going "Ayyyyy" and it's apparently clever because the hotel name starts with "A"... 🙄
Colm O'Regan has a very funny chapter in his book "Bolloxology" about this type of nonsense.
Fearghal Darcy is moving to lunchtime, Paula Mcsweeney is moving to afternoons and the early show is to be retired so that Breakfast at 7am is the first show of the day, inline with the other music stations in the bauer media portfolio.
Nail meet coffin. Send in the Ghana funeral dancers
I suspect whenever Ian retires or gets moved, the replacement breakfast show will have a 6am start time.
How is Darcy still in a job? He's horrendous? Smokers voice on him too.
Pity, it was a good opportunity to move D&D back to lunchtime. I wonder will Darcy keep his 2.5 hours
Where did you find this? Can't find anything on it
Paula McSweeney going way off script with the music covering for Maciel, which is nice
I’m enjoying Graham and Nathan covering on the station lately. It’s nice to have some personality that isn’t “do you remember when” or bland content about Irish mammy’s and the likes
They are atrocious.
I’ve heard them on Spin1038 and think they’re great there. They might still be finding their feet on Today FM but they were a bit of fun from what I heard
Had the misfortune to hear a bit of today fm lately and it has just become another bland generic station playing **** music by djs who cant shut the **** up in between the constant ads and mentions of text numbers
Martin King - Q102
Can't see how to delete quotes that I have included twice by mistake once I have posted the comment. Sorry about that!
New restrictions for Mairead to moan and sigh about, she must be delighted. What's the deal with D&D's Campervan of Courage sorry Christmas campervan? Thought they would be travelling around Ireland on it
Any word on who is replacing Mairead?
Same! Thought it'd be them on the road visiting various towns etc.
It was supposed to be that, wasn't it, then the latest wave of COVID numbers started to peak and they thought better of it?
Mairead walked before pushed but of course makes it all about her and the kids doing another interview of course pictures with kids making a few quid. Listening viewers rock bottom. She was hardly there for a month pop in now and again. Anything is an improvement on her and moaning about her sore feet or the school run
Not quite sure what most of that is actually saying, but last time JNLRs were released, she'd increased her slot's listenership by 12,000...
Really from 91k to 103k not even a mention of a 12k increase on any site apart from today fm. I heard first 10 minutes today and she was bragging last job interview I had was 2002 when a woman was asking for help again make it about herself.
🙄🙄🙄🙄🙄
Again, I've no idea what it is you're trying to say there, apart from not liking Mairéad Ronan. 2002? Job interview? What?